Does anyone have a link to the O'Shea article? I would like to read it in it's entirety before passing judgement. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/06/2013 08:49:51 1407092 Link 0 |
Jacko has being slagging the kerry lads as well lately so I would take it to heart he says about ck who I think is a fantastic footballer. Jacking himself was one of a kind footy player. So it's hard when you were a genius to become a hurler on the ditch. Ck will have a great career. kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 15/06/2013 13:24:52 1407204 Link 0 |
"I have doubts about him," said Jacko. "I saw every league match he played and can safely say he got blocked down about 20 times. He's a junior footballer. He's static when he gets on the ball. He's taking too long to get away from defenders." AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/06/2013 14:18:49 1407232 Link 0 |
That description bears no relation to the player I saw last year but then Jack has seen a lot more of him than I have. Even so it's a bit harsh to say so in the media like that. I hope Jack is not turning into a grumpy oul fella!! MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/06/2013 15:09:55 1407267 Link 0 |
Good response from Kilkenny. Very mature. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 15/06/2013 15:40:59 1407279 Link 0 |
Maybe O'Shea was just inspired by that other "entertainer" that Northern Oul'one Brolly and his call to arms. While Brolly and co have a free rein (actually a journalistic moral duty) to take a fine cut at anyone they dislike. So O'Shea is going one better by taking a cut at a few younger lads. Maybe Brolly and O'Shea can travel together to the National Feile finals and have a few digs at some slackers and chancers that need to be rooted out and exposed. arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 15/06/2013 15:59:59 1407286 Link 0 |
The comments seem a bit harsh, however, Jack is a very fair man and I am sure those comments were meant as constructive advice. Remember Jack has played with the very best, Pat Spillane, Mikey Sheehy and that might be where he is coming from. Ok, Kilkenny will never be a Gooch but he is a talented lad, and hopefully he can improve by taking Jacks advice on board. bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 15/06/2013 16:04:30 1407287 Link 0 |
As a Kerryman im very dissapointed in Jacko if it what he said is the truth wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 15/06/2013 16:10:14 1407292 Link 0 |
I don't know bryanadams. I don't think there was much constructive advice. The bit about being like a junior footballer was nothing more than a jibe. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 15/06/2013 16:25:49 1407300 Link 0 |
joncarter bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 15/06/2013 16:50:16 1407314 Link 0 |
Not bad for a junior player on Sunday hey Jacko? 19 years old this kid should be praised instead of getting stick like that , Trevor Giles wasn't as comfortable at centre forward as Kilkenny was on Sunday at 19 years old or did he even get a game at 19? clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2013 12:26:00 1421433 Link 0 |
I actually thought Mannion was far more impressive. Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2013 12:45:03 1421454 Link 0 |
Ckh Kilkenny was motm in every Monday paper, Mannion was excellent as well but Jacko didn't slate Mannion. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2013 12:51:42 1421465 Link 0 |
No better way to prove your critics wrong by performing the goods on the pitch. Fair play to C.K for not biting back at jack as for jack i think he could of came out with what he said abit more senseable. If kilkenny had not of been so thicked skinned it could of put a massive dent in the young lads confidence. Shame on jack... DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 02/07/2013 13:13:30 1421498 Link 0 |
He was impressive on Sunday again. uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 02/07/2013 13:23:27 1421506 Link 0 |
Any sign of that article or are we still presuming he meant junior in derogatory way? Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/07/2013 13:32:26 1421528 Link 0 |
Is the big Kerry/Dublin love in which has combined to attack Ulster now heading for the divorce courts? Shock horror! Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 02/07/2013 13:32:57 1421529 Link 0 |
Offaly 1986 I couldn't agree more that's the exact same way I see it with Kilkenny. Hard to believe he's only 19 he looks like a seasoned pro already. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2013 13:38:19 1421539 Link 0 |
No doubt about it, he's one of the best young players out there. But I think Mannion is better, super corner forward for his age, handy free taker too. Kilkenny enjoys the open space. He won't get that against the Ulster sides. Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 02/07/2013 13:53:55 1421583 Link 0 |
very strange for somebody like o shea to come out with something like that considering o shea seems to like dublin,i have seen him standing on the hill over the last few years plenty of times at dublin matches. hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/07/2013 13:58:06 1421590 Link 0 |