Jack O'Shea comments on Ciaran Kilkenny

I wouldn't be hard on O' Shea at all. He's entitled to his opinion and he gets paid for giving it. Fair play to young Ciarán Kilkenny, however, for the way he handled it. I'm pretty sure over the next few years he will prove Jacko wrong. Others who have been in the game a long time could learn a lot form Ciarán on how to deal with panelists, columnists and pundits.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/06/2013 14:30:24    1406591

I have to admire the way Ciaran Kilkenny responded to the criticism. He showed a maturity lacking in O'Shea's critique.

jimmyjojo (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 14/06/2013 14:30:41    1406592

Damothedub

1406520 14/06/2013 12:28:31
aidan64

I think people need to wait and see if he actually did say this or if it was taken out of context.However if he did say this it is bad form. It is not like Jacko to come out and say this but obviously saomething was said.

Exactly , context is everything , CK has only played junior football with his club until this season were they ply their trade in Div 3 , and if Im not mistaken are in the intermediate draw for championship FACT , however again CONTEXT was he referring to ABILTY ? ? if he was its out of order and IMO incorrect as CK regardless of what division he plays in is top drawer , but what Jack was saying context is everything , devil is in the detail , would like to have seen first hand or read what it was Jack has been quoted on , is it journalistic nonsense or are quotes attributed correct ? Only Jack can clarify
Top marks to CK response class

True.. I genuinely think he meant that he plays junior football and not referring to his ability..however if it was stated that it was Pat Spillane that said it then I wouldn't even comment!!!

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 673 - 14/06/2013 14:30:42    1406593

waynoI

1406587 Well if a 19 year old is able to handle himself to that standard

It's a bit of an eye openeror men with years on him...

He sets a great example for young Dubs

Only a year (almost two) on me .. Just saying :)

________

Lucky you...

I'm beyond my mid thirty

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 14:31:01    1406594

For those wanting a link, it was in last Sunday's Times.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/06/2013 14:32:07    1406596

Very surprised to hear that Jack O'Shea would say something like that.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 14/06/2013 14:34:42    1406600

dont understand O'Shea's logic behind the statement , was he just trying to be controversial and get himself some attention , I dont really know , what I do know is his comments were completely off the mark , Kilkenny is better than at least 90% of players currently playing inter county football , O'Shea saying that about Kilkenny basically degrades the abilites of every other player playing the game , as most inter county must be "junior B " players by O'Shea s logic

Murlo111 (Dublin) - Posts: 192 - 14/06/2013 14:43:03    1406613

Jacko is only looking for attention. He's been spouting some rubbish in recent weeks about our own footballers as well.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/06/2013 14:45:33    1406616

fair play to young killkenny, his comments shows maturity beyond his years.

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 14/06/2013 14:48:13    1406621

Kilkennys mature response makes Jacko look silly!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/06/2013 14:51:28    1406626

Very hypocritical from some posters condemning Jack's comments re a player but also saying that it is ok for supporters to abuse the same players from hill16

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 14/06/2013 15:02:59    1406639

Guarantee ya these comments will spur him on to no extent. Showed remarkable maturity in his reply when many players would have whinged.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 14/06/2013 15:06:01    1406646

bad.monkey
County: USA

1406639 Very hypocritical from some posters condemning Jack's comments re a player but also saying that it is ok for supporters to abuse the same players from hill16
________

Not a vaild comparison but still an interesting one mind.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 15:10:19    1406652

Perhaps the comments have been taken out of context (I didn't hear them first hand). Kilkenny is a huge talent with massive ability. However, his club Castleknock is junior (recently)/ inter (now)! Does that make CK a junior footballer? Pedantically, it could. Ability-wise, never! What did Jacko actually say n in what context? He has always come across as being a very sporting/humerous type of guy, and I certainly ain't a fan of Kerry!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 14/06/2013 15:33:27    1406680

Jack O' can say what he likes.

It is up to Ciarán to prove him wrong. I think the "junior" player was taken outta context defo. Just referring to the fact that Castleknock were, until this year, a junior club and that Ciarán had not experienced top level senior championship with his club.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 14/06/2013 16:17:43    1406731

Seems to be out of character by Jacko.
As said by many ppl looks like a media spin on words.

We already have seen enough public attacks on managers this year with ex players having a go at up and comming players like that.
Without knowing the facts i would give jacko the benefit of the doubt that it was taken out of context due to knowing him as a fairly calm person

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 14/06/2013 17:02:42    1406810

to be fair to jacko, if he wasnt from dublin, chances are very few would have ever heard of him!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 14/06/2013 18:53:47    1406919

as_ky

1406919 to be fair to jacko, if he wasnt from dublin, chances are very few would have ever heard of him!

what!!!Jacko was from Dublin all along, the plot thickens.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/06/2013 21:11:47    1407033

lol

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 14/06/2013 21:57:36    1407082

Have to say ck has really gone up in my book, he showed class personified im his measured calm response, not what jacko was expecting, now why wasn't i like that at 19. Or even now, well me and clondalkin heading down to cork to cheer on anna geary. (See we still have no sense) :-)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2013 08:47:51    1407091