Mayo - no more Mr. Nice Guys

shaggykev, as a donegal man you don't have a leg
to stand on in the 'negative tactics' debate!
Pot, kettle, black comes to mind!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 13/06/2013 15:34:37    1405856

Everyone has their gripes about underhand tactics and dark arts but I can assure you that every county has its silent assassins, mouthpieces etc. No point in criticising Mayo and Donegal, about time these teams stood up to the rest, all successful teams have players like this. Sad to see Donegal and Mayo contributors on this forum arguing about it, its up to Mayo to take it one step further and go the whole way this year. By whatever means possible! And the whole country will be glad for them. Arguing about individual fouls etc. is pointless.

Salmanneile (Longford) - Posts: 113 - 13/06/2013 15:44:24    1405869

Hey I have said numerous times I fully respect Mayo and think they'll go all the way this year
Merely pointing out a good article by John Fogarty here and the change Mayo have taken. Horan obviously feels they cant compete without lowering their moral compass

Donegal play hard as well, we are cute with space and not conceding frees in the wrong place but I havent see us try to take out a particular opponnent out of the game and if I did, I wouldnt be impressed.

Donegal won by being the fittest and strongest and having a game plan based on solid defence and waves of attacks. Cynism is much lower down the pecking order for the reason they win

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 13/06/2013 15:51:42    1405881

Mayo getting very cocky and talking about Winning Sam already, will they ever learn , every time they are make even slight favourites they collapse in the next game. could be Rossies day on Sunday

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 13/06/2013 16:12:21    1405901

shaggykev
Horan obviously feels they cant compete without lowering their moral compass

To being in line with donegal's. Although they have sunk further this year, so really we need to up our game.

Donegal won by being the fittest and strongest and having a game plan based on solid defence and waves of attacks. Cynism is much lower down the pecking order for the reason they win

Actually no, they won by getting a good goal and a fortunate goal and then fouling everytihng in sight for an hour. Fair play, they won it, but lets get it right here.

Chriscart, I have watched it several times, I watched it before making my first response to you. The meath guys were the guys throwing all the first punches, sometimes the second and third also. The mayo guys were doing more pushing and shoving. There is no question the meath lads were the aggressors.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/06/2013 16:28:39    1405908

culmore
Mayo getting very cocky and talking about Winning Sam already

Ah will you get lost. That is a blatent lie.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/06/2013 16:29:51    1405910

"vaughan shouldered lacey after the ball was gone. If lacey was a bigger man he might have stood up to it. "

A fantastic lesson by TheMaster on how to justify anything that might make your own county look bad

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1450 - 13/06/2013 17:00:58    1405938

You are taking it out of context benjy, Im not justifying it or excusing it, I merely pointed out that as bad as it was, someone gouging your eye is a whole lot worse. There is a place in the game for shouldering an opponent, I accept it was late and was a foul, but there is no comparison between a shoulder and an eye gouge.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/06/2013 17:15:18    1405951

Actually no, they won by getting a good goal and a fortunate goal and then fouling everything in sight for an hour. Fair play, they won it, but lets get it right here.

Donegal were a better team than Mayo on the day. They were guilty of sitting back after opening up such a mighty lead so early on, allowing Mayo back into it again in the run up to half time, but after half time it was tit for tat stuff until the very end.
I can't think of a single part of the 2nd half in which Mayo looked like beating Donegal.

To say otherwise is just making excuses.

I can understand Mayo fans frustration at being criticised for so long for being too nice, and then getting slated for being too cynical. But remember the likes of Cork, Dublin, Donegal, Kildare, Kerry, Tyrone and Down have all been slated over the last couple of years too.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 13/06/2013 17:35:56    1405969

Silly thread, entertaining but silly.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/06/2013 19:36:24    1406074

Donegal were a better team than Mayo on the day. They were guilty of sitting back after opening up such a mighty lead so early on, allowing Mayo back into it again in the run up to half time, but after half time it was tit for tat stuff until the very end.
I can't think of a single part of the 2nd half in which Mayo looked like beating Donegal.

To say otherwise is just making excuses.

I never said they werent the better team. You point out yourself that mayo never looked like getting back in, I just explained why that was.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/06/2013 20:15:20    1406108

Mayo people still banging on about 1996. Incredible. Your lads showed up with that normal Mayo chip on their shoulder and the usual attitude that they were going to show they were every bit as tough and as good as the normal people. It's like an inferiority complex. It backfired on them spectacularly in 96, again the following year and has continued to do so on big days ever since.

I hope it works out for you some day but there must be some serious construction work over there building all of those bridges that you need.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 13/06/2013 20:41:53    1406124

Actually no, they won by getting a good goal and a fortunate goal and then fouling everytihng in sight for an hour. Fair play, they won it, but lets get it right here.

Master, your bitterness over last year knows no bounds & you lose no opportunity to denigrate Donegal at every opportunity. That is your right. What is not your right is to start branding people who take a different view to yours "liars". You did it with me a couple of weeks ago & I see you are at it again in this thread. Cop yourself on a bit.
There is no one on HS who rewrites history more than you do & your statement above shows this.
The first & second goals were down to one thing & on thing only, woeful Mayo defending. Fair enough Murphy took it well but nobody covered Lacey & Keane was completely out of his depth. The second goal again was mainly down to Keane letting a simple ball drop through his hands.
As for Donegal "fouling everything in sight for an hour" only someone who lives in a parallel universe could come up with it. Yes Donegal did their share of fouling but the truly memorable ones all came from Mayo. The point is that like so many things in that final Mayo just weren't good enough at fouling and their fouls all bore the mark of an ill disciplined team who had lost their way and were just lashing out in much the same as Tyrone in Ballybofey in the last quarter but at least they kept it togther for longer than 10 minutes.
Look I have a certain amount of sympathy for Mayo. It can't be easy going to the well so often and coming up dry, but deluding yourselves as to the reasons is no way to fix things.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/06/2013 21:41:21    1406173

There's a bit of a cut about this current Mayo team that previous Mayo teams didn't have.

Hope they do well this year.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 14/06/2013 09:25:24    1406237

Muckross, Im not bitter in the slightest, I fully accept that donegal won the game, and that they deserved to. You however, seem to be unable to accept some of the reasons as to how this came about. If donegal want to win an all ireland in a certain way, fine, no problem. However, you cant then turn around and start claiming it was down to sheer skills and champagne football. Would you accept a chelsea fan stating that they won the champions league by playing great football and scoring loads of goals all the way to the cup? Of course not.

Also, you chastise me for saying someone is lying, but what am I supposed to say when they make a one line post claiming something that has not happened? It is like me coming on and saying:

All the donegal fans are saying they have already won a three in a row, they could be setting themselves up for a shock.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/06/2013 10:10:00    1406266

Chriscart, I have watched it several times, I watched it before making my first response to you. The meath guys were the guys throwing all the first punches, sometimes the second and third also. The mayo guys were doing more pushing and shoving. There is no question the meath lads were the aggressors.

You're getting enough abuse of others on here so i'll just make it easier. We'll agree to disagree on this one haha. I do fully agree it was disgraceful scenes and if it were to happen Now 10 men would have been sent off but i just didn't see the point in bringing it up on this thread that was all. Good Luck Sunday, Mayo -6 @ 11/8 is the money maker for me this weekend fingers crossed

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 14/06/2013 11:22:41    1406353

Muckross, Im not bitter in the slightest, I fully accept that donegal won the game, and that they deserved to. You however, seem to be unable to accept some of the reasons as to how this came about.

I am under no illusions about Donegal, they played the nice boy for years & got slaughtered for their trouble. Everyone liked us, but being liked doesn't butter parsnips. They now play a percentage game which means doing whatever it takes to get the job done. There are parts of it I don't like, I have said as much before, but it is up to the authorities to police the game not JMcG.

If donegal want to win an all ireland in a certain way, fine, no problem. However, you cant then turn around and start claiming it was down to sheer skills and champagne football. Would you accept a chelsea fan stating that they won the champions league by playing great football and scoring loads of goals all the way to the cup? Of course not.

It is obviously not fine or no problem as far as you are concerned as you come out with ridiculous statements like "fouling everything that moves" & putting the worst possible slant on everything they do while casually airbrushing the various assaults Mayo players perpertrated that day. To say that if Lacey had been bigger he wouldn't have landed so badly is but one example.
I have never claimed that Donegal win games by sheer skills & champagne football. this is another invention by you, I won't use the word "lie". They are a tough ruthless single minded unit who will win games by sheer force of will if thats what it takes. One of the great pleasures here at the moment is listening to some Tyrone men complaining about Donegal "intimidating & bullying" them. A lot of the great teams & individuals worked the same way, Tyrone, Meath & Kilkenny in Gaelic Sports & the All Blacks in rugby & I don't see a thing wrong with it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 14/06/2013 11:46:31    1406381

Themaster: All the donegal fans are saying they have already won a three in a row, they could be setting themselves up for a shock.

I'm sorry I have never seen a Donegal poster talk that we have already got 3 in a row. Must be in your dreams or something. We take every game one step at a time. I think you need to get over your little hissy fit about Mayo and fouling.And you also need to get over your bitterness from the final last year. Simply the best team on the day won. Come on the Rossies:)

dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 14/06/2013 12:01:04    1406412

This is just Donegal trying to set the agenda again.
Joe Brolly did this on Donegals behalf before All Ire last year when he highlighted Mayo players blocking the run of the opposition. All teams including Donegal did this and still do. It clearly had the desired effect as the ref booked a Mayo player early on for this offence. This is a cynical exercise in media manipulation.
This is particularly cynical when one remembers McGuinness himself was very unhappy and accused Kildare of trying influence the ref before their quarter final. Pot kettle.
There is one Donegal tactic which is most unsporting and one I haven't noticed any other team engage in. This is the practice of standing too close to the opposing free taker when he is taking a free and moving across his line of sight as the kicker is making his run up.
This was glaringly obvious during last years All Ireland final and in Donegals last match v Tyrone where it negatived the effectiveness of the Tyrone keepers free taking. Referee took no action in either case. This is clearly being coached beforehand and it needs to be stamped out. Moving the ball forward 30m every time would soon end this carry on.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 14/06/2013 12:04:47    1406420

One of the great pleasures here at the moment is listening to some
Tyrone men complaining about Donegal "intimidating & bullying" them.
muckrosshead

Who is complaining muckross?! Donegal have now perfected the dark arts
which they learned from us. Its the 16th man we have a problem with,
and no its not the referee, you know who I'm talking about! LOL
Enjoy your fun lad, it won't last forever. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 14/06/2013 12:16:32    1406437