Competition: choose the greatest football team ever

Number 10: the 2 that immediately come to mind are Brian Dooher and Paul Galvin. Even though I hated the sight of him one had to secretly admire the quality that Dooher brought to the great Tyrone team of the 2000's, but I've never seen a player to have the ability to change the tempo of a game quite like Paul Galvin. Paul gets my nod for 10.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/06/2013 10:13:10    1406272

No. 10

Brian Dooher.

I will eat my hat if he doesn't get it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13847 - 14/06/2013 10:40:56    1406304

Brian Dooher 110%

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 14/06/2013 10:50:58    1406318

I see what you did there MesAmis, very good:o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 14/06/2013 10:56:18    1406325

I reckon Galvin is one of the best players of the last 20 years, he does absolutely everything. He can score, tackle, win dirty ball, has an unbelievable engine, great passer. He is exactly what I would want my wing forward to do, so I pick Paul.
Dooher loses out by a hair, another incredible no. 10 and I reckon a lot of people will choose him but I reckon Paul in his prime was better.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 14/06/2013 11:00:28    1406331

Looking at some of the choices made there's a definite swing in recent years to players who are noted more for their workrate rather than flair. I suppose its indicative of modern day Gaeilc football. I mean, no offence, but Dooher & Galvin ahead of the likes of Ger Power, Peter McGinnity, Maurice Fitzgerald, Ja Fallon, Peter Canavan ? These lads all won All Stars at no. 10

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1082 - 14/06/2013 11:03:18    1406334

Brian Dooher

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 14/06/2013 11:04:01    1406335

Maroonatic

1406334 Looking at some of the choices made there's a definite swing in recent years to players who are noted more for their workrate rather than flair. I suppose its indicative of modern day Gaeilc football. I mean, no offence, but Dooher & Galvin ahead of the likes of Ger Power, Peter McGinnity, Maurice Fitzgerald, Ja Fallon, Peter Canavan ? These lads all won All Stars at no. 10

I agree with you to some degree but Canavan & Fitzgerald would be better remembered for playing in the Full Forward line in my opinion. I went for Dooher for the simple reason that he scored some serious scores and often changed games by himself. His workrate was immence but he was an all round excellent player who got serious scores when it mattered. Ja Fallon does deserve an honourable mention but Canavan & Fitzgerald would be in the full forward line for me. Unfortunately Power & McGinnity are before my time

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 14/06/2013 11:13:46    1406344

Maroonatic
Ger Power, Peter McGinnity, Maurice Fitzgerald, Ja Fallon, Peter Canavan ? These lads all won All Stars at no. 10

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is where is starts to get messy, as a lot of lads were given all-stars in positions that they never played. I'd be pretty certain that Canavan never wore the No.10 jersey for Tyrone, and certainly never played at RHF. Power and Fitzgerald were also more accomplished in the corner.

My choice though is the great Sean O'Neill, who was the outstanding player in the greatest half forward line we've ever seen.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/06/2013 11:14:55    1406346

How has Maurice Fitzgerald not been mentioned yet. He gets my vote.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/06/2013 11:19:02    1406351

I was gonna put Fitzgerald in the full forward line. Either way he has to be in the team end of story!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 14/06/2013 11:23:01    1406354

Again Dooher was a super,super player,Ja Fallon was a massive player for Galway,Few more come to mind,such as Trevor Giles (Meath) But it has to be Paul Galvin,2009 i have never seen a man dominate match after match..Pure Class

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 14/06/2013 11:28:02    1406360

ConnollyDub

1406354 I was gonna put Fitzgerald in the full forward line. Either way he has to be in the team end of story!

I agree with Fitzgerald in Full Forward line myself. This is going to get seriously messy IMO. There are certain backs/Midfielders who stick out but there are many many forwards who could be put in this team. Even Selecting them in their numbered positions is going to be majorly difficult. 10 & 12 are probably going to be the handy ones but Centre Forward & 13 to 15 have so many contenders its going send HS into meltdown

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 14/06/2013 11:28:28    1406362

Brian Dooher with out doubt is the best no 10 ever. The 08 point from the cusack side was one of the greatest scored in an All Ireland final. Doohers engine is legendery his fittness levels were extraordinary. It is hard to see how Tyrone could have won an All Ireland in the 00's without him. Exceptional

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 14/06/2013 11:32:48    1406366

I'm confused now, are we just picking players who we've seen play live? Come on now, Brian Dooher? Galvin? Both fantastic players, but the greatest of all time? Not a chance.

Down's Sean O'Neill gets my number 10 without contest. No one comes close to him. A genius of the game, and arguably the greatest GAA player to ever grace the field.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 14/06/2013 11:34:50    1406369

this is madness

are we sticking to players we like/ saw/ played last year?

Paul Galvin the best 10 of all time !! ...funny

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 14/06/2013 11:42:06    1406373

Barney Rock.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 14/06/2013 11:46:39    1406382

I guess we are picking the best from 1990 - Present day i guess...Obviously there are guys like Mick O Connell & Sean Purcell who would walk on the greatest team.

I'm not sure how these positions will work but i guess we should maybe vote for the half and full forward lines in block?

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 14/06/2013 11:50:12    1406390

Ger Power.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/06/2013 11:50:12    1406391

Nice response to the vote for the top two midfielders. And its an all Kerry pairing of clan O Shea, Jack and Daragh.

Congrats to both. Amazingly Daragh's selection now sees the three O Shea brothers included, some feat.

Jacko's choice, our oldest member to date, shows that readers were prepared, where true talent existed, to go outside the boundaries of the internet age.

Two fine exponents indeed.

So to our right half forward position. Look I see entries here already and some queries.

Lets say that if voting for a right half forward, then the player chosen would have worn the number 10 jersey for a good number of years, Brian Dooher for example.

We are going to pick the top 6 forwards in their own position. None of the shenanigans of the All Star selections where the top 6 forwards are chosen and then given a spot.

Voting can continue here until Monday morning and please no number 11's or 12's over the weekend.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 14/06/2013 11:51:55    1406393