Competition: choose the greatest football team ever

jack o shea and dara o se

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 13/06/2013 19:00:08    1406042

Anthony Tohill and Dara O Se

They'll have a tough time winning breaking ball though now that Philip Jordan has been subbed ;)

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/06/2013 19:05:04    1406050

Cant understand where all the talk of Phillip jordon is coming from (ok it mostly Tyrone folk) but he was very ordinary.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2013 19:10:23    1406052

Darragh O'Se and Jack O'Shea

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 13/06/2013 19:10:28    1406053

Willie Joe and anyone, whoever, doesn't matter, even by himself........

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 13/06/2013 19:27:21    1406064

Anthony Tohill

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 13/06/2013 19:29:18    1406066

royaldunne
Cant understand where all the talk of Phillip jordon is coming from (ok it mostly Tyrone folk) but he was very ordinary.

Sounds like you're just sore cause someone had
the audacity to have an opinion about O'Connell!
You'll get over it though!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 13/06/2013 19:36:13    1406073

They'll have a tough time winning breaking ball though now that Philip Jordan has been subbed ;)

13/06/2013 19:10:23
royaldunne

4 all-stars, along with numerous match of the match performances. Not bad for a very ordinary player.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 13/06/2013 19:41:17    1406079

has to be
Brian mullins and Jack oshea
2 outstanding midfielders

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 13/06/2013 19:43:05    1406080

Fair point Clondakin but my nominees were based on my opinion of the best midfielders

Ciaran Whelean is in the top grade of the past 10 years as you say but I am talking about the last almost 30. I would put hin in with the likes of:
Gregory McCartan
Liam McHale
Brian McGilligan
Plukett Donaghy
Dermot McCabe
John Galvin
Sean Cavanagh
Tony McEntee
Brian Stynes
Fergal Doherty
Not shabby company to say the least!

Ciaran was a great footballer and real nice fella. In fact as an attacking midfielder probably only big Sean (who by the way was/is not a great fielder in my opinion) would surpass him. His main let downs were his defensive duties and his temperament. He was no dirty player than most midfielders but his problem was the red mist came down and he done something blantant and stupid resulting in him going out of the game. Ironically I think Ciaran was to nice a fella for midfield he just didn't know how to do the dirty stuff properly!.

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 13/06/2013 20:27:38    1406116

Omaghjoe never in a million years is Kevin Walsh a better midfielder then Whelan. Darragh O Se said on numerous occasions that Whelan was the best midfielder he ever played against.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/06/2013 20:37:15    1406120

royaldunne

1406052 Cant understand where all the talk of Phillip jordon is coming from (ok it mostly Tyrone folk) but he was very ordinary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't get frustrated it will come in time, you should keep going to games and ask someone with a good understanding to explain what is happening on the pitch. Hope this helps.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 13/06/2013 20:41:05    1406122

Omaghjoe never in a million years is Kevin Walsh a better midfielder then Whelan. Darragh O Se said on numerous occasions that Whelan was the best midfielder he ever played against.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've also heard Dara say that his toughest opponent was Kevin Hughes.

Whelan was a very good midfielder, but the names that are cropping up in this thread are exceptional players. I think that Omaghjoe's comparison of Whelan to the likes of John Galvin, Liam McHale, Gregory McCartan and a several others is fair enough. Considering players only from the last 20 years, I'd have Dara O'Se, Tohill, Paul McGrane, and Walsh all clearly above Whelan.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 13/06/2013 21:08:48    1406149

Ah the nordies are getting upset. :-)
tell ya what seannie when your county has seven all irelands and twenty one provincial titles talk to me then. Ok boy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2013 21:16:42    1406157

No way Thomas I'll never agree with you on that, I wouldn't swop Whelo with any of them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/06/2013 21:17:37    1406158

royaldunne

Ah the nordies are getting upset. :-)
tell ya what seannie when your county has seven all irelands and twenty one provincial titles talk to me then. Ok boy.

As there was no GAA before the 90's, your county have two All Ireland's and five provincial titles (Louth gave you Benny Flynn, you should give them 2010 :) )

and as Donegal have two All Ireland's and Four Provincial titles with little opposition .......maybe seanie may be talking to you sooner than you think :)

unless.......

(gotta smile Royal ......Aughrim will tell a tale)

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 296 - 13/06/2013 21:52:58    1406193

A prime Whelan was a real force and very different player to the other midfielders mentioned. Some people probably forget how good he was because he played for a few years past his prime, still doing a good job though. He is not in the best ever bracket but I agree with Clondalkin a class apart than any of those mentioned.

And royaldunne for everyone's sake please stop embarrassing yourself man!! You can probably get footage of any of the players mentioned here on youtube if you don't know who they are :)

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 13/06/2013 21:57:20    1406197

I have already voted for my midfield pairing. But just a quick observation, all the midfielders that are mentioned above always had a workhorse besides them a player that was very much underrated. For example Tohill got the headlines but Brian McGilligan did the horsing, A lot of ye have mentioned Ciaran Whelan above, being honest if I was picking a team be it a Dublin, Leinster or an Irish gaa team I would pick Shane Ryan over Ciaran any day of the week, midfield is not all about fielding, it box to box support and link play defending tackling and using the space provides, defending and scoring, Shane Ryan did all these qualities with no recognition. Now a lot of the Dublin posters are rooting for Whelan I'm just amazed not one of ye mentioned Ryan.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/06/2013 08:28:49    1406214

Has to be Darragh Ó Sé and Jack O' Shea.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/06/2013 09:10:20    1406227

Are we on to 10?

Another extremley hard on to pick.

I'll go for Brian Dooher but theres plenty of exceptional lads who run him very close, but Doohers ability to keep coming and producing top drawer displays at the end of his career tips it for me.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 14/06/2013 09:27:37    1406238