Championship Matters

An episode of Fr Ted would have suited that slot better. It also would have had more relevant discussion about current gaa games. What a bore. I'm just glad I didn't get her to sit beside me for it. A caption came up "next we will preview this weekends games". Great says I gettin all excited. Then just before the end Marty says " we will talk about them games next week". For real?

ged (Louth) - Posts: 322 - 07/06/2013 14:08:29    1401184

Generally don't like criticising because the world is full of armchair experts. Hence I find excessive criticism of county set ups and players hard to digest as I'm contributing nothing so I have very little basis for argument. However I am a license payer for my tv so I expect a bit more than the rubbish on Championship Matters last night. It's part of a wider degree of poor quality in relation to Gaelic Games coverage on RTE i think. Some of the analysts on live games are really out of their depth. Some past players make great analysts but I've come to see that others can be really clueless. There are a certain few, and one in particular in the live football games, who has lost track of modern Football almost completely. It's cringe worthy to watch and listen to. This guy seems to be vaguely aware of this more recently and has started mimicking sound bites of other analysts in an attempt to save face. But for anyone with a half detailed knowledge or awareness of Gaelic Football, it is easy to see that this guy doesn't understand modern tactics and is a passenger at this stage, not really credible anymore. RTE and Gaelic Games need a revamp. Insight and not controversy is to be expected.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/06/2013 14:25:50    1401203

Great preview of the US Open tonight.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 526 - 13/06/2013 20:54:50    1406135

At least your Wan looked well!

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 13/06/2013 21:03:32    1406144

A great bit of eye candy on the show tonight. Great tactic to pull in the male viewers lol.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 13/06/2013 21:03:41    1406145

Championship Matters pulled it out of the bag last night , my god what a stunning looking girl. Cork camogie team you have a new supporter from Clondalkin. Ok I'm calling for an end to compulsory helmet wearing in camogie, actually they can still wear them except for Anna Geary she should be banned from wearing a helmet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/06/2013 10:35:31    1406298

Watched it for this first time this year last night and whilst I don't normally have any complaints about RTE's coverage of the GAA that show last night was pure puck, no proper preview of this weekends games or review of last weekend, no historical look back at past clashes like what one used to see on Breaking Ball, no interview with people that actually matter regarding the upcoming weekend games, a pro golfer stuck in the middle of the whole plant and the only saving grace was the fact that we could look at that nice girl from Cork, very disappointing stuff bring back Breaking Ball a show that was cancelled for reasons I will never understand

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 14/06/2013 12:47:25    1406465

What are you talking about Richeq? Did you not see Anna Geary?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/06/2013 14:20:52    1406571

Did ye see the caption when Shane Lowry was on screen?

SHANE LOWRY
"best golfer in Offaly"

Jesus lads try and be a bit more professional

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 14/06/2013 14:34:38    1406599

Anna Geary....fine bit of stuff. Lowery and Marty were fair eyeing her up......id say she would go for Lowery and his millions :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 14/06/2013 14:50:14    1406624

id say she would go for Lowery and his millions :) .... as opposed to what Marty!!!!! cracking girlie though, the sunday game could learna thing or 2

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/06/2013 15:06:06    1406647

Ah not at all, when Marty would turn on the charm after the cameras stop rolling she'd forget all about Lowry and his millions, Marty is a fair auld Romeo Id say......

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 14/06/2013 15:12:11    1406656

looks like someone doesnt like being sub :)

www.corkcamogie.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/Munster-Intermediate-Champions-2012.jpg

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 14/06/2013 15:13:03    1406659

Great debate so far on Team Ulster in the hurling.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/06/2013 19:12:43    1411866