Joe McMahon sent off

I cant believe people think that the 2nd yellow was harsh. Murphy didn't make a meal of anything. When you have been in a battle for 60 minutes and get tripped when you arent expecting it, its very easy for it to do damage. But regardless if he was hurt or had gotten straight back up its still a yellow.

Do people seriously think that players should be allowed to trip other players off the ball and not get a booking? Where does it end?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1450 - 28/05/2013 13:10:15    1393475

CaisleanCnucha

It is slowly turning into soccer the way we are trying to get people sent off...

It was instigated by the Donegal player, if McMahon had kicked him for no reason I reckon it may have been a red card, but he didn't.

Nobody tried to get McMahon sent off, he managed it all on his own by comitting two bookable offences, both of which came from sheer frustration.

I would also disagree that it was instigated by Wherity. He was pulled and thrown to the ground by McMahon in the first place, he the grabbed McMahon's leg for a couple of seconds but had let go by the time McMahon kicked out.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 13:14:13    1393480

Booking was the right decision for the first incident, it was no more a stamp, more a push with his legs.

Shame on Donegal trying to get players sent off
Murthy on the deck like he was shot after a slight trip
Mc fadden grabbing players legs
Wearity at it also
Management encroaching the pitch to influence decisions

If Donegal are such a good team y do they need to resort to such unsporting tactics?

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 28/05/2013 13:26:38    1393494

Have to Agree, I like the new tactical edge to football and admire Donegal's system, organisation and all that but yer starting to push the nerves of alot of people. Really neutrals dont care whether or not Donegal win or loss games thats the long and the short of it. Ye Seem to be developing this mindset that its ye against the world and everyone is out to get ye, Donegal players are no better diving and making meals of everything, Murphy acting like he shot when he was tripped, Paddy and the "the bite", Jim running onto the field when ever someone gets rough with one of his players and saying Div.1 bla bla means nothing bla bla we dont like the league bla bla. Nobody is saying yer not the best team at this moment ye are but yere losing face with the rest of us at this carry on

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 28/05/2013 13:52:42    1393530

waynoI

1393457 Wherity should have been yellow carded for holding onto Joe McMahon that time

Ah now come on .. its a "mans game" , Cant book someone for holding someone elses leg .. God forbid

You see, that's where the difference is Wayno1. Holding onto a lad's leg to stop him running for a pass is cowardly and sneaky. Nothing manly about that at all. All of these niggly little things that go on, lads falling down handy, jerseys being pulled, lads held off the ball, blocking players runs- that's all cowardly stuff.

Being a man means hitting hard but fair, being hit hard but fair, doing your best to go hard for every ball, getting stuck in and getting on with the game.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 28/05/2013 14:47:47    1393602

Donegal lads claiming now that Murphy was hurt by the trip hahaha of course he was hurt haha.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2013 14:58:41    1393619

crossfieldball

Have to Agree, I like the new tactical edge to football and admire Donegal's system, organisation and all that but yer starting to push the nerves of alot of people. Really neutrals dont care whether or not Donegal win or loss games thats the long and the short of it. Ye Seem to be developing this mindset that its ye against the world and everyone is out to get ye, Donegal players are no better diving and making meals of everything, Murphy acting like he shot when he was tripped, Paddy and the "the bite", Jim running onto the field when ever someone gets rough with one of his players and saying Div.1 bla bla means nothing bla bla we dont like the league bla bla. Nobody is saying yer not the best team at this moment ye are but yere losing face with the rest of us at this carry on

I have to disagree crossfield. If you were up here today you would see that we are delighted with life after Sunday. We now know that the hunger is there & McBrearty's performance was a revelation. Don't confuse what you read on sites like HS with the wider world, we are as happy as a pig in the brown stuff at the moment.
I fully accept that Donegal are no better than anyone else at the "dark arts", in fact I'd say they push the boat farther than everyone in this regard. I personally don't like it but JMcG's speciality is head games & anything he can do to disrupt the other teams thinking he'll do and leave it up to the referee to police the game.
As for the "bite" incident & JMcG talking about the league, it was the media that made a big deal out of these not Donegal, if you want to criticise him for being honest & forthright about his views then fair enough but I would rather a bit of honesty from people than the usual bland rubbish we get from managers.
Finally, as to losing face with people, we couldn't care less. Any successfull football team in recent memory hasn't been popular, Dublin, Meath, Armagh, Tyrone all had their share of detractors. The only county who seem to get away with it are Kerry, cute hoors. No, we'll take respect any day of the week ahead of popularity. We have had our share of being the butt of jokes & disrespected, this golden period won't last forever, we are going to enjoy it & apologise to no one for that.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 15:15:13    1393634

Much ado about nothing. However, what is interesting to note is the views of some HS posters. I guess it's quite hard to captivate everybody.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 28/05/2013 15:24:58    1393649

The long and short of it, the players are getting bigger and stronger and they are naturally hitting alot harder even in the shoulder to shoulder challenges, if the refs keep blowing up for this stuff as we seen on Sunday players get frustrated, they arent been aloud use the bodies and it boiled over with incidents like these. Amatuer sport yes but if they want to hit harder let them hit harder.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 28/05/2013 16:33:43    1393731

crossfieldball
I agree with you there. I was close to the front of the stand on Sunday and both sets of players marched past in the parade I couldn't believe how much bigger some of these players looked since last year. One exception to your point about the hits was the collision between Mc Gee and O' Neill and fair play to O'Neill who just got up and on with it although he was bent over for about a minute after but never complained, a true warrior as well as a great player.
On your other point about Donegal thinking the world is against them, I certainly don't and although we have the detractors we have also had our fair share of compliments in recent times. We have also received some fair criticism regarding delaying tactics and I can't argue there. We delayed frees any chance we got on Sunday and tried to put Morgan off and that worked. What really annoys me on here though is that some of the posters who continually berate Donegal for this won't admit that their respective counties do the exact same when they have a lead in games. It happens from Junior B level to Senior intercounty and if you can't admit your team does it then take off the rose tinted glasses.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 28/05/2013 16:53:33    1393757

pig.ignorant
County: Derry

watched this on youtube last night and for what its joe mcmahon should never have been sent off in my opinion, the stamp was never a stamp, twas a joke and the trip on young murphy was just that a trip, but warranted him staying down as if playing in the champions league. i have to say this is the ugly side of football

Never in the history of HS has a poster been so aptly named.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 18:22:10    1393869

What was made of Stephen O'neill's apparent attempt to force Neil McGee into a brick wall down by the river end of the park? With the amount of cameras about surely it was caught by one? Might not have come to anything, but the intent was nasty.

donegalboy (Donegal) - Posts: 120 - 28/05/2013 18:55:52    1393888

Well Wayno?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/05/2013 19:00:06    1393892

Joncarter what are you on about? If it's a dirty challenge and the man's jaw is broke I'll be the first one on here giving out saying it was a disgraceful act just like I was after Connolly's challenge against a Kildare player in last years O Byrne cup game , but to see a man stay down and pretend to be injured after a trip to get another man sent off is wrong and we can't allow this to be accepted in our game. Just to let you know JonCarter I've broken my collar bone my leg and my foot playing GAA but that's part and parcel of the game I can accept that ,I can't accept diving/playing and faking injury it's not what the GAA is about .

A couple of points Clondalkin,

1 What makes you think that a man cannot suffer an injury from a trip? How can you be so sure he was pretending?

2 How do you come to the conclusion the he was trying to get McMahon sent off? Remember the brave Joe tripped him from behind, where Murphy couldn't see him. Murphy I'm sure had no idea who tripped him.

You are very quick to become judge, jury & executioner all based on your opinion. Its very simple, according to the rules of the game McMahon committed two bookable offences & got sent off. What in the name of God prompted him to trip Murphy anyway? The ball was gone, he was on a yellow. He has no one to blame but himself.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 19:14:45    1393903