Joe McMahon sent off

It was dealt with correctly. Yellow was the appropriate card. Yes he was being held, and he did react to this. Seems that there is some annoyance here that he got in some way punished unfairly. How so?

Eh because he stamped on him.. How can I put it any other way ?

Don't give me excuses, A stamp is a stamp, If he had of caught him in the head would yous all have said "Ah sure its a mans game".. instinctive or not he swiped once, Missed, And swiped again catching the Donegal player the second time. Right on the chest. To suggest that's not a red card is scandalous. Its a red card every single day of the week.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 14:41:01    1392558

Never a red only tapped him , get up and get on with it FFs .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2013 14:45:10    1392569

but to see a man stay down and pretend to be injured after a trip to get another man sent off is wrong and we can't allow this to be accepted in our game.

_______

Jesus yeah don't get me wrong the actual incident that saw Joe McMahon get himself a second yellow was never a yellow.. Was pathetic that murphy stayed down, Having said that for me McMahon should have already been off.. Studs to the chest of another player wether he is been held of not is bang out of order, There was a lot of holding legs and jerseys yesterday when fouls where committed and nobody else stamped on their mans chest. McMahon did.. Thuggish act.. Red card end of discussion

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 14:46:19    1392571

Never a red only tapped him , get up and get on with it FFs .

Where in the rule book does it say a "tap" is not a red card offence ? I'm not having that.

Mans game or not you cant stand/stamp on someones chest..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 14:49:38    1392582

He didn't stand or stamp he freed his leg that's all ,there was nothing in it and he shouldn't have got a yellow.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2013 14:55:18    1392592

Paul Galvin got booked yesterday for a perfectly timed and executed shoulder charge, it happend only baout 20 feet away from me as I was on that side of the terrece

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 27/05/2013 14:56:11    1392596

Couldn't disagree more on both counts. It was never a stamp, it was a gentle enough fend off to release himself. Yellow card was fair.

On the Murphy trip I don't know how how you don't think that's a yellow card. It was stupid and unnecessary but it's certainly a booking. If that happens 5 times in every game from now on would you maintain that nobody should get booked? A trip when you are not expecting it can lead to a nasty enough injury. Murphy was clearly struggling for a good 5 minutes after it

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1450 - 27/05/2013 14:58:53    1392602

He didn't stand or stamp he freed his leg that's all ,there was nothing in it and he shouldn't have got a yellow.

Are you for real man ?

He didn't just "free his leg", Watch it again seriously.

He swiped once and missed, And the second time he stood on his chest..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 15:01:36    1392610

benjyyy

1392602 Couldn't disagree more on both counts. It was never a stamp, it was a gentle enough fend off to release himself. Yellow card was fair.

On the Murphy trip I don't know how how you don't think that's a yellow card. It was stupid and unnecessary but it's certainly a booking. If that happens 5 times in every game from now on would you maintain that nobody should get booked? A trip when you are not expecting it can lead to a nasty enough injury. Murphy was clearly struggling for a good 5 minutes after it

Thats what you get for being AI Champions ya know. Everybody wants to knock ye. No matter what Donegal do this year it won't be right. Honestly I'd take it as a compliment because theres an element of fear about it.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/05/2013 15:08:07    1392623

Bengjy I never said the Murphy trip shouldnt have been a yellow, I've watched it loads of times Waynol and as I've said there was nothing in it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2013 15:11:49    1392627

If refs apply rules of game as literal as being implied here , it would ruin championship , and ruin my bloody summer ,
Wayno1 hate to bring up the age thing yet again , but a lot of posters on here played the game on here when it was a " mans game " we also would have watched the game in different decades when physicality was acceptable , and yesrerdays yellow card was at best a laughable anecdote , its not being condescending when my father says I dont know what hard is untill I saw lar or des foley , in same terms of reference you dont know what hard or dirty is or was purely because your younger , no amount of u tube can capture how hard the game was in 70 , 80 and 90s so you might get younger guys agreeing with you , but old heads more than likely not so .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/05/2013 15:15:37    1392633

Wayneo

He didn't stand or stamp on Wherity.

It was a kick if anything. No point dressing it up as anything more. I disagree with Clondalkin in that I think the yellow card was justified.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/05/2013 15:36:13    1392669

Mes maybe a yellow but nothing more no malice in it at all.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2013 15:38:15    1392676

its not being condescending when my father says I dont know what hard is untill I saw lar or des foley , in same terms of reference you dont know what hard or dirty is or was purely because your younger , no amount of u tube can capture how hard the game was in 70 , 80 and 90s so you might get younger guys agreeing with you , but old heads more than likely not so .

Maybe you're right, But we aren't in the days of des or lar foley anymore and that's the bottom line Damo.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 15:49:05    1392688

The bottom line is, it wasn't a kick and it wasn't a stamp.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 27/05/2013 15:52:01    1392693

McMahon didn't need to bother on either occasion. He should know better by now. When you're down a few points in the second half against Dún na nGall you don't give any chance for the ref to blow a free that'll eat up time.

AnRaibh (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 27/05/2013 16:04:54    1392707

Wasn't a stamp - deserved both yellows though and rightly sent off.

Hold a mans leg - expect to b kicked.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/05/2013 16:09:01    1392711

No question of the trip not being a yellow card as it is a specific yellow card offence

5.20 To trip an opponent with hand(s) arm, leg or
foot.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Caution the offender; order off for
second cautionable foul.

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 27/05/2013 16:16:50    1392729

It is slowly turning into soccer the way we are trying to get people sent off...

It was instigated by the Donegal player, if McMahon had kicked him for no reason I reckon it may have been a red card, but he didn't.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 27/05/2013 16:18:11    1392730

Maybe you're right, But we aren't in the days of des or lar foley anymore and that's the bottom line Damo.

I agree Wayno1 , the game has moved on ,by and large for the better , ,bigger stronger athletes whose levels of fitness are unsurpassed , but not completely for the better , the game slowly but surely is diluted into a semi contact game thats losing touch with the physical Contact sport it was , a direct result of this is the increasing simulation we are seeing year on year creeping in , my point is you may quote the rule book till the cows come home , however anyone can read and quote but takes a finer mind to understand .
Ive said it before and I will say it again one of the attractions to GAA is watching your team go into battle , and you want t see players play on the edge , but then we go and hinder them by not being able to differentiate between cynical foul and old fashioned physical foul , makes a mockery of rule book . Im taking in general terms here not exclusively on yesterdays joke .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/05/2013 16:20:04    1392734