Joe McMahon sent off

Thought he was lucky not to go earlier. The commentators at the time didn't make a big deal our of it but I'm amazed he only saw yellow for it. He lashed out with his foot on Wherity (I think it was i'm open to correction), Missed and went in again right on his ribs/chest. I know Wherity was holding his leg but I wouldn't use that as an excuse to do what he did, There where a few incidents in the match where people where held by the legs and nobody lashed out.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 26/05/2013 20:56:19    1391952

Nothing in it at all, he barely touch the Donegal player who holding onto his leg. It's a mans game for gods sake

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2013 21:13:53    1391995

touche clondalkin.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 26/05/2013 21:19:34    1392003

Rubbish Clondalkin. Nothing in it my eye did you see what Ger Brennan got sent off for against Mayo in the league, Kicking a ball into the Mayo player, Not saying it wasn't justified just that it was less a red card than that today ? He should have seen red that's the bottom line

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 26/05/2013 21:21:30    1392006

The holding is highly irritating and McMahon's reaction was pure human nature, but rules are rules!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 26/05/2013 21:28:36    1392022

Wayno come on lad there was not much in it,

He was trying to get away from him in my opinion.

Silly for an experienced player to sent off like that, the trip was petty.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/05/2013 21:31:39    1392027

His leg was being held onto by the Donegal man who wouldn't let go, first time I saw it I thought it was a red but to be fair if someone won't let go your reaction will be to get him off you. A yellow was deserved, but there is no point even arguing this, if you think it was a yellow like me, fair enough, if you think it was a red, then justice was done about 10 mins later when he was sent off anyway.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 26/05/2013 21:33:59    1392037

At the time I thought it was bad, but having seen it on TV I doesn't look as bad as I first thought. However no matter how you cut it a kick to the body is always going to be a yellow card. What he was thinking tripping Murphy when on the yellow only he knows.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 26/05/2013 21:37:29    1392042

Here's the thing about that incident and others like it,for I have seen many over the years. When a player is being pulled or harried or restrained or dragged at by an opposing player is he supposed to just submit in that moment? Joe shouldn't have lashed out like that but it must be looked at in balance and if ye are gonna give it you have to be prepared to take it too.Everything in context,wasn't like he initiated the tussle.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 26/05/2013 22:02:58    1392085

Yellow card was the correct punishment but refs need to move the ball on 10 yards for holding at every opportunity.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 27/05/2013 08:09:32    1392092

It was dealt with correctly. Yellow was the appropriate card. Yes he was being held, and he did react to this. Seems that there is some annoyance here that he got in some way punished unfairly. How so?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 27/05/2013 08:28:57    1392098

The softest sending off I think I've ever seen. donegal made a big deal out of the first offence. The guy was holding his leg and he freed himself. He didn't kick the Donegal player or try to injure him. The second one, the trip, very soft card. And I don't think Michael Murphy needed to lie face down on the ground for a full minute over it either.

Couldn't believe some of the yellows Tyrone got, yet Murphy clotheslines a Tyrone player early in the second half and no action was taken.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 27/05/2013 09:44:48    1392133

Jaysus what a load of rubbish Im hearing from some of ye.Fellas are leaving Gaa pitches with broken jaws,missing teeth,concussion,as well as having horrible taunts of a personal nature being thrown at them throughout the game and all ye can say in response is "Its a mans game".What kind of animals did ye fellas grow up around around with that ye think this type of thuggery is manly?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/05/2013 09:46:13    1392137

Sending off was harsh. S Cavanagh should not have come out in the media before the game putting pressure on the ref, I think it slightly back fired yesterday. He did call for umpires and linemen to get more involved, fair play Sean.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 27/05/2013 10:02:03    1392160

Icehonesty spot on, Murphy was rolling around like he had been shot, and he was not the only Donegal player at it. Definite need to see Refs tighten up on this so-called gamesmanship, McFadden committed the worst example, was shown in close up on live match, about 55-60 mins in, he went to ground in a fair tackle and proceeded to grab the leg of the Tyrone player standing over him, pulling down on the knee close to himself. He proceed to clutch his face and roll around in "agony" - Oscar deserving stuff. Couldn't believe it, was a deliberate attempt to get a player carded. Was watching with lads from 3 different counties (Meath, Tipp and Dublin) and we all had the same reaction. If doubtful watch a replay of the live game. Cynical football is alive and well

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 27/05/2013 10:05:50    1392164

A few men on both sides probably could have walked for more serious offences than what Joe McMahon did. That being said, Joe is in his 30 now, he's not just new to this game. He was stupid and can have no complaints.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 27/05/2013 10:27:53    1392198

Commander. Dead right. I don't think donegal were as bad as some teams I've seen. But seriously. It was a trip. Murphy is a huge strong man. The trip didn't hurt him. He didn't have to lie face down on the ground for a full minute in order for the ref to send McMahon off.

I didn't mind too much who won this game, just wanted to see a good game of football. But Donegal, unfortunately, were milking things in a lot of places.

Rory Gallagher had no business rushing onto the pitch a few times either, he'd want to keep himself behind the white line where he belongs.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 27/05/2013 10:36:06    1392215

Joncarter what are you on about? If it's a dirty challenge and the man's jaw is broke I'll be the first one on here giving out saying it was a disgraceful act just like I was after Connolly's challenge against a Kildare player in last years O Byrne cup game , but to see a man stay down and pretend to be injured after a trip to get another man sent off is wrong and we can't allow this to be accepted in our game. Just to let you know JonCarter I've broken my collar bone my leg and my foot playing GAA but that's part and parcel of the game I can accept that ,I can't accept diving/playing and faking injury it's not what the GAA is about .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2013 10:39:04    1392217

i wouldn't call it a stamp. he wasn't standing over the player. he was trying to get away and free himself from the player on the ground who was holding his leg. he kicked out in frustration and also to extricate himself. i think a yellow was sufficient in this case.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 27/05/2013 10:41:04    1392221

Never a red card. Ref got it spot on.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1450 - 27/05/2013 12:27:35    1392361