royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 4024
1407610 CaisleanCnucha Just a few things. Firstly meath have competed with the perceived "top " teams in leinster. Beat Dublin in ten, but perhaps more relevant easily beat kildare last year. Meath will beat wexford and while I also think they would beat kildare i doubt that will be opposition, and they are a couple of years behind then at min. keoghan had a bad day yesterday, no doubt, but his performance v kildare and dubs last year proved he has alot to offer this young meath team. Reilly is fantastic (goes without saying) wallace will improve, however i do agree with you on joe, i think his cameo yesterday proved he still has lots to offer meath and IMO should start against wexford, and i feel we will win that with 3/5 to spare.
Love seeing people set themselves up for a big fall, AGAIN!! I presume the only reason you do this is the usual wind up. We seem to have the same crap year in and year out from a few select Meath posters. This will be a 50/50 game. Only Dublin could boast of being confident of beating anybody in Leinster. Louth, Wexford, Meath, Laois, Longford, Westmeath and Kildare(probably the better of the mentioned) have the ability to beat eachother on their day. From a Wexford point of view there is nothing to back up your arrogance. First of all what division did Meath play in this year in the league and believe me it does make a difference. Also without disrepect to our good neighbours you'd have to say a Wexford win be it by a point against a decent Louth team speaks volumes in relation to a walk in the park for Meath against Wicklow. Just trying to get a level headed debate going rather than the usual agro BS.
Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 16/06/2013 12:27:03
Nick - you reckon last night was a " walk in the park?" .. Interesting , I assume that daft comment meant you didn't see the game. We are disappointed , we may jot have beaten Meath , but for bizarre 6pt turnaround on 31 mins and after out scoring Meath 8 to 7 in second half , we would have been within 1-2 point s of Meath ( at least ).
Have bad news for you re: Meath. After their " walk in the park" last night - they will improve 20% at least for Wexford game and will tighten up half back line and will beat Wexford 5-6 points ( minus the help of a 6pt "gift" turn around ). I.M.O
It will be Meath v Dublin Leinster Final I.M.O
Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 16/06/2013 13:33:58
5/06/2013 21:46:22 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 4024
1407533 Meath won in second gear. Will dispose of wexford easily. We will reach a leinster. Final.
Don't think this current Meath side has gears. What's the logic in thinking they will beat Wexford easily?
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3590 - 16/06/2013 14:07:59
CaisleanCnucha County: Dublin Posts: 333 CaisleanCnucha County: Dublin Posts: 333
What are you on about?? Seriously? Where did i say meath are a top team? Oh thats right i didn't. I did say we will reach leinster final and i stand over that. Meath are rebuilding no doubt. Meath will win leinster within next 3 years IMO and will challenge for sam within 5/6 once management are given time to develop this very young team. Now you highlight our half backline without pointing out that king hasn't played a competitive game in two years and that was Burke's first game in a year. Neither would have started if Davy Dalton and harro had not been injured. So get the facts straight also another omitted fact from your post was that meath beat kildare and then lost to laois? Did you forget about loosing by 3 to dubs in final of leinster?, meath are very much in transition no one in meath are saying otherwise. However reaching leinster final and loosing to most likely Dublin and seeing who we draw in rd 4 with maybe getting into quarters will be seen as a very good start to this new set up. That is the plan and nothing will change that. So if your going to havr a go at least research what i said first. to wexford supporter. Meath will improve and I do think meath will win with a bit to spare. hon the royal
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2013 14:14:43
I thought it was a good game and I think we played well but of course theres a lot of people on here who won't give us any credit. considering the conditions last night, to score 1-17 shows we played well. aughrim is never an easy place to get a win but we done it handily enough. I can see us only improving from this game and I don't think wexford will have the defenders to be able to deal with our forwards. people have mentioned our half back line wasn't good. mick odowd realised this and took off two of our half backs at half time and seamus Kenny and harnan who replaced them done brilliant when they came on and really fought for every ball. I think one of the most impressive thing for us yesterday was the intensity we brought to the game and we gave nothing away easy, if we continue with this attitude we wont be beaten easily by anyone, including Dublin/Kildare in the leinster final. and another thing, I think graham reilly had a brilliant game, some of the points he scored were unreal, and I think if he was playing for another county he'd get a lot more credit off people on this.
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 16/06/2013 14:22:15
Meathalltheway. Hear hear. Your post is excellent. The meath haters begrudgers will never give any of our performance or in particular our players any credit. I have not seen every game this year, seen highlights and watched a few. But the performance by Graham Reilly last night is up there with any body fron any county
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2013 14:36:07
we dont have much to fear from that meath team, we have beating yous a good few times in championship in recent years and we will again hon d yellowbellies
dawnrun (Wexford) - Posts: 81 - 16/06/2013 14:46:56
dawnrun
we dont have much to fear from that meath team, we have beating yous a good few times in championship in recent years and we will again hon d yellowbellies
All the signs do point towards Wexford in fairness, it's looking ominous for us Royals at this stage!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/06/2013 15:08:25
THE_SNAPPER County: Louth Posts: 879
1407498 The saved Wicklow penalty and the fluky Meath goal almost immediately afterwards decided the outcome of tonight's game.
The penalty call was an iffy one for sure but it was given nevertheless therefore the referee should have ordered the kick be retaken. It was clear cut that the Meath keeper was 2 yards off his goal line when the shot was taken. Very hard for anyone to beat a man of O'Rourke's size at the best of times but even more so when your shooting from only 9 mts and strike it poorly.
Referee's don't seem to enforce the rule that states the keeper must stay on his goal line before the ball is struck, they won't allow a kick to be taken until all players have retreated outside off the D yet they allow the keeper to come off his line which is an advantage to the keeper imo and they don't do anything about it.
In my opinion that was a very poorly taken penalty he was nervous time was ticking over and it wouldnt of made a heed of difference if paddy was in the stand behind him. Nit picking is such a huge thing on this forum. Meath are in transition and gaining confidence in their abilities under this new management. Yet we are this division 3 side average as everybody loves to point out. That we may be but one thing about Meath that has never changed over the years even with management coming and going is the ability to perform against the big guns. Inconsistent as this may be it is the truth. I am not writing off wexford and doing what louth done and talking about playing dublin or kildare. Meath need to build on this performance and come out in croke park in 2 weeks time all guns blazing. Seen as we are such an average division 3 side what do we have to loose? Absolutely nothing.
Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 16/06/2013 15:13:21
Its just the way you swat away the Wexford challenge as if Meath are a step above them RD. Dublin > Kildare > Meath, Louth, Wexford, Westmeath > the rest. That is how I see it.
I never said anything about the Meath half backline so maybe you should get your own facts straight first, I highlighted that the full forward line looked very static apart from Wallace (which it did) and I said that I thought the Meath midfield will struggle against better teams. Of course I know you gave Dublin a good game, a Dublin team that had been poor all season, but my point was that the Meath team went from the high of beating Kildare to the low of losing to an average enough Laois team - pointing out the teams inconsistency.
I think it is an average Meath team with a few very good individuals, its my opinion. Take it or leave it.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 16/06/2013 15:49:46
Your entirely entitled to your opinion and my apologies for writing that you said about meath hb line I was trying to respond to both you and wex poster so I must have got mixed up who said what. My bad. My point re wexford is I do think we will win, the world and there brother expects wexford to win and that suits us just fine. In fairness if meath and dub reach final i think they may just up it another gear. the six day turn around destroyed any chance meath had last year v laois, thats not a excuse, laois were by far the better team that day and deservedly won. However it is not coincidence that only one team ever beat the six day turn around. Im not dismissing wexford. I just feel with Reilly wallace and Newman (who will perform better) and perhaps joe recalled (this type of game is set up for him) that meath will have too much. This game will be a old fashioned shoot out and I just think meath will win that shoot out.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2013 16:12:30
CaisleanCnucha County: Dublin Posts: 336
1407815 Its just the way you swat away the Wexford challenge as if Meath are a step above them RD. Dublin > Kildare > Meath, Louth, Wexford, Westmeath > the rest. That is how I see it.
I never said anything about the Meath half backline so maybe you should get your own facts straight first, I highlighted that the full forward line looked very static apart from Wallace (which it did) and I said that I thought the Meath midfield will struggle against better teams. Of course I know you gave Dublin a good game, a Dublin team that had been poor all season, but my point was that the Meath team went from the high of beating Kildare to the low of losing to an average enough Laois team - pointing out the teams inconsistency.
I think it is an average Meath team with a few very good individuals, its my opinion. Take it or leave it.
Oh dublin were having a poor season? must be having a rough time every time we play yous so because I think Meath always put a good fight up against Dublin for the average team we are with a few good individuals. Excuses Excuses.
Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 16/06/2013 16:34:24
I repeat - Its my opinion. I don't think Dublin played well at all that year, they nearly were relegated from division 1, were lucky against Wexford, failed to kill off Meath, were extremely lucky against Laois and were then rightfully beaten by Mayo. If it is an achievement for Meath to come close to Dublin then what about Wexford? If they were more clinical they would've beaten us last year, a lucky goal helped us in 2011 and we were taken to extra time in 2010. But no, that isn't taken into account. It isn't the 90s anymore lads.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 16/06/2013 16:40:30
CaisleanCnucha County: Dublin Posts: 337
How can you ignore the fact we had a 6 day turnaround after the leinster final? Down is the only team to ever win 6 days after losing their provincial final and that was v Tipp. We had lost our goal for the year which was the Leinster final. We never believed we could with the all-ireland. The Laois loss could be seen a mile away. Look at Laois now, they're not as good as Meath are.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2013 17:06:15
Look, as a Dub I get told my team is over rated pretty often and I take it on the chin. I think most Meath lads on HS over rate this Meath team. It is that simple, like it or lump it I don't rate this team as high as some of you do.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 16/06/2013 17:12:33
Beautiful.Meath County: Meath Posts: 414
1407785 THE_SNAPPER County: Louth Posts: 879
1407498 The saved Wicklow penalty and the fluky Meath goal almost immediately afterwards decided the outcome of tonight's game.
The penalty call was an iffy one for sure but it was given nevertheless therefore the referee should have ordered the kick be retaken. It was clear cut that the Meath keeper was 2 yards off his goal line when the shot was taken. Very hard for anyone to beat a man of O'Rourke's size at the best of times but even more so when your shooting from only 9 mts and strike it poorly.
Referee's don't seem to enforce the rule that states the keeper must stay on his goal line before the ball is struck, they won't allow a kick to be taken until all players have retreated outside off the D yet they allow the keeper to come off his line which is an advantage to the keeper imo and they don't do anything about it.
In my opinion that was a very poorly taken penalty he was nervous time was ticking over and it wouldnt of made a heed of difference if paddy was in the stand behind him. Nit picking is such a huge thing on this forum. Meath are in transition and gaining confidence in their abilities under this new management. Yet we are this division 3 side average as everybody loves to point out. That we may be but one thing about Meath that has never changed over the years even with management coming and going is the ability to perform against the big guns. Inconsistent as this may be it is the truth. I am not writing off wexford and doing what louth done and talking about playing dublin or kildare. Meath need to build on this performance and come out in croke park in 2 weeks time all guns blazing. Seen as we are such an average division 3 side what do we have to loose? Absolutely nothing
If you are going to highlight something I posted then deal with that and just that.
If you want to take someone to task over something they said about Meath being an average division 3 team by all means do so but kindly don't do it to someone who didn't mention division 3 or Meath being average.
Also what's this BS your posting about Louth writing off Wexford and talking about playing Dublin or Kildare ?.
Your bitterness & hatred for Louth is very unhealthy.
THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 16/06/2013 17:14:11
I don't over estimate this Meath team. I think we are the 3rd best team in Leinster. If we beat Wexford I'll change that to the second best team in Leinster. We are an improving team heading in the right direction. Our goal is to win the Leinster title. An all-ireland quarter final would be progress if we don't manage it.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2013 17:31:16
Well played Meath
Terrible conditions
Enjoyed the flukiest goal of all time... :)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/06/2013 17:59:44
Kevin Reilly scored a goal like that against Roscommon in the league when we had the wind in the first half.
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 16/06/2013 18:13:15
There's no stopping this meath team.Dublin might give them a bit of a run but just can't see them lasting full 70 min with them.kerry or Donegal might have a chance if they get them on an off day
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1722 - 16/06/2013 19:05:31