Wicklow v Meath

quare_Ball_15 County: Wicklow Posts: 2314

Jinxie

You are off your game kid .. Not one person for one minute suggested Meath Co Board were trying to get game moved. It was mooted last week RTE and Leinster Council wanted it moved. Stop talking nonsence and get your facts right.Only nonsense been spouted coming from your own Biggy Reilly giving Harry Murphy a perfect motivational speech platform with his " Meath have too much football for Wicklow " hoopla .

As I said to you previously , it will be close . Someone would want to remind "Biggy" Reilly - he was stuck down in Div 3 with us this year - that wasn't by accident ... If Meath had so much superior football ability , I'm pretty sure they would be in Div 1 surely ?

Biggy was absolutely spot on, and no matter what speech is given it won't turn the players into brogans, gooches. Or even biggy himself (5 from play corresponding fixture)
Thought he was actually quite on the mark with his statement. And VAST majority of meath would say so too.
and by this time tomorrow biggys words will be proved correct. IMO.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/06/2013 21:12:58    1407035

Jinxie

I thought you meant on the Main Wicklow Home Page ... If you checked Wicklow Home page , which you do regularly , you would know well that it was never a Meath Co Board issue. WicklowMan is one Wicklow poster - so it was far from a general consensus of Wicklow posters. Your last post suggested that it was "Wicklow men" - I don't see anything on Wicklow page to suggest its plural..

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 21:14:17    1407038

Jinxie

You are off your game kid .. Not one person for one minute suggested Meath Co Board were trying to get game moved. It was mooted last week RTE and Leinster Council wanted it moved. Stop talking nonsence and get your facts right.Only nonsense been spouted coming from your own Biggy Reilly giving Harry Murphy a perfect motivational speech platform with his " Meath have too much football for Wicklow " hoopla .

As I said to you previously , it will be close . Someone would want to remind "Biggy" Reilly - he was stuck down in Div 3 with us this year - that wasn't by accident ... If Meath had so much superior football ability , I'm pretty sure they would be in Div 1 surely ?
14/06/2013 21:02:11

No worse than your own Daragh O'Sullivan saying that he's not too worried about Meath, I don't know what he or Wicklow have done to be so forthright in his views either

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 14/06/2013 21:18:12    1407046

Jinxie ... Seriously mate , you need to get a grip ... To suggest anyone " insinuated" Meath Co Board tried to get game moved is just false and misleading ( again ) . Stop stirring.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 21:19:23    1407047

I'm happy enough that Biggy's comment is all there is to talk about. For the first time in years there are no sideshows in the lead up to championship, no fighting within CB, no disputes between players and management, management and county board, players themselves, no selectors walking away, no players walking away. The county seems behind the management team. Jaysus it's too good to be true.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 14/06/2013 21:22:36    1407050

Actually yeah osullivan said nearly same thing.
Don't think anyone in meath took it to heart, like the way wicklow did about Graham's comments. So chill, let's see which one is proved correct, but darragh is entitled to his opinion, same as Graham.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/06/2013 21:25:09    1407053

Squareball

according to that Wicklow poster, it was on the lips of plenty if people.

u seem to only accept stories if they are running down Meath and bigging up Wicklow. I notice you didn't corref2f that Wicklow poster if you disagree. That says it all.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/06/2013 21:27:24    1407055

Richieq

Daragh O Sullivan saying he isn't worried about Meath and is concentrating on what Wicklow can do a little different to Biggy Reilly saying " Meath have too much football for Wicklow "

O' Sullivan = standard normal media platitude " we will concentrate on ourselves blah de blah "

O' Reilly = Cocky and arrogant sounding suggesting one Div 3 team somehow vastly superior to another ..

O'Reilly could of course be right - we'll see .., maybe he now needs to do his talking on the pitch tomorrow. If Meath win well and Reilly scores 1-5 or 1-6 , we will shake his hand.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 21:28:04    1407057

could be an upset here if Wicklow don't knuckle down....any underperformance display from wicklow could open the door for meath in this one......

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 14/06/2013 21:42:15    1407065

Jinxie

No one running down Meath in Wicklow ! - what are you reading?. For the 100th time , vast majority of Meath supporters expecting a big comfortable win. Reilly claiming Meath have too much football for us poor Wicklow men. Who is running who down do you think?. How many Meath posters agreeing with Reilly and expecting a comfortable win?

With most Meath supporters and Meath players put in front of media expecting a walk in the park - we are glad sur to have it in Aughrim so we can keep the score down! ..

Tell you what - have a look at what Paudie Kissane said about Clare - a man with a bit of class and respect for the opposition. Learn the art of humility perhaps? .

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 21:50:36    1407073

Squareball

arts you spinning the facts sideways again.

LIke earlier in the week when you tried to make out Meaths 3 loses in EIGHT games were little different to Wicklow 5 loses in SEVEN.
Now we are both div 3 teams. Ignoring that Meath have been promoted to div 2 while Wicklow to div 4.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/06/2013 21:57:17    1407080

Jinxe

Nothing whatsoever to do with " spinning facts sideways" .. Facts are facts! .. My point if you read it the way it's meant was that - Meath although they finished league strongly , weren't exactly stellar - loosing 3 matches from 8 in Div 3 isn't exactly awe inspirining - its not exactly where the summit of Meaths ambitioms would be im sure - a proud county used to winning All Irelands?.We were very poor during league and having essentially a second string forward lime for the first 5 games ensured that.i can guarantee you if we had Seanie Furlong , JP Dalton , Joey Kelly and John McGrath much les Leighton Glynn available for all Div 3 this year - we would have been closer to top of the table I.M.O .

Meath got promoted without being emphatic , we got deservedly relegated

Lets look at facts a different way shall we?

- 12 months ago , Longford won Div 3 and were 8 wins from 8 games( way more impressive in their Div 3 campaign than Meath ). 2 weeks ago we beat that same side .

My pont again being - bar top 6 sides in the country playing Div 1 - league form is thus far for the rest not an indicator of Cship form. But , we are happy to be no hopers tonight and for media pundits , Meath supporters and even Meath players possibly mis read the situation.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 15/06/2013 09:24:29    1407100

Square_Ball_15
County: Wicklow

Keep her spinning boy.
Meath were promoted winning 5 from 7. He were relegated with 0 wins.
And as for you missing the few lads.
Sure what if We had Burke, orourke, Kenny and Carroll We may have won all 7 but ur dismissing that.

And sure the Wicklow players have nothing to worry about with Meath it seems so you lads keep it that way.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 15/06/2013 13:04:38    1407193

Best of luck to wicklow

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 15/06/2013 13:21:59    1407203

Go n-eiri leat Cill Mhantain,

anpleota (Wicklow) - Posts: 204 - 15/06/2013 13:35:03    1407207

I think from your comments last night on Meath page which were disparaging to say the least - the man spinning is yourself Jinxie - would you agree?. You seem to talk out of both sides of your mouth? . Retreating to the Meath page to express your true feelings maybe?

Sure - if Meath had a full compliment , maybe they would have won all 7 , had we our full compliment , maybe we would have been pushing for promotion. Meath hasn't to contend with missing 5 of their first choice forwards ', we did - I think we were at the greater disadvantage and significantly I.M.O. ( take Newman , Bray , Reilly out of Meath team in league - would you have won 5 out of 7 ? - that's what we had to face with our losses ) However - you are missing my point again completely - which is:

1) League form outside of Top 6 teams in country doesn't appear to be transferring to Cship thus far. So Div 3 league table maybe needs to be taken with a pinch of salt + confident talk of an easy win for Meath in nearly all quarters maybe fools folly. We will know in a few hours.

That's all I'm saying - Meath have a swagger and confidence about tonight that I think is over cooked. If ye win by 6-12 as seems to be consensus , then it will be expected I guess , so you can't even take pleasure or get kudos for a big win. damned if you do , damned if you don't such is the expectation.

No pressure.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 15/06/2013 14:05:22    1407224

Wicklow by 2points...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 15/06/2013 14:19:42    1407233

Square_Ball

This is championship football, every team in the land is under pressure and if they're not then they should be otherwise their ambitions are very low.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2013 14:20:39    1407234

I agree HTAEM

Talking needs to happen on the pitch .. Look at Paudie Kissane interview or any Cork players interview for Clare game , humble , under stated - no one predicting how much they will win by etc - just looking and focusing on Clare. If Meath have ambitions of big things this year - might be an idea to learn from a county who will genuinely be in last 4 ( but aren't crowing about it ) - keep it quiet , keep focused . Meath too Jeckyl and Hyde for me in recent years to be walking with any swagger at the moment. Maybe O'Dowd has fixed that . I'd be really surprised if Biggy Reilly ends of MOM , he will get a welcome or two early tonight.

We on the other hand - mostly seen as no hopers , back to Div 4 .... Lots of reading between the lines to be done , if anyone cared to ... Sur we'll enjoy tonight anyway and see what happens.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 15/06/2013 14:37:36    1407246

Hopefully Wicklow, Meath might just shared it though...

Dubs4Good (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 15/06/2013 14:48:22    1407251