Wicklow v Meath

Well lads I think if you check closely it was NOT me who said Welcome to Hell!!

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 27/05/2013 19:15:56    1392925

Jack_Goff

What is the Capacity of Aughrim? I'd wonder if it can hold enough?

Ah look the Meath Boys already trying to shift the game out of Aughrim. We hadn't even left the ground yesterday and everyone said Meath will move Hell and high water to get the game out of Aughrim, on capacity grounds.

I'd say the Meath County Board is way ahead of us on this. Wikipedia says Aughrim can hold 10,000.

It is without doubt the undisputed WORST County Grounds in the country.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 27/05/2013 19:19:46    1392930

I'd dispute that. Have you been to Drogheda?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 27/05/2013 20:12:10    1393000

Wicklowman
County: Wicklow

1392930 Jack_Goff

I hate to admit it, but in terms of infrastructure and amenities, Aughrim is far in front of St Conleths.

Aughrim has a great scenic landscape, and the surrounding mountains create the fortress like atmosphere in the ground.

Meath will know they have a battle on their hands in Aughrim.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 27/05/2013 20:19:59    1393014

I have been to both Drogheda and Newbridge and indeed they are terrible. But you can't beat the 'Shed' for a stand in Aughrim. A disadvantaged farmer would have a better shed. Correct me if I'm wrong but Newbridge has a real stand. Cant remember Drogheda that well. I'm sure it has stand though. Aughrim is very picturesque I'll admit.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 27/05/2013 21:02:44    1393067

That would depend on what your definition of "a stand" is!

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 27/05/2013 21:07:22    1393074

When it sold out v Armagh how many tickets were sold? I don't care where it's held just wondering.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 27/05/2013 21:08:38    1393077

Jack Goff Found this...

Round 2 Replay 16 July 2011 Wicklow 0-10 2-9 Armagh O'Byrne Park,Aughrim
WICKLOW T Hannon 0-3 (0-2f, 0-1 '45'), P Earls, L Glynn, S Furlong (0-1f) 0-2 each, A O'Malley 0-1. ARMAGH J Clarke 2-2, M O'Rourke, S McDonnell (0-1f) 0-2 each, P Duffy, A Kernan (0-1f), G McParland 0-1 each
Referee: R Hickey (Clare)Attendance: 6,500

Says 6,500 Would reckon that figure would not include OAPS, Students, children and the abundance of Wicklow County Board Officials, friends, family, next door neighbours, girlfriends, ex girlfriends etc who are let through the gate.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 27/05/2013 21:31:45    1393112

Finally less than a week to go

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2013 19:17:11    1402470

While i have enjoyed all the action so far, it has been a bit like sitting in the hospital waiting on herself to go into labor while everyone else is in and out in minutes.
finaly the wait is nearly over. The wait this year was way too long. Bring it on. Championship nothing better. The battle of aughrim is just around the corner and tickets nearly sold out.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2013 19:48:58    1402510

Make the most of it Royaldunne!!

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 09/06/2013 19:51:08    1402516

24 hours to go. Really looking forward to this. Great to get championship started again. Match sold out so should be good atmosphere, meath by 5 hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/06/2013 19:10:37    1406932

Wicklow to beat a very average Meath side.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 14/06/2013 19:28:55    1406953

Have to fancy Meath for this one, should be close enough though!

Dubs4Good (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 14/06/2013 19:48:42    1406969

Heart says Wicklow, Head says Meath.

Meath by 10+

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 14/06/2013 20:07:06    1406977

Looking forward to tomorrow evening and think we should pull through.

disappointed to see some of the nonsense the Wicklow fans have been at in the build up to the game tho both here and on the Wicklow page. Claiming that Meath were trying to move the game and wouldn't travel to Aughrim and so on when there wasn't a word about it. Not sure what they were trying to achieve but it certainly was bad form.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/06/2013 20:30:59    1406994

Jinxie

You are off your game kid .. Not one person for one minute suggested Meath Co Board were trying to get game moved. It was mooted last week RTE and Leinster Council wanted it moved. Stop talking nonsence and get your facts right.Only nonsense been spouted coming from your own Biggy Reilly giving Harry Murphy a perfect motivational speech platform with his " Meath have too much football for Wicklow " hoopla .

As I said to you previously , it will be close . Someone would want to remind "Biggy" Reilly - he was stuck down in Div 3 with us this year - that wasn't by accident ... If Meath had so much superior football ability , I'm pretty sure they would be in Div 1 surely ?

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 20:57:47    1407020

Re: attendance for Aughrim tomorrow.

7,000 for tomorrow night. Attendance for Armagh game was slightly less for sure - it wasn't packed out.Only 4,000 allowed into Drogheda for Wexford v Louth and it didn't stop Wexford getting a win.

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 14/06/2013 21:02:11    1407024

Squareball

I suppose this wasn't posted either?

27/05/2013 19:19:46
Wicklowman
County: Wicklow

Jack_Goff

What is the Capacity of Aughrim? I'd wonder if it can hold enough?

Ah look the Meath Boys already trying to shift the game out of Aughrim. We hadn't even left the ground yesterday and everyone said Meath will move Hell and high water to get the game out of Aughrim, on capacity grounds.

I'd say the Meath County Board is way ahead of us on this. Wikipedia says Aughrim can hold 10,000.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/06/2013 21:04:41    1407025

Squareball

errs just one if them. Ye also spent the whole week on the Wicklow page insinuating the same.
The week before the Wicklow fans spent the week running down the Meath support.

tried the same tactic last year, what do ye think it will achieve?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/06/2013 21:07:50    1407028