Well done to the Donegal fans

Exactly Muckross. Nothing is more annoying than that lazy, idiotic text speak. if posters cannot be bothered to communicate properly then don't bother at all.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3024 - 27/05/2013 10:35:00    1392212

I was at the game which probablty gives me an advantage over most here and I can tell you that there was a great atmosphere with slagging
Songs about relegation, being champions & the size of Morgan's nose. But for the first timwe in over 40 years of going to championship gaes I can truthfully say there wasn't an ugly or hateful comment passed, not where I was anyway. Now I can't speak for the rest of the ground but it was great where I was.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2013 10:39:15    1392218

It's a young-lad thing. It's what passes for hilarious witty banter nowadays, apparently.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1065 - 27/05/2013 10:55:37    1392233

MuckrossHead

1392218 I was at the game which probablty gives me an advantage over most here and I can tell you that there was a great atmosphere with slagging
Songs about relegation, being champions & the size of Morgan's nose. But for the first timwe in over 40 years of going to championship gaes I can truthfully say there wasn't an ugly or hateful comment passed, not where I was anyway. Now I can't speak for the rest of the ground but it was great where I was.

Basically contradicts your whole post

robopaddy (Waterford) - Posts: 81 - 27/05/2013 11:02:11    1392240

MuckrossHead

If you keep this text talk rubbish up you are going to annoy a lot of people very quickly. Catch a grip sonny!!

I profoundly resent your condescending remarks which I find ageist and somewhat patronising.
Your use of colloquial terms of reproach could conceivably be viewed as an equal or indeed greater misuse of language.
I would prevail on you to address the substantive issues raised in my previous communication and to refrain from personal invective.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 979 - 27/05/2013 11:07:39    1392248

ha! ha ! Jimbo I'll bet you're sorry you ever started this. I think you need a different audience. :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 27/05/2013 11:10:10    1392250

Westfester
County: Limerick

MuckrossHead

If you keep this text talk rubbish up you are going to annoy a lot of people very quickly. Catch a grip sonny!!

I profoundly resent your condescending remarks which I find ageist and somewhat patronising.
Your use of colloquial terms of reproach could conceivably be viewed as an equal or indeed greater misuse of language.
I would prevail on you to address the substantive issues raised in my previous communication and to refrain from personal invective.

Good man Westfester. See you can do it if you really want to. All you needed was to be shown the error of your ways & you have responded in a way that makes me proud. If only I could get my own to do the same!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2013 11:17:45    1392262

robopaddy
County: Waterford

MuckrossHead

1392218 I was at the game which probablty gives me an advantage over most here and I can tell you that there was a great atmosphere with slagging

Basically contradicts your whole post

Robo,
There is a big difference between banter & hateful abusive bile. As the old song goes "It's not what you do it's the way that you do it"

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2013 11:20:13    1392264

Tks

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 979 - 27/05/2013 11:21:31    1392268

With all the booing / jeering / celebrating wides/ show boating and antagonising antics in full swing up in Donegal on Sunday…

It's made me realise just how much I missed standing on the Hill during the championship....

But here... it's time to up our game Dublin lads... I mean this is our tradition here...

The culchies are starting to show us up... the time to act is now!

We are Dublin fans

Believe.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/05/2013 14:44:36    1392567

Wonder could I get a franchise for Royal Dutch outside Clones ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 27/05/2013 15:19:05    1392639

With all the booing / jeering / celebrating wides/ show boating and antagonising antics in full swing up in Donegal on Sunday…

It's made me realise just how much I missed standing on the Hill during the championship....

But here... it's time to up our game Dublin lads... I mean this is our tradition here...

The culchies are starting to show us up... the time to act is now!

We are Dublin fans

Jimbo,
It's not much good playing great football & winning games at a canter if you can't rub the oppositions nose in it.
In this respect us culchies have to bow the knee to our city brethern but in this, as in all other things, us Donegal folk will not be found wanting when push comes to shove as I'm sure it will sometime this summer!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2013 18:23:11    1392878

Yesterday I predicted this thread would be set up just like a London Split Up Thread would be too. Dublin posters are just too predictable on this site and you can tell the justified threads on their fans in the past hurt them. The difference IMO is that Donegal fans who boo are generally nicer people than the dubs who boo and shout abuse. I'm sure anyone at that match will tell you it was banter between the fans and Morgan who started it all off. However the Dubs on hill 16 will boo, roar abuse and wave their arms at any free taker playing for any team for no reason other that to be unsporting.

Big difference folks.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 27/05/2013 18:41:10    1392887

Jack Goff

Brilliant.

Booing isn't bad.

Unless done by the dastardly Dubs of course!

Na fíor-Ghaeil are all about the banter!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 27/05/2013 18:52:27    1392905

Ruanua..
Love your reply to HokeyPokey, bloody love it..

"Anyway, you don't win anything in May!
------
You forgot the "o" at the end of the last word"

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 27/05/2013 19:25:42    1392939

Do the Dubs boo themselves? I think they booed off their own team in the last few years, it was v kerry in the all ireland quarter finals v kerry if my memory serves me correctly. I could b wrong..

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 27/05/2013 20:01:32    1392981

Think people need to dry their eyes about the craic at the game yesterday. The jeering was just a bit of banter and I have to say it added to the occasion and made for a great atmosphere. Niall Morgan was the man at the centre of a lot of it. After his escapades in omagh earlier in the year and his celebration of scoring a point, of course the Donegal fans were going to throw it back in his face when things went wrong for him and he let goals in and missed his frees. The Tyrone fans were jeering about us being relegated, I'd take no offence to that or get annoyed by it, it's all a bit of fun. As was the Champione cheering towards the end, after all we are exactly that- ulster & all ireland champions. I have to say I think it made the atmospehere a lot better and made for a good day out (of ourse the result helped too!!!!).

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 27/05/2013 20:03:36    1392984

The difference being the Donegal fans had a reason to boo. 99% of the time the Dubs don't. Keep trying to sugar coat it...

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 27/05/2013 21:07:06    1393072

I agree that the chanting by certain Donegal fans in Ballybofey on Sunday was excessive, however from where I was standing It was certainly brought on by the Tyrone support themselves. A crowd of 15-20 Tyrone fans behind the goal on the town end were chanting ''D-D-D-D DIVISION 2'' for a good part of the first half.

JD101 (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 28/05/2013 11:33:34    1393344

Jack_Goff

The difference being the Donegal fans had a reason to boo. 99% of the time the Dubs don't. Keep trying to sugar coat it...

Culchies booing = good time banter

Dubs booing = disgraceful

Keep trying to sugar coat your hypocrisy all you want.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 28/05/2013 11:53:57    1393372