The Sunday Game coverage 2013

Rte's coverage in terms of content and quantity is extremely poor. Those footballers and supporters from Longford and Wicklow etc deserve much better than 5 min on the Sunday Game. Club Rugby got more coverage from their hour long Monday Prog than those intercounty championship teams. And as for RTE's GAA equivalent 30 min on Thurs with bottom of the barrel production values fronted by the bould Marty M the less said the better. Last summer it was shunted to 12:30am which is another indication of the respect RTE has for GAA followers.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 27/05/2013 13:46:22    1392474

The Sunday Game was entertaining to say the least last night. Eamon O'Hara obviously fancies himself as the Gary Neville of Gaa with the 'telling it like it is' style and trying to shout over Spillane to talk about the modern era. Can't say I disagreed with Spillane too much however, I thought Ciaran Whelan wincing at his carpet rant was like a child embarrassed at his drunken uncle. His references to sweat shops and bra's probably shows he's been writing for the Sunday world for too long.

Also this whole smoke-blowing 'bad suits and ties' thing is doing my head in. Donal Og Cusacks introduction last night seemed like more of a jibe at Donals affairs rather than an excuse to remind everyone how great they all look.. Then to a full 8 people in some bunker in London staring into a laptop waiting for Des to end his patronising so they can get away and celebrate. Des's reactions on tv are very awkward, for example when they showed the gooch interview by mistake he could have made a joke or something rather than looking mortified..and when O'Hara was pouring his heart out his face seemed to drop.

Regarding time-slots I suppose similar to Match of the Day, I think any time any one of the 'big six' is in action they'll be featured first. I don't think the fact that Kerry match had been had been live earlier in the day should be a factor..anyone who watched the Kerry game on tv and giving out that 'their game' weren't featured that night, should have just went to the game in the first place!

headband (Louth) - Posts: 10 - 27/05/2013 14:19:42    1392527

Headband I did go to the game in the first place. Delighted with a rare Wicklow championship win. Thought your county and my county deserved more than a combined total of 8 minutes coverage.

Instead they decided to re-hash the already shown duck-shoot for Kerry v Tipperary. And another duck-shoot for Cork v Limerick. Diabolical coverage. As I said the ''coverage'' of our game v Longford looked as if it had been filmed on an iphone... If the ball went 10 feet in the air it disappeared.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1161 - 27/05/2013 14:44:17    1392565

yes. i have to agree the coverage of the games is poor. they should show far more of the games that are not shown live earlier on. the panel should forget about themselves being the stars. they are NOT. The players are the stars. Des does look awkward especially at the end of his speech when a film clip is about to start he stares uncomfortably in to the camera. He is long enough at it now to master this. I wish there was an alternative with a completely different style.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 27/05/2013 14:54:13    1392589

Headband I did go to the game in the first place. Delighted with a rare Wicklow championship win. Thought your county and my county deserved more than a combined total of 8 minutes coverage

I'd agree with that ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 27/05/2013 14:57:27    1392600

Live games on the afternoon show (in early Summer anyhow when there are lots of games clashing) should get far less coverage on The Sunday Game evening show than the other games scheduled for the weekend. Showing more game time of the Kerry walkover and taking from the tight games in Aughrim and London as well as the surprisingly one sided affair in Portlaoise confirms that the guys who plan The SG really are clueless.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1996 - 27/05/2013 15:07:58    1392622

I agree that the quality of coverage of the louth/wicklow games were very poor. Obviously Rte have only a couple of decent camera vans and need to do a bit of rationing. However I'm not sure any county 'deserves' anything from the Sunday Game in the same way as I don't think Paul Grimley or Kevin Walsh 'deserve' the abuse they get for running an amateur team.

It's just a TV show that pays people wages to make these type of decisions. I'm sure they guy in charge done some numbers in his (or her) head and figured out that more people like to watch gooch and paul galvin than people who want to watch 'a great day out for x county'.

Like you wicklowman I went to the game yesterday, but to be honest so I wasn't really bothered that I didn't get to see every free kick go over the bar or listen to them talk about paddy keenan because that's the only player that they know.

headband (Louth) - Posts: 10 - 27/05/2013 15:17:44    1392635

Technically the coverage is also bad. They went live to Ger Canning yesterday and switched to a view of the pitch but nothing happened. Ger must have nipped out to the loo. The interview mix up with McBrearty and Cooper was gas though!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 27/05/2013 18:42:52    1392890

Like you wicklowman I went to the game yesterday, but to be honest so I wasn't really bothered that I didn't get to see every free kick go over the bar or listen to them talk about paddy keenan because that's the only player that they know.

Well said Headband .... Wicklow having Leighton Glynn out for the year has really bambozzled the RTE Panel.... With Mick O'Dwyer gone they have trouble knowing that we have a team or indeed a manager!!

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1161 - 27/05/2013 19:07:53    1392916

Very true, I can't wait until next week when its dessie dolan v the dubs and a montage of seamus darby scoring 30 years ago to build up the offaly match! The way the draw has turned out all 'analysis' louth get from now until the end of the championship will point to leinster final redemption which is gone beyond boring. Any louth fan thats been to even one league game is likely to offer more interesting topics. I'd rather listen to them rather than analysts who happened to notice from the three minute highlights that the guy who scored 8 points 'pulled the strings' and presuming the other team were 'bad' and had an off day.

headband (Louth) - Posts: 10 - 27/05/2013 21:43:53    1393135

Icehonesty,youve contradicted yourself.You say you want to see tight competitive games but then say you don't want to see Connacht championship games? The Connacht championship,even taking into account last weeks game in pearse stadium, over the last 5 or 6 years has been by far the most competitive and has had a load of tight games.
Its just that Mayo are the only team who do well outside the province.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/05/2013 09:14:43    1393200

Well done again RTE in showing a good 10 min piece on a fantastic match between Meath and Down hurlers, brilliant

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 28/05/2013 09:29:05    1393214

Have to say, hats off to O'Rourke for pointing out brolly's total about face as regards donegal and negative tactics. Although I have to ask why didnt he say it when it mattered? Anyway, I have noticed over the last few broadcasts that o'rourke seems annoyed with brolly, and looks intent on taking him to task over the coming year. It is about time thsy stopped letting him walk all over them, lets hope for the sake of the show he continues to do so, starting with pointing out how brolly is McGuinness' pr guru and is basically in the donegal backroom staff.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/05/2013 10:06:53    1393236

O rourke is definitely out to get Brolly this year.No harm either,Michael Lyster would ask Joe a question about Kerry,Brolly will pause for a moment,examine his fingernails (he's cool as a breeze you see) talk slowly and calmly for about a minute about Kerry and then switch over to talking about Donegal (Id say the Donegal boys are laughing at him at this stage).
Spillane,Brolly and o rourke come straight out of a sitcom.Its funny seeing them go at one another.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/05/2013 10:26:42    1393258

Someone spoke about the neutrals wanting to see the big teams. I couldn't disagree more. I'm from Wexford. I wanted to see the Donegal-Tyrone game which I watched live. I also wanted to see the Sligo-London, Wicklow-Longford and Laois-Louth games. they were always going to be tight, tough good games.

I had absolutely zero interest in watching the Cork-Limerick game or the Kerry-Tipp game. There was a very remote chance they'd be even close. I don't want to pay to see a one-sided game and I don't want to waste my time watching one on tv.

The only neutrals who want to see a team being totally demolished are the neutrals ho know nothing about gaelic football or hurling. But who know a few players names so they can talk rubbish in the pub about "The Gooch playing great last weekend".

Talking about the big teams. The big teams will be on the telly plenty as they will be in the televised quarter finals and semi finals over the summer. Show some of the counties who are unlikely to win it out in the early rounds. I think last weekend was the first time I'd seen a live Cavan game in ages. I haven't seen a live Carlow or London or Antrim game in ages. And the only time we see Waterford, Tipp, Clare and so forth is when they're taking a hammering. It's not good enough.

Also to carry on a point someone else made about the lack of analysis, even the Kerry-Tipp game Barry Grogan was sent off very harshly (he didn't commit the second foul in my opinion) and it wasn't mentioned that evening.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 28/05/2013 12:38:59    1393434

Ice Honesty, Barry Groggan could have walked for a number of yellow card offences.
If you only watched the highlights you would not have seen the other instances.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/05/2013 12:54:11    1393452

I only watched the highlights. On the evidence of the highlights he shouldn't have gone, the second yellow was incorrect. If the referee made mistakes and should have sent him off for something else, fair enough.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 28/05/2013 14:41:45    1393591

Three minutes match report on the Louth Laois games. Tg4 gave us ten minutes with team sheets, a match commentator and post match interview and that was for a second division league game.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 28/05/2013 16:59:04    1393763

Spalline = embarrassing

O'Rourke = outdated and cliched

O'Hara = so far so bad

Brolly = intelligent, entertaining, irritating and in love with Jim McGuinness

Whelan = not being biased but by far the best pundit on that rubbish show!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 28/05/2013 17:06:14    1393777

realdub

Spalline = embarrassing

O'Rourke = outdated and cliched

O'Hara = so far so bad

Brolly = intelligent, entertaining, irritating and in love with Jim McGuinness

Whelan = not being biased but by far the best pundit on that rubbish show!

You're being very biased, Whelan doesn't offer a whole pile, just acts like a giddy school kid. Also who's Spalline?

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 28/05/2013 17:17:08    1393788