The Sunday Game coverage 2013

Agree with Kiloughter re his point about Brolly's theatrics last Sunday stating Galway "had no interest in football". Well for his knowledge, we are the only team West of the Shannon that have won 2 senior intercounty AI's, 4 intercounty U21 AI's, 1 intercounty minor AI and 3 senior club AI titles in the last 15 years (not to mention intermediate and junior club AI's also) and that is right up there (and even better) than most of the top counties. Brolly has a chip on both shoulders since Galway knocked out his beloved Derry in 98 and 01 in the AI Semifinal when Derry were favourites. O'Rourke is definitley the most objective of the commentators and I have a lot of time for him. Spillane is the comedian of the trio and can swing many ways! I would agree with TheMaster from Mayo saying that "football has moved on" and ultra cynical gym monkeys that can play a bit of football now seem to win most intercounty matches. This contrasts with the pleasure of watching clean, free-flowing, entertaining football like the Galway U21's palyed this year when winning their AI.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 23/05/2013 08:43:45    1389447

tommy k
I would agree with TheMaster from Mayo saying that "football has moved on" and ultra cynical gym monkeys that can play a bit of football now seem to win most intercounty matches. This contrasts with the pleasure of watching clean, free-flowing, entertaining football like the Galway U21's palyed this year when winning their AI.

This is the reason why galway is the way it is. I suppose mayo totally out-thinking, out-fighting and out-classing galway in every line of the pitch is down to gym monkeys who dont know anything about real football. You do realise that mayo went man-for-man with 6 forwards and 2 old-style midfielders dont you? You do realise that it was mayo who played the only free-flowing and entertaining football in the match and they had something like 11 different scorers? I will tell you now, if you put all your lads into the gym for a year, (as if they are not in their anyway) they would still have been beaten comfortably on sunday. You lads are fooling yourselves if you actually believe what you have just said. Maybe it makes it easier to sleep at night or something, but the longer you persist with it the more hidings in salthill you will be getting.

Also, this talk about the galway u21s is just nonsense. Their half forwards were regularly chasing back into their half-back line in the final. You are kidding yourself man.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/05/2013 10:03:47    1389476

And adding to Tommy K's post Brolly was way over the top in his criticism of Mayo last season. Coincidental or what that the teams he really has a go at are from the same province. His bias towards certain teams on one hand and criticism of others on the other is shocking. It nearly broke him to afford Mayo any credit last Sunday when i watched the recording. To my mind he engages in selective punditry that is not balanced.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1996 - 23/05/2013 10:10:40    1389484

Entertaining is one way to describe the Sunday Game. Cringeworthy is another.

Last Sunday's analysis reflected poorly on RTE and indeed on Brolly and Spillane. Both men are damaging the great legacies they created on the field of play.

Brolly slouched in his chair interrupting everyone at any opportunity was more like the kind of analysis you'd expect in the pub after the game.

He also dosen't make sense on The Sunday Game. I read his articles in the Daily Mail and they are always a good read but when O'Rourke and Spillane are put beside him, siege mentality sets in and he takes everything to the extreme.

Spillane is worse. His analysis typically consists of quoting how many forwards scored from play and how many goals such a team conceded in the league. When he's not listing stats, he's giving out about the standard of kicking and shooting and this and that.

Spillane and Bolly are definitely in need of replacing.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 23/05/2013 18:58:38    1390030

Spillane,behind all the silliness, actually talks more sense than Brolly,but I agree that the show could do with freshening up and id get rid of the two of them..I like Ciaran Whelan and I was impressed with Eamonn o Hara but he fell into the cliché trap last week when he said that Donegal like every team needed a bit of luck to win the all Ireland.Donegal didn't need any luck last year.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/05/2013 16:52:22    1391094

joncarter

Spillane,behind all the silliness, actually talks more sense than Brolly,but I agree that the show could do with freshening up and id get rid of the two of them..I like Ciaran Whelan and I was impressed with Eamonn o Hara but he fell into the cliché trap last week when he said that Donegal like every team needed a bit of luck to win the all Ireland.Donegal didn't need any luck last year.

Com McFaddens goal vs Kerry
Colm McFaddens goal vs Mayo

Donegal throughly deserved their all ireland win and were the best team in Ireland last year but both of these goals were fortunate and were key to Donegal winning the All Ireland.Every team who wins an all ireland gets some bit of luck during the year.Donegal may not have quite the desire this year and therefore the little bits of luck they created for themselves last year may not happen this year

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 25/05/2013 17:34:27    1391124

Uibh Fhaili,there was an element of luck with those two particular goals,but Donegal were by far the better team against both Kerry and Mayo last year. No one can say that Donegal were lucky to beat them last year.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/05/2013 17:47:21    1391126

I'd say anybody from RTE looking at the 6 pages on this thread for the first programme will reckon they have the chemistry spot on!

Bignumbernine (Westmeath) - Posts: 102 - 25/05/2013 18:57:02    1391168

This is the reason why galway is the way it is. I suppose mayo totally out-thinking, out-fighting and out-classing galway in every line of the pitch is down to gym monkeys who dont know anything about real football. You do realise that mayo went man-for-man with 6 forwards and 2 old-style midfielders dont you? You do realise that it was mayo who played the only free-flowing and entertaining football in the match and they had something like 11 different scorers? I will tell you now, if you put all your lads into the gym for a year, (as if they are not in their anyway) they would still have been beaten comfortably on sunday. You lads are fooling yourselves if you actually believe what you have just said. Maybe it makes it easier to sleep at night or something, but the longer you persist with it the more hidings in salthill you will be getting.

Also, this talk about the galway u21s is just nonsense. Their half forwards were regularly chasing back into their half-back line in the final. You are kidding yourself man.

Welcome to Kilkenny's world. If you're better than the opposition, its not because you're better or more skillful, it's because you're more physical/dirty/filthy/thuggish/gym-monkey-like and the poor-referees/blind-umpires/cynicism-in-the-game is so prevalent your side has no chance.

Don't mind the begrudgers, it just means you're to be reckoned with. Don't forget, no-one does begrudgery to success or quality like the Irish.

dblackandamber (Kilkenny) - Posts: 92 - 25/05/2013 19:11:22    1391174

Good point.with regard to the viewership side of it,style beats substance all ends up.We all complain about Joe,but well be tuning into him on sunday.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/05/2013 19:16:37    1391177

Bignumbernine
County: Westmeath

And I'd say for the very same reason the GAA are very unhappy with it and it is after all they who are the only ones that matter. I can guarantee you this format is already under review and heading for the bin, has been for years.

If I am watching the Sunday game, I do not turn on the analysis I just can't stomach the panel, and that is just looking at them, listening to them is a far worse experience. Shocking program.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 25/05/2013 20:11:55    1391200

arock not so sure of that just see that sun game live was second most viewed programme last week after record breaking numbers for the awful Eurovision.Bit like the 3 soccer lads you love them of hate them.

Bignumbernine (Westmeath) - Posts: 102 - 25/05/2013 20:52:34    1391226

I like the Sunday Game show as it is. I enjoy the controversial comments of Spillane and Brolley, not to mention the more balanced opinion's of Colm O'Rourke, Martin McHugh, Kevin McStay and Ciaran Whelan etc.

I would however like to see a segment were a manager or player can address criticism made by panelists the previous week ( Only if a manager or player wished to address them ).
For example Paul Grimley could this week address Joe Brolley on his comments a week ago. I reckon the ratings would go through the roof for this type of scenario. Likewise the list of people lining up to address Joe Brolley would probably mean he would have his own question & answer programme.

While Joe Brolley has a superb ability to drive fans of many counties mad with his remarks, he does often speak the truth. His Intended point is often correct, but its the manner in which he delivers his criticism that often offends fans, players and management.
Pat Spillane on the other hand try's to be objective, but often reverts to comments about "How the game should be played" which also then normally references the great Kerry teams of the past.

As for Kilkenny, I don't think too many people could argue against Kilkenny being the best team of the past 15 years. And when i say the best, I also mean the most talented team, with clearly the most talented players.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 25/05/2013 21:11:50    1391248

We, Carlow played 2 championship games last weekend and got around 5 minutes max air time. They then spent ten minutes previewing next week's game!!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2654 - 25/05/2013 21:26:34    1391259

Bignumbernine
County: Westmeath

The GAA are very conscious this is an amateur sport, its not the champions league or the premiership, it cannot and will not be treated the same. The GAA are also very beholding to its members, not RTE viewers, some maybe the same thing, bt first and foremost the only people that matter are its members. If RTE keep alienating the GAA players/mentors with their poor presentation of the sports and attacking in this way these amateurs there will be hell to pay.

People are confusing RTE ratings and popularity with the requirements of the GAA. Players and managers are making huge sacrifices so for double jobbing blowhards to rubbish these people is an absolute disgrace. If you thing RTE' coverage is not under scrutiny you are seriously mistaken, someone is itching to ditch them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 25/05/2013 22:00:28    1391285

I enjoy the Sunday Game and it's panel but no matter what Brolly, O'Rourke etc say I think we are all able to see that Armagh and Galway were very poor last week.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 26/05/2013 09:19:46    1391296

Am I the only person in ireland who is getting is being infuriated by RTE's insistence of showing countless replays of scores and other incidents and therefore missing loads of live play.At least half the kickouts in todays match have been missed and this is not a one off it is happening every match they show.,Do they not realise that play start almost immediately after a score.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 26/05/2013 16:47:39    1391546

It'll be interesting to see if they give proper highlights of the Laois v Louth game, the Wicklow v Longford game which sounded like a cracker, and the huge game between London and Sligo.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 26/05/2013 20:49:59    1391941

Eamonn O'Hara didnt hold back on his views of Kevin Walsh

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 26/05/2013 21:45:29    1392062

Wow that was something else the look on the lads faces !

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/05/2013 21:48:33    1392066