The Sunday Game coverage 2013

Can't stand RTE's presentation, absolute rubbish, the sooner its gone from RTE the better. They are hard to take at this stage lets be honest only interested in thei own opinions - thats all they are opinions, little of substance.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 20/05/2013 16:02:11    1387488

Any man that calls Colm Cooper a "loser" obviously has issues and deep hatred/jealousy. I didn't hear him slate Jamie Clarke though yesterday. Jamie Clarke is an awesome player but he had a piss poor game yesterday, yet Brolly didn't want to highlight this, instead choosing to unfairly lambast Grimley.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/05/2013 16:24:47    1387512

I have to admit I do enjoy listening to Brolly, O'Rourke and Spillane. They offer the same entertainment value as their soccer equivalent of Dunphy, Giles and Brady do. Typical RTE leniency allows them to say things BBC would never even dream of broadcasting on their own sports coverage which is why its always worth looking at. I will admit though that Spillane especially is tactically and analytically inept and O'Rourke to some extent. Brolly, love him or hate him, knows his stuff and provides great insight into the tactical aspect of how teams set up and how they implement their game-plan.

I think O'Rourke's and Spillane's decision to back Galway ahead of Mayo highlights their overall lack of knowledge on teams prior to the championship which I put down to lazy analysis.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 20/05/2013 16:47:54    1387547

Ulsterman, o'rourke explained why he tipped galway and in fairness to him it made enough sense to be reasonable. We are all experts after the fact but the reality is mayo stuttered through the league and were going into this game missing 6 starters (turned out to be 5), while galway had just won another u21 to put with the other recent successes they had, they had done well against westmeath and derry in the league and were playing at home at a notoriously difficult venue. Now let us analyse brolly's reasoning for picking mayo 'galway are not a serious football team'. What does that even mean? His ability to speak dresses things up to being far more enlightened than they actually are, at the end of the day, brolly went for the favourite in a two horse race. Furthermore, at the start of the match he was far less sure about his convictions than when half-time arrived. He was far less disgusted by the lads tipping galway before throw in. He stated that it was unthinkable from a mayo perspective for them to lose this game, because of their aspirations, not that the result was unthinkable which is what he was saying at half time. As I said earlier, it is easy being an expert after the fact.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/05/2013 17:17:47    1387593

Ulsterman, o'rourke explained why he tipped galway and in fairness to him it made enough sense to be reasonable. We are all experts after the fact but the reality is mayo stuttered through the league and were going into this game missing 6 starters (turned out to be 5), while galway had just won another u21 to put with the other recent successes they had, they had done well against westmeath and derry in the league and were playing at home at a notoriously difficult venue. Now let us analyse brolly's reasoning for picking mayo 'galway are not a serious football team'. What does that even mean? His ability to speak dresses things up to being far more enlightened than they actually are, at the end of the day, brolly went for the favourite in a two horse race. Furthermore, at the start of the match he was far less sure about his convictions than when half-time arrived. He was far less disgusted by the lads tipping galway before throw in. He stated that it was unthinkable from a mayo perspective for them to lose this game, because of their aspirations, not that the result was unthinkable which is what he was saying at half time. As I said earlier, it is easy being an expert after the fact.

Agreed, I had given Galway a decent chance myself based on home advantage, underage success and Mayo's injuries, it's very easy to be wise after the event, I don't think anyone could have predicted the Mayo landslide that occurred yesterday and anyone that said they did is either lying or psychic. Nobody expects a 17 point difference between Mayo and Galway in a championship match its almost bordering on unrealistic but yesterday was very real. Predicting Galway was not lazy journalism as someone said, even Anthony Finnerty was very cautious on Radio 1 on Saturday, he predicted a draw, so O'Rourke and Spillane were not in their own in their opinions

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 20/05/2013 17:33:50    1387606

white.n.blue
County: Monaghan

Some people are saying that they dont like brolly because he used to champion tyrone and now he champions donegal. But in fairness lads, he champions the best team in the country at that present time, thats the way he sees it and he is normally right. Of course he had a slightly different opinion of mayo compared to last year. So do I & id imagine a lot of ye do to.

dublin beat tyrone in the national league final and he was on the show to analyze the game yet all he did was talk about donegal.
donegal were relegated a few weeks before hand so they could hardly have been classed as the best team in the country at present could they to champion?and anyway they were not even playing that day!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/05/2013 17:38:44    1387611

Brolly last year he got more right than wrong. Yesterday before the match he called the favourite Mayo but Spillaine and O'Rourke called it wrong. I enjoy listening to all three and certainly next weeks fixture we will also see who agrees with Brolly that Donegal will beat Tyrone.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 20/05/2013 17:39:31    1387613

Richieq

Agreed, I had given Galway a decent chance myself based on home advantage, underage success and Mayo's injuries, it's very easy to be wise after the event, I don't think anyone could have predicted the Mayo landslide that occurred yesterday and anyone that said they did is either lying or psychic. Nobody expects a 17 point difference between Mayo and Galway in a championship match its almost bordering on unrealistic but yesterday was very real. Predicting Galway was not lazy journalism as someone said, even Anthony Finnerty was very cautious on Radio 1 on Saturday, he predicted a draw, so O'Rourke and Spillane were not in their own in their opinions

i hope now people can finally put to bed this home advantage theory as nonsense.
its a pitch with grass and goalposts the same as any other.
if a team ha that attitude of thinking a team has home advantage its clearly a mental problem before they even take to the field.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/05/2013 17:42:37    1387616

hill16no1man, are you actually joking? In a tight game I would rather play galway in mchale park every time. Just like the dubs wouldnt want to give up playing in croke park. A home tie is an advantage, no question.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/05/2013 18:27:56    1387655

Ah hill come off it man, have lot of time for your posts and find you one of the more tolerable dubs on hear, but home advantage is a massive bonus, id much rather play in navan than out of it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/05/2013 18:52:55    1387681

Richieq: not to blow my own trumpet, but many on this website, myself included, were forecasting a Galway hammering. All the evidence was there and clear to see for anyone who wanted it. That "professional" pundits could not have seen this coming speaks of terrible bias and prejudice on their part.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 20/05/2013 19:00:19    1387692

hill16no1man, are you actually joking? In a tight game I would rather play galway in mchale park every time. Just like the dubs wouldnt want to give up playing in croke park. A home tie is an advantage, no question.

yes you would but when an inter county player is in a championship match you do not be looking around the stands to see who has more supporters or if you can see your mates where they usualy stand,they are 100% concentrated on the game,supporters cant win games for a team simple as and il use a clear example if you rewind to the 2009 all ireland quarter final when dublin had over 70 thousand of the 82 thousand in croke park that day,dublin had been the form team kerry been on the road all over ireland dublin having already played their matches in croke park yet do you think kerry came to croke park thinking about home advantages or rubbish like that they went out and were 100% concentrated on winning and done just that.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/05/2013 19:55:40    1387768

royaldunne

Ah hill come off it man, have lot of time for your posts and find you one of the more tolerable dubs on hear, but home advantage is a massive bonus, id much rather play in navan than out of it

yes again you would but if your involved in a championship match your 100% concentrated on the game that you dont hear the crowd and if you are paying attention then your mind is not focussed.
tolerable haha you love my posts rd

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/05/2013 19:58:51    1387772

festinog

Richieq: not to blow my own trumpet, but many on this website, myself included, were forecasting a Galway hammering. All the evidence was there and clear to see for anyone who wanted it. That "professional" pundits could not have seen this coming speaks of terrible bias and prejudice on their part.

That's fair enough but honestly I didn't see it coming and neither did a lot if others, i think it was fair and understandable to think that Galway despite a few lacklustre years would have raised their game at the sight of a Mayo jersey dancing around Salthill. Throw in the injuries Mayo had and certainly I would never have foreseen a 17 point win for Mayo, even with a full strength Mayo I wouldn't have predicted that margin of victory. Still it happened and if the game went on any longer the margin would have been more, a lot of soul searching for Galway after a game which have alarm bells ringing loudly in Alan Mulholland's ears

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 20/05/2013 20:45:28    1387826

if that was a cage match brolly would have chewed both lads up and spit them out savage attack on both left them whimpering like lost puppies great tv viewing his knowledge is unreal imo anyway....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 20/05/2013 21:49:35    1387925

Hill maybe likable rather than tolerable :)
I do see your point re been focused, but I think the familiarity with pitch and surroundings does help.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2013 08:03:51    1387946

hill16no1man you are offering the exception instead of the rule. Did it not occur to you that if that same stadium was full of opposition fans then the dubs might have lost by more? Every team wants to play at home. They are more used to the surroundings, their fans will be in bigger numbers etc. Now some times teams dont make use of the advantage, but it is an advantage, no question about it. If we could play all our games in mchale park Im pretty sure we would have another sam or two under our belts. For a start, in the 96 drawn game that last gasp ball that bounced over the bar for meath wouldnt have happened, simply because it wouldnt have bounced so high off the spongy turf!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2013 09:32:37    1387969

Brolly is absolute class, intelegent, straight talking and a fantastic wind up merchant! however I do agree he can be a bit personal and there is no need for it considering this is ameatur.

However in my opinion Des is a bore, Mario on today Fm has him of to a t. surely there is better presenters out there.

Also I think that the ratio of highlights is a joke as one poster said why bother sending cameras to a game at a huge cost if they are only going to show two mins. And then the bulk of the highlights is the games we seen in their full earlier on. What I would like to see happening is even if these games are not being shown live of edited properly that they would be available on line or shown late at night when there is nothing else on.
I may be lucky this year as a Donegal supporter that I will see plenty of coverage of my team however, I would have rathered viewed the full carlow game than watch highlights of a game I seen a few hours earlier.

Last, I think Ciaran Whelean does know his football and is a great pundit, however am I the only one to think it is a disgrace to have him on commenting on football games on the national tv. He is no ambassador for the game!

fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 21/05/2013 09:53:31    1387980

There is something really unfair and dishonest about journalists having a pop personally at individuals who have NO comeback whatsoever. This sort of pundatry is now old hat, usually operated by old men. It makes up for the poor RTE GAA coverage generally, but hey just so long as it keeps the armchairs rocking with laughter, shame on RTE.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 21/05/2013 11:54:25    1388061

I have to admit I like listening to Brolly and co on the RTE. Ok, Joe talks a load of B sometimes but the interaction between himself Spillane and O Rourke can be entertaining. However I just read the comments from Paul Grimley on the home page here and I agree that the comments can be a bit unfair and personal at times.
Reminds me of the day Spillane was stuck in traffic in Kildare town and some of the local lads decided to have a bit of craic with him rocking his car, lol. He didn't find that quite so funny as making his comments.lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/05/2013 12:29:29    1388101