Earlier in the championship I wasn't too bothered about the bad coverage following our matches, however last night it did annoy me. Louths Ciaran Byrne scores 5 awesome points from play..only 2 are shown (by what looked like a handheld camera) in a highlights package about 2 minutes long. This also included inaccurate commentary, getting a players name wrong, followed by generalised analysis about louth midfield including brian white who has played there for one half of football all year.
They ended up spending far more time analysing 2 melees and timing how long it took goalkeepers to take free kicks than showing a great game which was equally as good as the 2 main hurling matches. I actually really enjoyed watching the highlights of those matches. Its just a pity they don't put the effort in for all matches like this and focus on great skills and play rather than controversy.
Going back to Ciaran Byrne, I feel showcasing the skills of such a promising talent could give those with a passing interest to go to the next game or even watch the next 'sunday game'. Unfortunately for all, Louth don't play again until January, Croke Park will have vast amounts of empty seats until the All Ireland final and young Byrne will be playing another sport in Australia.
headband (Louth) - Posts: 10 - 15/07/2013 09:01:47
RTE coverage is totally pro hurling. They treat football as second class except of course when the Dubs are playing.
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/07/2013 09:52:56
Anyone in Louth know who Padraig Ruth is ?
THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 15/07/2013 09:57:00
RTE's budget is cut, sport getting a fair hit - RTE didnt own the one camera sent to the Louth game, its a contract job so the more camera's the more is costs. The Sunday Game would also have defined the layout of the show a few days in advance to give direction to the editing staff, otherwise it would be impossible to produce a program like the Sunday Game - Its fairly standard that most qualifiers get just 2 minutes.
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 15/07/2013 10:15:11
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 9202
1431670 RTE coverage is totally pro hurling. They treat football as second class except of course when the Dubs are playing
if you watched championship matters you wouldnt say that. for a half an hour programme they talked for 25 minutes about the hurling and then turned to dessie dolan for about 2minutes on dublin v meath that was it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2013 11:22:04
Disgraceful scenes at the Longford v Wexford and Cavan v Fermanagh games. The lad throwing off his glasses to jump in and throw a few slaps was hilarious!
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/07/2013 11:24:39
The analysis of the football is too general. Maybe the analysts don't know enough? Sure anyone could come up with the few words they come out with. I'm sick of looking at O'Hara reading from his notes. As a football fan, I found the hurling analysis more in-depth and very enjoyable. Donal óg and Eddie Brennan did some serious pieces on the games.
MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 526 - 15/07/2013 11:38:27
have said it before donal og is the best analyist on rte throughout all the sports they have,he lways backs up all his points and does it very fair,ony once has he failed to point out something(joe canning steps last week for his goal)
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2013 11:41:56
Cavan-Slasher that a ridiculous comment,its so pro football that its beyond belief,for example a month ago down won the christy ring cup which is the second tier hurling all ireland and they got a mention of about 30 seconds highlights and a 30 second interview with the manager and yet rte will show show 5 mins of highlights of pathetic football qualifiers (derry V sligo, Armagh V wicklow etc) so to say that its pro hurling is beyond a joke
god68 (Down) - Posts: 32 - 15/07/2013 11:54:16
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 5077
1431892 have said it before donal og is the best analyist on rte throughout all the sports they have,he lways backs up all his points and does it very fair,ony once has he failed to point out something(joe canning steps last week for his goal)
Would agree 100%. Also he did a very good analysis on the amazing work-rate of Podge Collins for Clare against Wexford. Most people watching the game would not have appreciated this had it not been pointed out (which is what good analysis should be all about).
banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 15/07/2013 11:57:54
Was at the cavan vs fermanagh game.the cavan selector sent off was going in the whole time mouthing at the fermanagh lads. Fermanagh were harshly dont out of it by the referee and i'm sure it wasnt onlt the fermanagh lads that hit in the half-time brawl.
RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 15/07/2013 12:12:26
I'd agree with hill on Donal Og, a proper pundit, really knows his small ball stuff : )
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/07/2013 12:19:05
cute kerry hoor
in fairness i know the guy dave his name is hes the strength and conditioning coach and he got raw deal off the analysts as he jumped in and pulled players off the fight he didnt even throw any punches at all. although he has got alot of slagging for disgarding the glasses haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2013 11:23:05
moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 3021
1398830 We are not going to see any changes made to The Sunday Game. Eamonn O Hara is a dream come true for them. He is controversial. He will divide opinion. He will draw criticism from most reasonable people which can only mean one thing- he will bring in ratings. You will not see him shipped out. His rant against Kevin Walsh was gold. It doesnt matter that Kevin Walsh could not defend himself.
Controversy is needed to produce a good sporting analysis show. But a real insight should go hand in hand with that. I have seen very little coherent analysis from Joe Brolly since he joined the team. He has heralded the end of kerry football from the word go. There is no problem with criticising kerry and long may it remain that way. I have criticised them as much as anyone. But Brolly is the worst I have seen. He is more interested in outraging Kerry, and Pat Spillane, than providing good analysis. I cannot recall many incidents of Joe Brolly producing examples and analysing footage and providing any real insight. He is more interested in making grand statements. He was spot on in predicting Donegal to win last years all-ireland. But, he was embarrassed when Cork beat Tyrone in 2009. He was reduced to a laughing, guffawing bystander after Kerry destroyed Armagh in the second half of their 2006 quarterfinal. I am not criticising Armagh or Tyrone. It is not their fault that Brolly was there main cheerleader and they had some great days (some against Kerry). Brolly is not a good analyst. But he is a good ratings winner.
Thats the problem. RTE cant see past that. Brolly (and so far Hara) has never impressed me or many others but hes still there, and it looks like he has a job for life. But look at Donal Og Cusack. He will be a magnificent addition. Cusack will be controversial. He has never shyed away from having an opinion, a controversial opinion. But he has already shown that he has a serious GAA brain, and highlighted some wonderful pieces that many would have ignored in relation to the work of Henry Shefflin off the ball. It was not bull* analysis, it was proper.
Anthony Tohill was a very good analyst and as we all know in Kerry he wasnt afraid to speak out. We were very good at pretending he did us an injustice in 2010 but of course he was right to highlight Paul Galvins misdeeds (galvin himself never denied that).
Pat Spillane is not brilliant, but he does a decent enough job of highlighting good play of the way he believes football should be played and can be played to counter the blanket defence. I think he is disrespectful to Northern teams at times but no way more so than Brolly is to Kerry. (and Dublin and Cork).
Kevin McStay and Dara Cinneide are good analysts but are not likely to have that bite that makes for good television. Match of the Day is a dull show and the Sunday Game should never be like that. It should not be an inoffencive sit on the fence show. But it doesnt need to be. There are good opinionated analysts who will provide for good viewing and good analysis. But we dont need to be watching a circus every Sunday.
What will change? Nothing. O'Hara might join the big three though. That might change.
For a long post, I agree with all of that Moomoo! And your second comment in relation to Brolly covering both sides of the coin so that he often ends up being right rings true too when you think about it. Excellent stuff.
Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 17/07/2013 19:46:10