I missed the early program but was delighted to see him on last night! He gets stuck in.. Not nice if your on the receiving end but its entertaining. Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 20/05/2013 12:11:06 1387142 Link 0 |
No problem with the analysis as its always entertaining. My problem is with the commentary from Marty Morrisey. I understand Galway v Mayo wasnt the most exciting match but the man sounds so disinterested and lacks any real passion for the game. PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 20/05/2013 12:17:54 1387147 Link 0 |
What was Carney on about after half time? Galway score 3 points in a row and you'd swear from Carney it was a melt down from Mayo, never heard an over reaction like it the game was over after 20 minutes Martin for jaysus sake. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2013 12:40:19 1387173 Link 0 |
They got 2 of the Carlow hurlers names wrong in the short clip they showed. Talked about an Eoin Doyle at 1 stage! No such player on the Carlow panel. Least they can do is pretend they are interested & get players names right The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 20/05/2013 12:58:25 1387196 Link 0 |
why are we talking about Joe Brolley?? last nights show was scandalous, took an hour to show the games which were shown live and then we were subjected to 2 minute reports of the other games. I saw more highlights of Offaly's first ever Leinster hurling victory than matches which were played Saturday and yesterday then there was a 15 minute preview of Donegal Tyrone with no mention of other games there are other games on next week as well but they were forgotten about Kenlim (Limerick) - Posts: 864 - 20/05/2013 13:01:02 1387200 Link 0 |
Ciaran Whelan was a bit nervous last night, TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/05/2013 13:07:36 1387209 Link 0 |
I have to say I wasnt too impressed with o'hara, I dont think the role suits him all that much, and maybe they are just giving lip service to a guy who was a good footballer, as opposed to someone who will deliver excellent analysis. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/05/2013 13:09:40 1387214 Link 0 |
Perhaps Brolly is going to make the shift from TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/05/2013 13:13:50 1387220 Link 0 |
also Whelan and o'hara are top notch IMO so fair play to RTE in that respect. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 20/05/2013 13:17:05 1387225 Link 0 |
Enjoyed the coverage yesterday, both the live show and the highlights, personally I think Brolly, O'Rourke and Spillane work well together and their jibing at each other (Brolly is like a mix between Ghandhi and Mother Theresa) adds to the entertainment value, we need a smile and a laugh as well as good analysis which I think is always provided. RTE provide good sets, graphics & stats on the shows and good analysis, as Brolly said yesterday their not there to be popular but give their opinions. Like them or not RTE are the best show in town and put the most into the Championships, the others don't really match up at all Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 20/05/2013 13:33:23 1387254 Link 0 |
I enjoy Brolly, he can be a bit overbearing, but he adds colour to the programme which the others can't. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 20/05/2013 13:40:21 1387267 Link 0 |
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 20/05/2013 13:58:17 1387291 Link 0 |
Always enjoy listening to Brolly's punditry. Always gives his honest truthful opinion which makes him interest and entertaining to watch. MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/05/2013 14:07:38 1387311 Link 0 |
Yea Brolly is top class alright ..... didn't know the name of the Kerry Manager ..... Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/05/2013 14:17:08 1387326 Link 0 |
Some people are saying that they dont like brolly because he used to champion tyrone and now he champions donegal. But in fairness lads, he champions the best team in the country at that present time, thats the way he sees it and he is normally right. Of course he had a slightly different opinion of mayo compared to last year. So do I & id imagine a lot of ye do to. white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 20/05/2013 14:41:47 1387361 Link 0 |
Brolly does provide some insightful stuff on occasion but he needs to be told to tone it down a bit. He can cut too close to the bone far too often. You can be entertaining and controversial without getting personal and I think labeling individual player as a 'shaper' like he did yesterday is out of order. Players are only amateurs and they provide great entertainment each and every year. They do not deserve to be subject to that sort of personal analysis on national television. beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 20/05/2013 14:46:47 1387371 Link 0 |
The Sunday game highlights was a disgrace. Most people watch to see the other games apart from the featured afternoon games. About 2 mins given to Westmeath v Carlow, Laois v Antrim and Carlow v London. Whats the point in sending cameras to these games at all if they wonts do them justice. Worse still no discussion about the games. Typical RTE giving no coverage to the smaller games. We need a proper review show which shows highlights of all the games. Also they promised a hurling preview show next week. Pity the hurling championship will already be 3 games in at that point. jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 20/05/2013 15:10:16 1387411 Link 0 |
Not for the first time, I thought Brolly was out of order yesterday. By all means, criticise Galway and Paul Grimley for a bad performance and tactical rigidness, but don't insult them. petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 20/05/2013 15:22:36 1387432 Link 0 |
I agree with Kenlim and JP - Issue isnt about Brolly and Co as funny as they are, the main issue is the way hurling esp those involved in the Ring, Rackard and Meagher competitions are not only ignored by RTE (hardly surprising) but by Croke Park. Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 20/05/2013 15:33:34 1387447 Link 0 |
Brolly is a good analyst and knows his stuff but he can be a bit annoying and overpowering at times. He would be a far better pundit if he stopped constantly butting in on people which stifles flowing debate and which can come across as rude and ignorant. He should also remember that the players are amateurs and he should lay off some of the cutting criticism which borders on personal and hurtful at times; this is very unfair on fellas who give up a lot of their time and personal lives. By all means give criticism but none of the 'faker, phoney etc' comments about individuals. He has the Dubs off to a tee and I think most Dubs realise that and don't take it the way some others do. Many Dubs are more open to talk on their team (Bitegate apart) unlike Kerry, Mayo fellas who are ultra defensive. I ams till trying to work out Spillane's and O'Rourke's ridiculous tipping of Galway over Mayo; where did that come from as Mayo are a far better side currently? Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 20/05/2013 15:56:38 1387481 Link 0 |