I'm thinking going out to settle the nerves the night before coming home pi*hed and dying the next morning, off to get the rashers for the mother and then driving to Croker and hitting rain and traffic at the same time, sister Mother and Father talking about *****! Her talking and him not listening but saying all the right things "go away" & "did she" or "he's your brother", getting to Heuston and me knowing town using bus lanes all the way and everyone else flashing me.... Then into Clonliffe House and having 3 pints before the game before declaring its too busy now i'm gonna stroll up for the minor beofre watching 4 minutes in total of the minor but reading every poage of the programme for a nod towards the outcome. The teams coming out and always being shouted down by the opposition, Finally Amhrán na bhFiann starting up and wondering if you'll actually be able to make it to half time. And at half time whetehr its 10 down up or level thinking ah "we'll hardly be that bad in the 2nd half" or "we've domiated them they'll have to get goals early in the second half" or ah we're playing with/against the breeze that'll suit us better..... KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 16/05/2013 16:13:59 1385227 Link 0 |
the once every blue moon Carlow get to Croke Park and the whole county travels and gets drunk wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 16/05/2013 16:26:30 1385239 Link 0 |
The roar from the crowd in Pearse stadium that you can hear 2 miles away. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 16/05/2013 16:28:38 1385244 Link 0 |
festinog - I hope you enjoy the game (but not the result) - great occasion Mayo v Galway games always are and I am sure there will be plenty of young people around the world (especially oz) tuning in from both counties. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 16/05/2013 16:49:08 1385262 Link 0 |
Galway away is without doubt my favourite championship fixture. Headin for Salthill, into the Lions den for a battle with the auld enemy! On a nice day in May there's no better place to be than Salthill. The banter and rivalry is great craic. We like to pretend we hate each others guts, when in fact there is a healthy respect for each other (whether people on here want to admit it or not). killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 16/05/2013 17:07:29 1385272 Link 0 |
Yew-Tree; I'd give anything to be home on Sunday. I used to live less than a mile from Pearse stadium, so I'll be feeling very homesick come Sunday morning. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 16/05/2013 17:10:56 1385274 Link 0 |
Stroll up the road and sample the atmosphere on our side of Croker before getting in for whatever the first game is. Enjoy the sight of your 15 best against the 15 best of your opponents. Win. lose or draw enjoy the occasion and remember what is important and have the craic and banter with the culchie boys, in the end we're all in this thing together. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 16/05/2013 17:26:02 1385291 Link 0 |
walking across the bridge in thurles, seeing the river of people wearing your county colours. twohandondehurl (Clare) - Posts: 23 - 16/05/2013 18:29:27 1385343 Link 0 |
- tay and sangwiches out of the boot of the car.those sandwiches are always lovely. perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/05/2013 18:36:47 1385350 Link 0 |
Just a distant memory for me now, but I just loved championship Sundays in Croker! I would get get wasted in Tullamore on the Saturday night. Wake up Sunday morning in some bird's house. Make tracks to my own home where my mother would have the fry ready for me. Quick shower, put on the Offaly jersey. Get collected by mates. Stop in Edenderry for refuelling, ie. tangle twisters. Then on to the Big Tree in Dublin. Hit Croker. Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 16/05/2013 19:13:13 1385373 Link 0 |
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 16/05/2013 19:48:29 1385389 Link 0 |
Sat in the Hogan stand when it's a double header listening to three sets of fans (Dublin haters) shout and roar in vain as Berno bursts the net open to send the Hill in to rapture. Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 16/05/2013 19:50:34 1385391 Link 0 |
Some stuff you can't make up.. Reginald (UK) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2013 20:12:43 1385405 Link 0 |
Going to games with my Grandfather, Father, and brothers. TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/05/2013 21:31:47 1385462 Link 0 |
Secondary teachers just love the arrival of the sunday game theme music.... beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 16/05/2013 21:46:07 1385474 Link 0 |
bluewave......Sat in the Hogan stand ......knew you weren't a real dub beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 16/05/2013 21:48:29 1385477 Link 0 |
beal AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/05/2013 21:57:11 1385482 Link 0 |
Firstly putting on my lucky socks and carefully ironing the shirt our colours which we proudly wore ,claiming the ladder outside the home to hoist the Flag to stand proud and erect above the door, nervously waiting on the 24 seater to arrive to take us to the hallowed turf that is Clones (Ballybofey) isn't the same...... Arrive in the beautiful Monaghan town full of renewed confidence after some spouting on the bus (everybody wants to be a Spillane or a Brolly) after a couple of pints of the Amber nectar and few yoyos dispensed out to the charity collectors . A shout goes up "Right lads lets Go!" and its off like a regiment to war Flags unfurled baseball caps pulled down to shield us all from the glaring sun but we all know its to keep the rain from beating us back down the hill . Then there it is St Tiernach's Park with its Green baize surface and Dr Dre sound system as we make our way onto the concrete hill like a herd of wildebeests fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 17/05/2013 08:58:30 1385496 Link 0 |
Heading to The Hyde or McHale to play the Rossies for crossborder bragging rights. "Eggs and rashers for the Mayo slashers. Hay and oats for them Rossie goats" used to be the chant. My Dad used to bring me to games in the 70s when The Rossies were the High Kings of Connaught with a magic team. "Never f###### gonna watch them again" he'd say after another defeat back then yet every summer he'd bring me again. It's a drug. To paraphrase Lou Reed. The Championship, it's my wife and it's my life. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8606 - 17/05/2013 09:25:51 1385503 Link 0 |
The bonds and friendship that are made down the years are priceless. Father and son/daughter, brothers and sisters etc.No matter how down on life you are , the championship gives you w lift , if you're a gael of course. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 17/05/2013 09:54:43 1385517 Link 0 |