2013 underdog story?

It would be nice to see Derry back among the elite. I remember our championship meeting in 2007, Ran us close that day..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 12/05/2013 11:12:53    1382373

Johnjoseph who are the big four?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 12/05/2013 11:15:41    1382377

Aye was at it wayno , good game though Dublin were always in front. Always have good craic with the dub fans, wile banter.
Lifers Gael, top 4 Dublin, cork, Tyrone and Kerry. Donegal will get champed by Tyrone before going out at the quarters.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 12/05/2013 11:59:10    1382392

Derry seem to impress during the League but never live up to their expectations come Championship. They're probably over reliant on Eoin Bradley as well. They're a solid outfit but their league form seems to deceive them when championship comes around. Ulster is very competitive but I can't see them troubling either Donegal or Tyrone to be honest.

In Leinster I was thinking that Laois could be the team to come from the shadows and make a Leinster final but I'm suspicious that Louth could turn them over in the first round. A Meath/Louth Leinster semi final would be very interesting. I'm going with my own county Meath to raise a few eyebrows this summer.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 12/05/2013 12:37:24    1382414

Westmeath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/05/2013 12:49:58    1382424

In Munster I feel Limerick might surprise one of the Big 2, but highly unlikely.
In Connaught possibly the Rossies. And Mayo haven't won 3-in-a-row since about 1950, so that might somehow play on their minds.
In Ulster very few things are ever really a surprise, most teams would never be written off, but as regards either Donegal or Tyrone not winning it, if Donegal beat Tyrone I think they could be vulnerable after that due to being All-I champs and not back up to the levels of last year. If Tyrone beat Donegal, I feel they will see it out.
In Leinster there's always the chance of Kildare, Laois, Meath having a strong year, one of them will beat Dublin at some stage soon. Westmeath will be watched this year, I feel that they might need another year or two to really spring something in Championship. Having said that, were Dublin to lose against Kildare, it could open the way for Meath, Laois or even Westmeath to win Leinster.
Kildare winning Leinster the most likely upset though.

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 12/05/2013 13:17:34    1382442

God please give Limerick a big munster championship win in either code. Tipp should beat us in Hurling but we have them at home and we really should have beaten them last year. so I wouldnt fear them but would take something special.
In football I think Limerick could be the underdog story of the summer. Watch this space. galvin is back

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 12/05/2013 20:29:27    1382699

Galway

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 12/05/2013 20:52:30    1382719

Leitrim

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/05/2013 21:02:29    1382725

bit of a trend on this with laois same as myself they did well last year so with the lads the they have they could do well this year...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/05/2013 21:15:38    1382739

Cavan to give Ulster a good rattle this year and maybe upset one or two in the backdoor. Would be great to see them back.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/05/2013 10:54:22    1382857

Kerry :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/05/2013 10:59:24    1382865

Cavan will not do it this year, but will be there or there abouts in a couple of years. They need a manager who will stay long term, they have some cracking young players, their u21s play very stylish old school football.

Love to see Leitrim have a good run at it. Laois might surprise a few but wont have the stomach for the back door again. Munster will be the usual 2 horse race. Ulster, there are 7 counties who can win on any given day. all on the day.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 13/05/2013 11:04:23    1382868

I could see Westmeath taking a few scalps this year. Probably not be strong enough to take Dublin in Leinster but would not be surprised to see them still about in August.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/05/2013 11:10:04    1382872

Galway
Derry
Westmeath

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 11:21:13    1382881

We're going to need another year or two before we start making the strides we know we're capable of. I think Roscommon could cause a few upsets.

What is wrong with senior football in Galway that they can't get their act together? They're wiping the floor with everyone at underage level these last few years playing the best football you'll see in the country. What's wrong with them? Seems to be a serious amount of talent going to waste over there.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 13/05/2013 12:43:08    1382954

I'll back Fermanagh to put a run together either in Ulster or the qualifiers this year

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 13/05/2013 17:21:33    1383197

Offaly anyone?

lukeFitz (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 13/05/2013 17:27:42    1383206

Kildare to cause an upset in Leinster.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 13/05/2013 17:56:25    1383249

3/05/2013 12:43:08
Sergeant_Slash

We're going to need another year or two before we start making the strides we know we're capable of. I think Roscommon could cause a few upsets.

We are in the same boat as Cavan. Young side new manager will be a few years before you see the best of us. We beat Armagh at home last July no reason why Cavan can't do likewise next Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4397 - 13/05/2013 17:58:57    1383252