Ulster SFC 2013

Mesamis
If one thing following Donegal in the Ulster championship has taught me is that nothing can be taken for granted!! I agree that we are mentally very strong so I don't think we'll take any team lightly and should win Ulster and if we do get to the final I'd expect us to win but I'd be very wary of Derry.
I think Derry will beat Down on Sunday and if they do I think they'll give Donegal a good game of it in the semi's. Mc Iver is a very good manager, Derry have some very good players and with the right organisation look what they have already achieved this year, winning Div 2 and getting promotion to Div 1. Nobody gave us a hope against Tyrone in the Ulster semi of 2011, they were the reigning champions going for three in a row and Donegal were in the exact same place as Derry currently are, new manager, just won Div 2 and got promotion to Div 1.
In any game anything can happen, a sending off, bad ref call etc. and if Derry/Down got the breaks against us over 70 minutes anything is possible.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 28/05/2013 11:36:16    1393347

~Hard to look past Donegal after the weekend, Suppose the only thing is the pressure will be off opposition teams playing them as they will be expected to lose.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 28/05/2013 11:51:18    1393370

Tir Conaill Abu

Mesamis
If one thing following Donegal in the Ulster championship has taught me is that nothing can be taken for granted!! I agree that we are mentally very strong so I don't think we'll take any team lightly and should win Ulster and if we do get to the final I'd expect us to win but I'd be very wary of Derry.
I think Derry will beat Down on Sunday and if they do I think they'll give Donegal a good game of it in the semi's. Mc Iver is a very good manager, Derry have some very good players and with the right organisation look what they have already achieved this year, winning Div 2 and getting promotion to Div 1. Nobody gave us a hope against Tyrone in the Ulster semi of 2011, they were the reigning champions going for three in a row and Donegal were in the exact same place as Derry currently are, new manager, just won Div 2 and got promotion to Div 1.
In any game anything can happen, a sending off, bad ref call etc. and if Derry/Down got the breaks against us over 70 minutes anything is possible.

No big test for yous now until the quarter finals, probably the semi-finals I'd say. I think it's Ulster/Connacht so until you play Mayo there'll be no real game for yous. And to be honest I'm not convinced Mayo are that bit better this year in anyways.

I'd be very surprised if Donegal aren't in the All-Ireland Final again this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 28/05/2013 12:00:58    1393378

Can't see anybody beating Donegal in Ulster. The only team I think that could do it is Kerry, moving the Gooch to centre forward will prove to be an astute bit of managerial awareness.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 28/05/2013 12:03:52    1393382

Would hardly think it mesamis, the pick of Derry and down wouldn't touch Donegal.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 28/05/2013 12:05:12    1393383

Although Slash it may be similar to Down when they brought Coulter out to the 40. I think the gooch is brilliant on the 40 but is O'dounaghue as dangerous inside? It's not as if Kerry are short of playmakers. O'Sullivan one of the best in the business.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/05/2013 12:13:17    1393393

10/04/2013 15:14:41
green and gold

Unsurprisingly being a life time Donegal supporter, I think we can defend Sam successfully. We've only been in this scenario once before in our history and the lads from twenty years ago gave it a fair old rattle also. We were unlucky then, with the weather and a great Derry team in the ulster final, who went on to claim Sam for their first time.
The way I see it is, barring Tyrone on the 26th May, presuming we win, our next game against top class opposition won't be until the August bank holiday weekend.

mesamis, i got shot down by my fellow countymen for saying that exact same thing at the start of april, on another thread.its not cockiness or anything, its just an honest opinion.i suppose it comes with the territory when confidence is built by what has been achieved already.

green and gold (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 28/05/2013 12:19:16    1393406

green and gold

mesamis, i got shot down by my fellow countymen for saying that exact same thing at the start of april, on another thread.its not cockiness or anything, its just an honest opinion.i suppose it comes with the territory when confidence is built by what has been achieved already.

I don't think any Donegal supporter stating the obvious should be perceived as cockiness.

People love to run teams down that are successful. Happened to Dublin when we won in 2011 too.

I think Donegal have Ulster in the bag. It'd be a major shock if anyone else were to take the Anglo-Celt. As for Sam, I think they've the best chance of anyone in the last few years of retaining their crown.

They'll be in a 1/4 final as Ulster Champions. I don't see anyone coming through the qualifiers that will unduly unsettle them. I'd expect Mayo to be their opponents in the semi-final, and I don't believe that Mayo have closed the gap since last September.

Imo Donegal will almost certainly be in the final in September.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 28/05/2013 16:40:10    1393737

Granted a full strength Donegal side should in theory win Ulster now. But anything could happen in the semi final or final, which could see them lose narrowly.

As good as Donegal are, they could experience a freak of nature day and have maybe 2 players sent off and concede penalties in the process. Being 2 men down, and 6-8 points behind could prove slightly beyond them.
Granted we would be talking about exceptional circumstances, but you never really know.

There have been plenty of upsets down the years.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 28/05/2013 18:18:33    1393863

Latest Outright Betting.as they say bookies are seldom wrong.I'm actually praying for a shock on the big side of the draw because
if we (Monaghan) (and i mean if) make it to the final against Donegal.i dread to thnk what might happen.(although we are thier bogey team over the last 6 or 7 years).lol)

Donegal 4/11
Monaghan 7/1
Derry 8/1
Down 10/1
Cavan 16/1
Fermanagh 25/1
Antrim 55/1

bladecx (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 30/05/2013 10:19:39    1394919

Im guessing there has been a large amount of money placed on cavan recently. Only way you could justify going in from 33/1 - 16s. Based on form Fermanagh should be shorter odds than Cavan.

But hey the bookies are seldom wrong. Time will tell.

Anyway on to this sunday. Down have O'Hare back in action. Don't think it will be enough to beat Derry though. Derry to win by 4

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/05/2013 10:52:54    1394960

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

Im guessing there has been a large amount of money placed on cavan recently. Only way you could justify going in from 33/1 - 16s. Based on form Fermanagh should be shorter odds than Cavan.

I agree . Fermanagh beat us in the league and youse only just missed out on promotion. you were far more consistent than us. so in a 2-horse race fermanagh should be favourites against Cavan. I guess the bookies looked at Cavan's performance against Armagh, whereas Fermanagh haven't played yet. I still think the odds a bit askew. anyway its neither here nor there because neither of us are going to win ulster. we should both be 100-1.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 30/05/2013 12:57:21    1395110

Very true S Goldrick. Both sides are confident going into the game. What are ye looking like on the injury front?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/05/2013 13:31:20    1395141

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

Very true S Goldrick. Both sides are confident going into the game. What are ye looking like on the injury front?

Well big GMcK in the middle of the field is out for the season, his replacement Mossy Corr missed the Armagh game with injury, but we'd be hopeful it will clear up for the next game. Apart from that, think we have everyone else available. I hear yous are missing several lads.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 30/05/2013 13:51:27    1395165

Well done Down.Best game so far.will be chomping at the bit to get a Donegal after last years Final.

bladecx (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 02/06/2013 19:13:41    1397219

02/06/2013 19:13:41
bladecx
County: Monaghan

Well done Down.Best game so far.will be chomping at the bit to get a Donegal after last years Final.

Glad yous neutrals enjoyed the game today, very hard to enjoy it as a supporter, but I will certainly enjoy The Sunday Game tonight. Just a shame playing attractive football gets you no where any more. We will need improve massively to stand a chance vs Donegal. I don't think any Down fan expects us to beat Donegal, but I suppose that takes a little bit of pressure off the Down players. Motivation won't be a problem after last years Ulster Final. I'll be delighted if we can compete with them for the full 70 minutes and keep the score within 6 points. Donegal are the real deal and have set the benchmark. Looking forward to it already.

UP DOWN!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 02/06/2013 20:32:27    1397297

Fair play to Down, very Impressive 2nd half display from the Mourne men. Ya know I think their game with Donegal will be much tighter than last years Ulster final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 02/06/2013 20:42:26    1397313

Good win for Down but I can only see the same result as last year against Donegal.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 02/06/2013 21:06:14    1397341

Byanthon

Good win for Down but I can only see the same result as last year against Donegal.

I think Down are much fitter than last year and will keep going till the end. I would expect it to be tighter.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 03/06/2013 12:39:44    1397530

''They'll be in a 1/4 final as Ulster Champions. I don't see anyone coming through the qualifiers that will unduly unsettle them. I'd expect Mayo to be their opponents in the semi-final, and I don't believe that Mayo have closed the gap since last September''

Mayo will not lose to Donegal if they get to meet them this year.

I predicted Dublin/Mayo final at the start and will stick to it with Dublin breaking Mayo hearts in the final.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/06/2013 13:28:30    1397577