There are a lot of comments on the cavan Fermanagh game on sunday. Some people think it was puke football and to a certain degree I can see why. Its typical for an ulster match to be tight, physical, low scoring, defensive but I must admit I was disappointed by the man in the middle. Both teams adopted a defensive structure and that is fine and from what I could see, there were plenty of men breaking the lines but then they were being mobbed by 2 to 3 players, and not just being surrounded, fouled quite cynically. Several times it could be seen that runs were being checked off the ball. 81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 18/06/2013 15:53:54 1409978 Link 0 |
A lot of people over looked the main factor.two div 3 teams it was never gonna be a game of pure top class football Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 18/06/2013 16:05:16 1409991 Link 0 |
Is the East Terrace at Breffni Park the one along the sideline? MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 18/06/2013 21:09:22 1410323 Link 0 |
Lads, ye shouldn't be bothered with the media slating Ulster football, its been going on since the 70s. Yes, the Cavan/Fermanagh game wasn't very pretty to watch in the first half, the second half was a much better affair. But I enjoy watching them because in most cases they are at least competitive and are not over at half time like every game in Connaught and Munster this year (How in the name of god did the Mayo/Roscommon game attract 20,000, unbelieveable crowd for what was always going to be an easy win for Mayo). Leinster have had a couple of close contests, Wicklow/Longford, Wicklow/Meath, Louth/Wexford, Offaly/Kildare! Don't get too worried what they say, Ulster football is still the best! Salmanneile (Longford) - Posts: 113 - 19/06/2013 10:17:31 1410458 Link 0 |
s goldrick hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 19/06/2013 13:28:29 1410695 Link 0 |
Hardcore : If we were as dirty and doing so much messing , how did use come too have more players sent off ? We'll wait now for you too start blaming the ref I'm sure :-) Would'nt be like use or anything :-) cavanman10 (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 19/06/2013 15:19:22 1410799 Link 0 |
hardcore s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 19/06/2013 15:59:38 1410849 Link 0 |
From Hoganstands How does your county Rank: Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/06/2013 16:03:47 1410855 Link 0 |
19/06/2013 15:59:38 hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 20/06/2013 13:55:52 1411505 Link 0 |
Offside_Rule brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/06/2013 14:04:17 1411520 Link 0 |
cavanman10 hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 20/06/2013 14:06:49 1411525 Link 0 |
I reckon old Frankie boy was behind this one brend. Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/06/2013 14:42:08 1411566 Link 0 |
I was at the league meeting in feb and I don't see what the monaghan whining is about.mc manus got sent off for something off the ball,he must be very easily riled because I didn't see anything major done to him.martin Dunne sending off was very soft.mc cutcheon went after half time so that's 13v14.monaghan didn't score or look like scoring for 40 mins.was this the referees fault?cavans fault?too cold?the grass too long?or was it that mc manus was stupid enough to get sent off and ye have nobody else good enough to kick a few scores, other than old man Freeman.hughes is the only decent player ye have so if we look after him, we'll be grand kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 20/06/2013 16:09:04 1411672 Link 0 |
HARDCORE, co. monaghan,u were telling gary from derry, that since 1951 cavan have won 1 ulster senior, well they have won more than 1, was it not cavan, down in all ulster finals bar 1, from 1959,to 1969, and did cavan not win 4 in that period, and they won ulsters from 1951 to 1959, the last 4 years they appeared in 4 u21,winning 3, also a ulster minor, some1 told me out of approx 120 years of ulster senior football cavan were in about 60 ulster finals thats half HARDCORE, winning 39,cavans last senior was 1997, monaghan s was 1988,cavan have been in 20 ulster finals on the trot, winning 3, 7, etc in a row, yes its a while ago, but they still have the record, of most senior titles in ulster, u say cavan are bitter towards monaghan, ???????????????????,i have said before, cavan fear no1 in ulster, never have,never will, and their record proves it, monaghan should win in their semi with cavan, older team, experience etc, but they are on the slide, this cavan team,young, used to winning, are on the up,and i think they will in the future beat us, donegal, anyway Hardcore if monaghan are lucky, it will be some game with us,donegal, i think when monaghan see donegal v down, well the pressure will get to them, first against their old rivals cavan, then donegal waiting in the final, unless monaghan win both games, it will be the end of this monaghan team, donegal to send a chilling message out tomorrow, no disrespect to down, or monaghan, mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/06/2013 20:54:37 1413003 Link 0 |
MCHugh11 your as much a donegal man as barack obama shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1949 - 22/06/2013 21:10:36 1413018 Link 0 |
Down to beat this over rated donegal team.come down off the hills lads the air is going to your heads Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 22/06/2013 21:15:47 1413021 Link 0 |
ave said before, cavan fear no1 in ulster, never have,never will, and their record proves it, Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 22/06/2013 21:31:13 1413035 Link 0 |
shaggylegend ,monaghan, why u say that, cause i stand up for cavan, well i only pointed out what i feel is correct, can u tell me when monaghan last beat cavan in ulster senior football,it has to be the 1980s,and i am proud of my donegal roots, mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/06/2013 21:32:15 1413037 Link 0 |
no donegal are not over rated, only all ireland champions, and going for 3 in a row in ulster, yes i guess they can be beaten, but i cant see it, not in ulster, anyway, mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/06/2013 21:35:49 1413039 Link 0 |
Mchugh what would that have to do with any thing .this monaghan team have some of the best forwards in the country they ll take cavan to cleaners. Call it for what it is. Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 22/06/2013 21:43:32 1413050 Link 0 |