Ulster SFC 2013

Look i actually don't Mind Cavan... I went to school with Cavan lads. My elder siblings where raised in Cavan i got the lucky escape and was raised in Monaghan.. The rivalry is built into me from day dot. Cavan Mother Monaghan father... This is what rivalry is about. Its like every person has one team they hate to lose to and would support any team playing against them. Cavan supporters go on about their 5 all Irelands and 39 ulster titles but thats the past. We both have nothing to crow about at senior level. Its fear as a Monaghan supportwe to see our neighbours building a fine young side while and we are on the slide. Its rivalry and well its a game i will not be able to look forward too as the thought of losing to them makes me sick. I normally look forward to Monaghan matches but not this one. Work with the fine Cavan people will be either unbearable or pleasurable on the 1st of July.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1949 - 16/06/2013 18:21:39    1408019

Samsforthehills
But you sit back there and regal in your former glories 60+ years ago.

Midlu1
County: Louth
Exile areal irish man dosn t recongise a border .keep sam across across the border? Sure tyrone were the last team to do that

Midlu1: I'd like to introduce you to sam: he doesn't recognize anything from the past.
Sam, I'd like to introduce you to Midu1: he's living in the past
I think you'd be a great couple 

Dora: It's all tongue in cheek …..its like the gladiators fighting each other to meet the lions of Ulster/

29th ……..that s another story.

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 16/06/2013 18:24:41    1408024

Cavan were made to look good by armagh it seems. Poor spectacle today folks. Two weeks in a row... Not good for the advertisement of the great ulster football. Roll on next weekend.

themoderngame1 (Down) - Posts: 39 - 16/06/2013 18:47:29    1408052

Exilled do u think u will be a match for a full strenght farney squad i d say monaghan by six and cavan to have a least one sent off if not two.don t bother parking the bus in front of the goals that day the jap can score from any were

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 16/06/2013 18:51:38    1408055

royaldunne

Thank god for meath and wicklow

Haha, Good man royaldunne, always there to lift our spirits with a quip. I will grant you that in the battle of Div 3 & 4 teams it was marginally less brutal than the others but only marginally.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 16/06/2013 18:58:01    1408065

Look at the facts the Donegal Tyrone & Derry Down games were great to watch as will the Donegal Down game next week. That's three good games in the Ulster Championship. The Munster, Connacht & Leinster championships will be doing well to produce 3 good competitive games between them.
A little less sneering at Ulster is in order here.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 16/06/2013 19:08:05    1408080

Midlu1
We are from Cavan .

We have a whole team of men from Breffni, here in defiance of Monaghan tyranny! we have come to play as footballers, and
footballers we are! Will we play football with freedom? Will we fight?" "Fifteen against Fifteen?" -" or We will run - and play in the qualifiers!"

"No!" Hyland shouted back. "Play crap and you may lose. Run and you will play at least in the qualifiers (for a while).
And lying in your bed many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here as young men and play Monaghan.

They (Monaghan) may take the game on 29th, but they will never take our record !!!!!!!!!!!!

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 16/06/2013 19:08:57    1408081

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

1408019 Look i actually don't Mind Cavan... I went to school with Cavan lads. My elder siblings where raised in Cavan i got the lucky escape and was raised in Monaghan.. The rivalry is built into me from day dot. Cavan Mother Monaghan father... This is what rivalry is about. Its like every person has one team they hate to lose to and would support any team playing against them. Cavan supporters go on about their 5 all Irelands and 39 ulster titles but thats the past. We both have nothing to crow about at senior level. Its fear as a Monaghan supportwe to see our neighbours building a fine young side while and we are on the slide. Its rivalry and well its a game i will not be able to look forward too as the thought of losing to them makes me sick. I normally look forward to Monaghan matches but not this one. Work with the fine Cavan people will be either unbearable or pleasurable on the 1st of July.

Jaysus if any the Israelies or Palestinions had of read that post,they will feel they just misunderstood each other all those years and thankful not to have had the misfortune of been born close to this great rivalry and hatred by two counties

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/06/2013 19:12:50    1408086

ExiledCuCu

Midlu1
We are from Cavan .

We have a whole team of men from Breffni, here in defiance of Monaghan tyranny! we have come to play as footballers, and
footballers we are! Will we play football with freedom? Will we fight?" "Fifteen against Fifteen?" -" or We will run - and play in the qualifiers!"

"No!" Hyland shouted back. "Play crap and you may lose. Run and you will play at least in the qualifiers (for a while).
And lying in your bed many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here as young men and play Monaghan.

They (Monaghan) may take the game on 29th, but they will never take our record !!!!!!!!!!!!

Are you related to GateKeeper by any chance??????

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 16/06/2013 19:22:14    1408097

Whatever happens in the semi final lads it just won't be the same as Meath v Wiclow

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 16/06/2013 19:25:58    1408102

MuckrossHead

Gatekeeper: were you in the Lavey Inn in the 70's?

dad ?

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 16/06/2013 19:31:16    1408109

Yeah it was uneasy on the eye for large parts, but hey, we're not complaining. I remember Donegal played Antrim in 2011 and everyone said almost to a tee the same thing about them what they're saying about Cavan now, look how that turned out. Supporters down south are entitled to call what they see, but look the reality is teams like Meath and Limerick and Wicklow and Galway and what not would have been beaten by Fermanagh in Brewster Park today. You can't go to Brewster Park and face a team coached by a man who had the blanket defence drilled into him as a player and expect to beat his team playing a kicking game.

Or would you? Well how would that turn out. Let me see, kick a ball into 6 forwards from midfield, being marked by 11 Fermanagh men. Do the math yourselves.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 16/06/2013 19:32:20    1408111

Exilled were u watching brave heart lately?so what ii pick up from that was that you s won t be able for monaghan but who cares because you s have a better record

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 16/06/2013 19:32:29    1408112

ExiledCuCu

MuckrossHead

Gatekeeper: were you in the Lavey Inn in the 70's?

dad ?

Haha, very good!!

Somewhere in deepest Tyrone, a Gael is cacking himself as he searches the recesses of his memory.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 16/06/2013 19:40:20    1408129

Come on lads, people prefer the All Ireland champions of 1998, 2001 (the free flowing, beautiful brand of football played by the tribes) and not the football played by the 2012 champions. I am a purist, and the way gaelic football is going is upsetting to say the least.

Would agree with Serg's point though, it was one of them games when Cavan had to grind out a victory, they weren't naive, teams like ourselves would have went up there today and lost.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 16/06/2013 19:49:39    1408136

I would love to say next weekends game will be another cracker (like the Derry-Down game), but Donegal tend to bring the worst out in teams. Down will need to play defensively to stay in the game, Donegal could well be the more attacking side. I actually expect Down to dominate possession, but Donegal to win picking off Down on the counter attack.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 16/06/2013 21:00:03    1408218

ahsure.

Come on lads, people prefer the All Ireland champions of 1998, 2001 (the free flowing, beautiful brand of football played by the tribes) and not the football played by the 2012 champions. I am a purist, and the way gaelic football is going is upsetting to say the least.

Ashure, We would all like to be playing free flowing beautiful football but the facts of the matter are that you will win nothing playing like that anymore. I would also tell you that the change came in long before 2012 as Armagh, Meath & Tyrone wont through doggedness, toughness & team spirit while Donegal were being beaten out of sight playing "nice football". Much the same as Galway at the moment in fact. I can guarantee you this if McGuinness rolled up in Salthill tomorrow morning & offered his services to Galway they would wouldn't be long signing him up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 16/06/2013 21:01:54    1408221

MourneArmy
County: Down

I would love to say next weekends game will be another cracker (like the Derry-Down game), but Donegal tend to bring the worst out in teams. Down will need to play defensively to stay in the game, Donegal could well be the more attacking side. I actually expect Down to dominate possession, but Donegal to win picking off Down on the counter attack.

------

Spot on!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 16/06/2013 21:02:26    1408223

MuckrossHead

Ashure, We would all like to be playing free flowing beautiful football but the facts of the matter are that you will win nothing playing like that anymore. I would also tell you that the change came in long before 2012 as Armagh, Meath & Tyrone wont through doggedness, toughness & team spirit while Donegal were being beaten out of sight playing "nice football". Much the same as Galway at the moment in fact. I can guarantee you this if McGuinness rolled up in Salthill tomorrow morning & offered his services to Galway they would wouldn't be long signing him up.

-----

I agree with with you for the most part, it still doesn't make it easy to see the way the game is gone. There is a lot similarities between the Donegal of 2010 and the Galway of now, as you coined it playing "nice football" and being "nice footballers". Galway is crying out for a McGuinness type figure to lead us out these darker times and get with the modern game but its just difficult to see the style of play Galway have traditionally used now being redundant.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 16/06/2013 21:12:56    1408239

I shouldn't get involved, I don't want but I can't help myself. This absolute cr@p being spouted about Northern teams and the football played. I would ask you to please consider The Meath v Cork matches of the late 80's. Cynicism brought to a new level. Dublin '83? Please. Ulster teams of early' 90s played great stuff. In my opinion, most turgid football of recent times in my opinion has been played by likes of Cork and Dublin. Corks ball carrying physical style is a version of Rugby League and Dublin, well if the '11 semi was as bad as it was, it took two to tango. I seem to remember the Donegal v Kildare match before that being a classic!

Big problem Southerners have is our success, the Southern media is very teed off by our unwillingness to roll over for the' traditional powers' and hence their bitterness about Ulster success sets the tone for those that know no better and rely on lazy soundbites from certain pundits.

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 16/06/2013 21:32:25    1408264