Players Attitude

Mary O'Rourke has a good agony aunt column in the Indo.Might be worth a shot

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1081 - 23/04/2013 12:59:31    1372281

I have had experience of managing a minor team so know the difficulties with this age given that there are new distractions that maybe weren't there at the previous age groups i.e. women, drink, discos, egos, women and drink. I believe that if you set out to manage the team only then you are on a hiding to nothing. Any squad will be made up of 20-30 individuals with different takes on life so if you try and apply a panacea approach then you can run in to problems. I have found that as well as managing the team if you manage the individual alongside that then you find you have more control and a more harmonious team.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/04/2013 12:59:49    1372282

Horsebox77, the best way is to simply, turn them on eachother. Goalpost to goalpost a few times when someone does it, and let them all know who is to blame. Someone has something about it? Then do it again. They will soon weed out the instigators themselves. It is always mob rule with that age group, the trick is to get the mob on your side. If any of them are good players and guys that the rest follow then empower them a little, give then some responsibilty - the footballer in them will come through.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/04/2013 13:12:17    1372289

Snufalufagus

Jesus was big into humility as well Snuff
-----------------------------------------------------

Hmmm, not so sure!

He did have to keep proving himself right all the time and had lots of lads following him around!.....so the similarities between him and myself on this site are uncanny!
....and as the son of God, I think he had a little bit of a head start too...dont you!

Snuff, I suspect that that's as close to humility as we are going to get!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 23/04/2013 13:52:23    1372308

Find an opposition you know are much better than them for another club. You ref the game and let very little go for your own lads. When they get beaten, physically and on the scoreboard you can come back in the dressing room and tell the troublemakers that all talk and no walk will just mean embarrassment every game. Some will leave but those that stay will give their all.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8606 - 23/04/2013 14:13:43    1372326

Snuff, I suspect that that's as close to humility as we are going to get!
---------------------------------------

Thats a bit harsh!
You are forgetting about the time I thought I was wrong about something....but I was wrong!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/04/2013 14:15:08    1372328

A bit of divide and conquer is the way to go as The Master alluded to. People are like sheep, especially teens and mob rule is the norm at that age. Get the majority on your side and before long the wasters will either toe the line or have ****** off.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 23/04/2013 14:35:55    1372341

Get the majority on your side and before long the wasters will either toe the line or have ****** off.

That approach might work for clubs who have the size of a panel/pool of players which affords them this luxury. Unfortunately from my experience of a small rural club every player counts so alienating them or basically telling them where to go isn't an option if you want to be able to field a team. This is where I find managing the individual as well as the team is beneficial. Also I found that taking this approach and treating them like an adult meant we had no behaviour problems the entire season despite having one or two potential distractions in the squad.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/04/2013 15:40:37    1372393

Thanks folks, plenty of pros and cons for all the advise posted. Ye have given me plenty food for thought to consider before our next get together appreciate it.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/04/2013 20:04:34    1372569

Credit where credit is due, brilliant and very helpful post from SNUFF.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/04/2013 20:15:35    1372577

For a change athclaith!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 23/04/2013 20:43:57    1372590

5934 posts snuff and the first one that was enjoyable and constructive! Credit were credit is due! Horse how much influence have the senior lads? It's hard to control young lads but maybe the senior lads could take a few sessions and give the lads someone to look up too. There is probably little you can do but team building away from football that might teach them respect, I know this is a sports forum but the suicide rate in young men in Kerry is very high and its very important to keep young lads involved in sport to keep them involved in a team and a community and it gives them a few nights a week of fun and enjoyment.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/04/2013 21:09:29    1372605

TheGateKeeper

1372590 For a change athclaith! [/u

haha,
maybe SNUFF will take heed of parts of his own post.
but it was a good post.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/04/2013 21:15:59    1372608

In know west that is one issue I personally have, I;'d hate to cast anyone aside or to make an example of someone for that very reason, I'd hate for any of my actions to have repercussions it is only sport at the end of the day but still in all if you are giving your time to someone or something one might as well be constructive and try to bring it places. With regrad to snuff, yes I've already posted my thanks but yes today I read a different side to him.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/04/2013 21:18:16    1372612

I know horse but you can only do your best at the end of the day. Unfortunately I don't think you can change attitudes , all you can do is set the tone at training and have lots of patience for the messers in the group.
I remember underage football the messing etc that went on but you look back and really respect the time and effort the coaches gave you.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/04/2013 21:33:05    1372620

Don't believe in making examples , do believe in treating all the same ,
Set the rules
Language
Treatment of equipment
Timekeeping
How team is picked match day based on attendance , attitude etc
Give kids and their parents a copy of the rules and ask them to sign ( ideally as early as possible nursery etc ) do this yearly
Stick to rules ,be prepared to lose a game rather than facilitate someone who has broken the rules .
Dont scream or shout , take aside and explain , sometimes they answer back through embarrassment of being chastised in front of peers .
Kids in some disadvantaged areas may not have a lot in common with some of their teammates , ( big social extremes kids wise in my own club ) however when they step through the gates of the club they get to leave that all behind , for they ARE EQUAL , get treated as such .
Biggest mistake is agreeing with all of above then come match day going against principles and picking the best players regardless , you lose more players over time and are not guaranteed to hold onto the mouthy ones anyway .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/04/2013 13:44:50    1372873