2 Best Midfielders in the Country

Cant be having MDM , not a scoring threat , decision making suspect , funnily still our best midfielder
A Walsh
S Cavanagh
Followed by Colm Begley

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/04/2013 14:19:53    1369791

Scrambler

Lads I honestly do not see what others do in John Heslin, he's good but he's not as good as many people are making him out to be. The two best midfielders i have seen this year are Johnny Buckley (kerry) and Sean Hurley (kildare)

you dont rate heslin but in the next line claim johnny buckley and sean hurley the best haha
that to me is madness.
Im amazed to see nobody mention john o loughlin off laois.I have seen him dominate games alone and in dublin club football he is by far the best midfielder and can kick 3 or 4 points a game from play,I think he even played centre back for laois a couple weeks ago and kicked a goal and 2 points,definatly worth a mention.
on mdma I think he should be applauded for knowing when he cant score to lay it off,we all know he cant kick points so he does the sensible thing and give the ball to a player who can kick them,i would rather see him do that then baloon it a mile wide.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 14:33:19    1369804

hill16no1man

1369804 Scrambler

on mdma I think he should be applauded for knowing when he cant score to lay it off,we all know he cant kick points so he does the sensible thing and give the ball to a player who can kick them,i would rather see him do that then baloon it a mile wide.

I agree. At least he knows his limits. He does set up quite a few scores.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 18/04/2013 15:20:57    1369861

Our own Michael Finneran hasn't got a mention yet. He's been our most improved player over the last five years and has played against all the top midfielders named here and more than held his own.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 18/04/2013 19:52:28    1370056

I think MDMCs up there, his work rates brilliant, he breaks tackles as if they aren't there and hes good in the air aswell. His main problems are his rash tackling, and to a lesser extent his shooting which I don't think he particularly needs as long as he can get his head up and pass. His stupid tackling can be very frustrating though.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 18/04/2013 20:43:41    1370088

Gary Brennan from Clare deserves a mention, Quality player!

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 478 - 25/04/2013 15:48:30    1373699

John Galvin and anyone else.......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/04/2013 15:55:59    1373710

Aidan Walsh and John Galvin.

Don't see what the fuss is around O'Shea. He can kick the odd point but as far as general midfield play he is no better than around 15 other intercounty players I can think of. He is going to have to make the step soon from exciting underage talent to a dominating senior player. He's not even at the level yet of recent Mayo midfielders Garrity, Harte or Heaney.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 25/04/2013 16:30:22    1373742

John Galvin and Sean Cavanagh

Hardasnails (Monaghan) - Posts: 288 - 25/04/2013 17:36:12    1373816

has john galvin played any competitive football this year ?.............he's a basket ball player mainly isn't he ?.....

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 25/04/2013 18:20:57    1373846

Tomás Ó Floinn, Baile Átha an Rí agus Fiontán Ó Curraoin as Cumann Mícheal Breathnach.

No there yet, but are getting there.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1702 - 25/04/2013 19:07:43    1373888

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

has john galvin played any competitive football this year ?.............he's a basket ball player mainly isn't he ?.....

He has come off the bench in our last 2-3 league games, and is set to start on Saturday against Offaly. You'll all see how a midfielder should play the game ;)

To answer your second question...no. No he isn't.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 26/04/2013 08:57:31    1374000

Gary Brennan from Clare is without doubt the finest all round midfielder in the country at present. Has dominated the last couple of railway cup matches in that position, MD McCauley got an all mighty roasting from him in Parnell Park as have plenty of other better known players.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 26/04/2013 09:41:44    1374025

galoping gazele

Have to say I was really impressed with David Givney at the sigerson weekend. In himself and Gearoid McKiernan Cavan have the potential to have a titanic midfield. Paddy Keenan is pure quality too, and is probably the most technically gifted midfielder in the country along with Aidan Walsh. John Galvin is a collossis on his day, but mobility is now somewhat restricted with injuries and natural progression! For box to box midfielders, Sean Cavanagh is probably the best along with Murphy from Carlow and MDMC.
But judging on level of performances, consistency, and quality of opposition, i would have to pick Aidan O'Shea and Neil Gallagher.

Breffni39

Lots of guys mentioning Givney and fair play but if it's scoring midfielders you're after, Gearoid McKiernan is worth considering. Wouldn't consider either of them for the two best midfielders in Ireland......yet :)

I'd have to agree on Givney. Himself and O'Shea looked like the best midfield pairing in the country over the Sigerson weekend.

They absolutely dominated things in the semi and final, and made it look easy. O'Shea controlled things from kickouts and has incredible ability to hold onto the ball once he wins it in the air, while Givney played more of an attacking role and kicked some great score.

McKiernan had been playing a bit in the forward line for Cavan recently though hasn't he? Think he lined up there against us last year anyways. Would certainly be one of the stronger midfields around if he comes back fit next year and gets back to anywhere near the level he looked like he had the potential to reach before injury.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/04/2013 14:15:47    1374298

Big Neil Gallagher was brilliant last summer especially at the business end of the championship against Kerry, Cork & Mayo. His fielding & quick distribution were a crucial part of the AI win. He's had a couple of injuries this winter but Donegal really need him if they are to succeed.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/04/2013 14:21:30    1374308

Heslin ,mc cauley

burstpipes (Cork) - Posts: 68 - 27/04/2013 14:02:30    1374691

Walsh and Heslin. Both are scoring midfielders which is a big asset to any team. Heslin will get a chance tomorrow to display his talents to all.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1084 - 27/04/2013 14:44:35    1374706

Hopefully Matthew. One thing I really hope is that he gets some sort of protection from the ref, something he hasn't been getting in the last few games.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 27/04/2013 14:56:30    1374714

Sean hurley

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 27/04/2013 15:35:35    1374737

The Hurley post is obviously ridiculous but then I can't believe everyone is saying Cavanagh. Padraig O'Neill took him for three points before he got moved into the forwards against us. And he wasn't exactly winning a load of ball either.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/04/2013 16:21:20    1374752