Dublin v Mayo

I've watched it again on the telly last night there was nothing in the Cillian O Conor hit on Jonny Cooper, it should never have been a booking it was an accidental hand in the face nothing more than that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/04/2013 14:55:57    1368063

Bluewave
Lads please do not let the Master give you a disjointed view on Mayo supporters. Some of my best mates have played/ are playing for Mayo and they would laugh at some of his observations of yesterday's game.

Really? Well since my analysis is quite similar to james horan's, let's hope they are not laughing too loud or the lads that 'are playing' for mayo, might be joining the lads who 'have played'...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 15:16:33    1368089

jimbo, brogan got his scores, im not denying that, I just thought that every time there was a tussle between them, cafferkey aquitted himself very well, dispossessing him several times and generally making brogan seem uncomfortable with with his presence, not many have managed this in 2013. Guys were saying he hadnt a hope on him after brogan got 1-10 last time out, I am just trying to add some balance.

Agree with you I thought Cafferkey had a good game on him and stuck tight. Brogan was feeding off scraps for most of the day and looked a bit rusty but Cafferkey stuck to the task. I don't understand why AOS didn't start in the middle and Horan knowing that Cian is makeshift. O'Shea was arguably Mayo's best player and they probably would have won midfield had he been there for 70.

Still think Mayo will be contenders in the Summer. A lot of players to come back to bolster that side and they have tonnes of experience. Definitely not to be taken lightly.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 15/04/2013 15:26:05    1368100

Ah now c'mon the master!!! Most people in here at the time including the mayo lads said it was a very harsh red that McCarthy got. Strike to the face intent or not RED!! Anyway my point being that perhaps you should have used that as an example to show your point about the ref as rightly people are assuming you're grouching about the ref from a mayo point of view. Clondalkin there nothing in the McCarthy incident either but to the letter of the law he had to go. So should O'Connor have. Why did he gets yellow so? Look it didn't matter in the end but it's either a rule or not.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 15:38:07    1368114

You are right about AOS Joxer, I think it is only a matter of time before he goes back to mf. We just need an outlet further up the field with dillon and moran out. I thought dublin were exceptional on the breaks in the first half, it really set them up in their period of dominance and played a huge part in the way the game panned out. They are the only team that has done that to mayo around the middle for a sustained period in our current guise.
I am actually hoping we meet further down the line and that both teams are at full strength and firing. The open football that gets played when they meet would make it a fantastic game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 15:44:58    1368122

Jackeen, you seem to be trying to punish o'connor because you didnt agree with the mccarthy decision. I mean, shouldnt the fact that you are saying it was harsh mean that he in fact shouldnt have gotten sent off in your eyes? Also, if any connection with the face is a red then what about an accidental high tackle? (which is what o'connors was in my opinion) He got a yellow because it was awkward, and because of this, possibly dangerous. To put it simply, I didnt use this example because I think the ref got it right.

I mean it is easy to force this absolute version of the rules onto teams, but a little disengenuous. For instance, cluxton made a save from doherty, a very good one in fact, he then stopped doherty from regaining the rebound by playing the ball on the ground with his hand. By the letter of the law he has stopped a certain goal illegally by deliberately fouling the ball, should he have gone too? I would say no on both instances.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 15:56:47    1368131

Bluewave
Lads please do not let the Master give you a disjointed view on Mayo supporters. Some of my best mates have played/ are playing for Mayo and they would laugh at some of his observations of yesterday's game.

Really? Well since my analysis is quite similar to james horan's, let's hope they are not laughing too loud or the lads that 'are playing' for mayo, might be joining the lads who 'have played'...

Lol a good response my partizan Mayo friend :-)

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 15/04/2013 16:10:47    1368143

No I don't think either should have been sent off but rules are rules. I can't comment on the Cluxton issue cos I don't remember it. All I'm saying is that IMO to the letter of the law he should have gotten red. Same as McCarthy. Brennan got a red for putting his arms up to defend himself when vaughan charged on him. He may have gotten red anyway for the kicking the ball incident. A down player struck Kevin O'Brien in the face off the ball and no red. It either is or isn't a red if you hit somebody in the face!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 16:15:44    1368147

Jackeen
No I don't think either should have been sent off but rules are rules. I can't comment on the Cluxton issue cos I don't remember it. All I'm saying is that IMO to the letter of the law he should have gotten red. Same as McCarthy.

But you dont have to remember it, I have just explained it to you. He saved a shot then as both he and doherty went for the rebound he touched the ball on the ground with his hand. So if o'connor was going off in the last few minutes of the game, then cluxton would have been gone in the first few... Again I state, knowing how people jump onto things without reading them fully, I dont think either should have gone. Also, for the record, I dont think what o'connor did is on a par with what mccarthy did. You cant swing your elbow, ever, you can put your hand out in front of you on occasion. It is then up to te ref to interpret how that was intended.

Brennan got a red for putting his arms up to defend himself when vaughan charged on him. He may have gotten red anyway for the kicking the ball incident. A down player struck Kevin O'Brien in the face off the ball and no red. It either is or isn't a red if you hit somebody in the face!!

How do you know he didnt get the red for the first incident? I would say he was doing more than defending himself, as would a lot of people, but even if he wasnt, how do 2 wrongs make a right?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 16:45:10    1368174

Mayos keeper was poor.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 15/04/2013 16:55:53    1368184

The master perhaps you should read what I said " perhaps he got red for kicking the player on the ground anyway" we won't know.
IMO all Brennan did was defend himself from vaughans charge.
It's my opinion! You don't think O'Connors strike was worse than McCarthys. I think it was. You can't strike a player in the face...ever!! Just because you think it's ok to push your hand out and strike an opponents face doesn't mean it is. What do you mean how do two wrongs make a right?

I'm not accepting what you say happened with Cluxton until I view it myself.

This argument is futile. We don't agree. No biggie!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 17:09:00    1368194

Jackeen
The master perhaps you should read what I said " perhaps he got red for kicking the player on the ground anyway" we won't know.

So then how can you use it as a part of your argument?

IMO all Brennan did was defend himself from vaughans charge. It's my opinion!

Fine. But I feel I should point out to you that your opinion is wrong, however you are entitled to have it, wrong as it is.

You don't think O'Connors strike was worse than McCarthys. I think it was. You can't strike a player in the face...ever!!

No you cant, but if it happens accidentally while you are trying to do something else then it isnt a sending off offence, it is a yellow. However, there is no use for the elbow in the gaa, he couldnt have been using his elbow fairly and accidentally hit the guy. You could do so with a hand.

Just because you think it's ok to push your hand out and strike an opponents face doesn't mean it is. What do you mean how do two wrongs make a right?

Again, I never said it was, I said it wasnt a sending off, which I explained in the above. two wrongs dont make a right in the sense that if one decision was wrong you cant punish everyone else out of spite for the first decision.

I'm not accepting what you say happened with Cluxton until I view it myself.

I will ignore how unreasonable that is, and how that isnt actually possible unless you didnt see the match, as there was a free given for it whcih o'connor pointed. Let us say hypothetically, what I explained occured in a match somewhere out there, that has to be a red also doesnt it?

This argument is futile. We don't agree. No biggie!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 17:42:23    1368224

It may not have looked like it but the game was a great learning experience for both teams. For Mayo it is clear that we need AOS in midfield and nowhere else, Clarke needs to learn from Cluxton and have a different idea than just kicking straight down the middle. Any time Dublin scored or kicked the ball dead he waited for everyone to get back in position before he kicked it whereas down the other end Cluxton was nearly putting the ball on the tee before the ball hit the ground. Things like this go unnoticed but can be hugely influential on the end result. Donie Vaughan...well he just has to go. Hes so frustrating to watch. Caught one brilliant ball then kicked it away. Its stuff like that that breaks my heart. He gets back to slow and leaves a huge gap that any half decent forward can expose. For Dublin Jonny Cooper was bet time and again by Mickey Conroy who was our best forward by a long way partly because of this. Cian O'Sullivan won't be able to compete against the best midfielders in the country. Jason Gibbons isn't up to intercounty standard imo but then again we don't have a huge number to pick from.

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 15/04/2013 17:47:31    1368235

Mayo really need to address their defence as Dublin could have scored five or six yesterday. You cannot continue to allow teams 7 - 10 point starts and expect to win.

It may make for open and exciting football but Mayo are not good enough in other parts of the field to make up for an open defence. Dublin are & can afford that strategy but Mayo may have to learn the lesson that a tight defence is not the same as negative football.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/04/2013 17:55:42    1368242

"Fine. But I feel I should point out to you that your opinion is wrong, however you are entitled to have it, wrong as it is"

Jesus wept!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 18:05:43    1368250

Jackeen

"Fine. But I feel I should point out to you that your opinion is wrong, however you are entitled to have it, wrong as it is"

Jesus wept!

Jackeen,

No man who is ever exposed to the Master in full on self righteous mode emerges from the experience unscathed!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/04/2013 18:16:02    1368259

Or woman!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 18:28:26    1368265

hound
The Mayo Keeper is David Clarke which every real gaa fan in the country knows. David was his consistent excellent self yesterday and made a number of excellent saves as did "Dublins keeper"!!!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/04/2013 19:09:47    1368288

Jackeen

Or woman!

My apologies Jackeen, I thought the "een" referred to your youth.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/04/2013 19:30:06    1368303

very impressed with Dublin yesterday,took us a bit too get started 12 minutes roughly which is bit alarming but can be rectified but I guess the wind played a big factor to but once Dublin got off the mark it was lights out for mayo the 2 goals clinical finishing too I might add just knocked the stuffing out of mayo and we kept ahead all the time.the game was over in the first half we took some great points brogan connooly Andrews all played there part cooper was immense again and stevo behind the posts was ice cold made 3-4 clinical saves.thought the ref was poor didn't give us much and how he can let a mayo player foul someone let play continue and get a point then call the player back for a yellow card is beyond me too many occasions mc quillan gave wrong decsions we were been fouled and mayo getting the decisions,i feel if it was a closer game the ref could have cost us dearly imo anyway,
fair play to mayo also they gave a good account of themselves and it made for a very interesting game no doubt we will see yous later in the championship all the best !!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 15/04/2013 19:52:47    1368324