Dublin v Mayo

Mayo are not suddenly a useless side though, first off Cian o Neills influence seemed to be missing,the intensity and speed of last year is not there yet.Now whether this is programmed to set in later on or its down to o neill not being there anymore is something i dont know, im just hoping its the former.

Because we were really flying in last year's league final when o'neill was there werent we? Surely the fact that we mixed it very well with both donegal and cork shows that the above is inaccurate? You are grasping at straws here. Im not that bothered about it. Dublin showed far more of their championship hand yesterday than we did. Mayo were never at championship intensity, they werent even trying to stop cluxtons kick outs. The way I look at it, if higgins was there the first goal wouldnt have happened, and I would say dillon, and the 2 morans are good enough for 3 points between them. The best thing we can do is forget about this game, because it wasnt a reflection of our capability. I believe it to be a blessing in disguise.

Two things that stuck out in my mind yesterday were two very bad calls from the ref. The first was the over-carrying call on kevin mcloughlin - frankly ridiculous, and the other was when the ball hopped up into alan murphy hands when he was 1 on 1 with the keeper and the ref gave a free out. 2 very basic decisions that the ref inexplicably got wrong. I think we should expect better.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 11:45:40    1367834

Yes Master whatever you say master.Is your word the final word on this because of your dominant language on the net.

wayup outa that. Mayo were far too slow in nearly every sector yesterday, we are four weeks sunday away from Salthill encounter.Now if you are aware of the specifics of Mayos trainning prog and we will be flying in the short period it is to the Galway game, thats fair enough but i am not ,what i am aware of is what i see with my two eyes,intensity levels of last year are not there.Contary to the context of your post , i heard some of the players were devastated about o Neills departure

Can you point out to me where our forward play has improved? That was the motive behind bringing Buckley in wasnt it?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/04/2013 12:02:18    1367858

Master, I think you will find that the statistics prove that McQuillan gave far more to Mayo than to Dublin and some of the decisions were pretty bizarre. Perhaps an attempt to bring Mayo back into a game they could have lost by 15/16 points?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/04/2013 12:04:54    1367860

Okay performance from the Dubs. Neither side anywhere near Championship intensity. Actually think that the earlier league match between the 2 sides was of a higher intensity.

Dublin played for a few minutes when the goals went in and then coasted through the rest of the game.

Happy that Gavin continues to give some new players a chance. Whelan came in for his first start yesterday and responded well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 15/04/2013 12:05:55    1367861

hurlingdub

Master, I think you will find that the statistics prove that McQuillan gave far more to Mayo than to Dublin and some of the decisions were pretty bizarre. Perhaps an attempt to bring Mayo back into a game they could have lost by 15/16 points?

I think the free count was 27-13. You can guess who got the 27.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/04/2013 12:14:59    1367868

51longago
Yes Master whatever you say master.Is your word the final word on this because of your dominant language on the net.

Well it is a better alternative than listening to your erroneous and illogical version of events. Do you suggest people dont correct your blatent oversights and just let you off on a inaccurate rant? Agreeing with you as often as possible? How were o'neill's new team going by the way? Big improvements on last year for kerry isnt there? How were their intensity levels in castlebar?

You say intensity levels were not there, yes, intensity levels of the latter stages of last years championship were not there, it is april if im not mistaken. I ask again, how were those intensity levels going in last years league final when o'neill was around? As regards our forward play, conroy has improved hugely since this time last year, oconnor is back playing in the corner - his best position, doherty has clearly bulked up and his free taking has improved, as has mcloughlins, and cathal carolan has emerged as a real option at wing forward. We also managed to beat both cork and donegal, and score 16 points against dublin, twice, without our 2 marquee forwards. Not a bad piece of work in 3 months by anyone's standards.

hurlingdub, Im not saying who he favoured or didnt favour, I am pointing out two very very basic decisions that he got wrong. On both occasions the guy was standing with nobody near them in plain view of the ref. They were against mayo this time, they could be against dublin the next time. The point is standards should be higher.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 12:23:18    1367877

The master I feel you're not looking at this game objectively. James McCarthy got red for swinging his elbow back accidentally against Dillon in the league last year. O'Connor does the same yesterday then scores a point from it. Ref allows point and gives yellow. Bad call!! You can add all the ifs and buts you want. If Higgins was there he may or may not have stopped the goal. If ROC was there mayo might not have scored as much either. You said the Dubs feared Kevin McLoughlin? How so? Also I wouldn't say Cafferky shackled Brogan when he got 4 from play and a free. He had a better game on him this time round for sure but shackled....eh no!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2013 12:24:26    1367879

The Master is definitely the most biased poster on this site.

Anyway good win for the lads yesterday although to be honest the game lacked any sort of intensity at all.

For me Michael Dara McCauley was the stand out player. He was absolutely brilliant and I felt he should of got man of the match.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 15/04/2013 12:33:37    1367887

I would agree with you generally Master regarding reffing standards. Far too arbitary. There was also incident in first half of Tyrone-Kildare when a Tyrone back was penalised for shouldering a Kildare player over the line for what should have been a 45. Black card will just make things worse.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/04/2013 12:41:03    1367897

Lol. Master you convince yourself there if you
want.Im not for turning on this one.Our intensity level against Kerry in league semi were sound and percentage wise about a thirty point swing.last year.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/04/2013 12:42:55    1367901

I would not be to worried about yesterdays result.Getting to an semi final and an extra match in Croke park was a bonus considering we were headin for division 2 a few weeks ago. I believe we are in a good place now and look forward to a hard match against Galway in championship where hopefully we will have the majority of our players back from injury. I believe we will get harder tests in Connaught this year with the reemergence of Roscommon if we get past Galway which will prepare us for the latter end of the championship if we get there. Only problem I see is the strength and debt of our squad. When we get Dillon, the two Morans and higgins back out starting 15 will match most in the country but if we get an injury we are in trouble.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 15/04/2013 12:44:25    1367904

Jackeen

1367879 The master I feel you're not looking at this game objectively. James McCarthy got red for swinging his elbow back accidentally against Dillon in the league last year. O'Connor does the same yesterday then scores a point from it. Ref allows point and gives yellow. Bad call!! You can add all the ifs and buts you want. If Higgins was there he may or may not have stopped the goal. If ROC was there mayo might not have scored as much either. You said the Dubs feared Kevin McLoughlin? How so? Also I wouldn't say Cafferky shackled Brogan when he got 4 from play and a free. He had a better game on him this time round for sure but shackled....eh no!!

100% agree jackeen.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 15/04/2013 12:49:09    1367908

The Master my god I thought I was biased ha you take it to another level, basically The Master what your trying to say is Mayo are the best and that if this had of happened and if that had of happened and if he was playing and if your man wasn't playing Mayo would have won , all if but's and Maybe's The Master. If you took your Mayo hat off for a minute and looked at everything you said you could say the exact same thing about Dublin .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/04/2013 12:50:42    1367909

No point picking over the remains of this particular game...

Better team won... both sides missing big players

Thought the ref made some rather strange calls at times regarding both teams... def balanced itself out.

Ifs, buts... Nah... Not for a game like this...

Mayo couldn't live with Dublin for a large spell of the 1st half out scoring Mayo 2-9 - 3 points from the 12th minute onwards

That was the winning of the game... and we just kept Mayo at arms length for the rest.

Never allowing them to get close enough to throw a big right hook

Which was very good play from ourselves. We kept the gap and the scores ticking over

Slightly OTT relating to Brogan themaster... he scored 4 from play + 1 free and had 3 assists including the 2nd goal

A great run out considering his lengthy gap between games... it was always going to be a big ask to score 1-10 again :)

Mayo are a very good team and when everyone returns they will be in with a decent shout come September...

Few concerns over their squad though… but they made a semi-final after it looked like they may go down at one stage

So all and all it was decent league for Mayo... so upwards and onwards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/04/2013 13:08:50    1367926

1367834 Mayo are not suddenly a useless side though, first off Cian o Neills influence seemed to be missing,the intensity and speed of last year is not there yet.Now whether this is programmed to set in later on or its down to o neill not being there anymore is something i dont know, im just hoping its the former.

Because we were really flying in last year's league final when o'neill was there werent we? Surely the fact that we mixed it very well with both donegal and cork shows that the above is inaccurate? You are grasping at straws here. Im not that bothered about it. Dublin showed far more of their championship hand yesterday than we did. Mayo were never at championship intensity, they werent even trying to stop cluxtons kick outs. The way I look at it, if higgins was there the first goal wouldnt have happened, and I would say dillon, and the 2 morans are good enough for 3 points between them. The best thing we can do is forget about this game, because it wasnt a reflection of our capability. I believe it to be a blessing in disguise.

And what hand would that be, that gavin is gonna start with 15 players in the championship,
always find it funny when i hear that line trotted out.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/04/2013 13:34:32    1367957

Hi lads,

Analysis of Dublin's win over Mayo now up http://action81.com/blog/?p=7109

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 15/04/2013 13:55:56    1367995

Lads please do not let the Master give you a disjointed view on Mayo supporters. Some of my best mates have played/ are playing for Mayo and they would laugh at some of his observations of yesterday's game. That ref yesterday again proved that he is not up to the job, O'Connor straight red plain and simply , Connoly was been fouled for the whole game yet he was ignored but the way in which he disrupts the flow of the game is a travesty and very disruptive to Dublin's style of play. In the summer I really dont want to see him near a Dublin game. It's April Mayo are a good team but Horan can't have it both ways last year he bigged up the fact Mayo defeated Dublin in league this year Dublin have defeated them quite easily twice and he attempts to brush it under the carpet I think this is his last year in the Mayo hotseat in my opinion.

Mayo with the 2Morans and Higgins will undoubtly be a better team but I think this young Dublin team have made some statements of intent this spring, I think the only team that can live with Dublin in an open game shootout is Kerry and that should be the biggest lesson Mayo take away from yesterday.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 15/04/2013 14:18:49    1368034

People really need to read what is being said and not make assumptions. Im not saying mayo should have won,or are the best team, Im saying we werent as far away as the likes of 51longago seem to be thinking. And that a few little things could have made a difference. We deserved to lose, but there are some saying that mayo are basically alsorans, that just isnt the case. Im not knocking dublin at all. They deserved to win, I am simply pointing out the positives for our side.

Jackeen, Im not saying the ref was for or against anyone, Im saying two decisions he made were very poor decisions, yes they happened to be against mayo, but this is not basis of the argument. Im saying the standard shown in these instances was very poor and we should expect better, not that he was biased.
As for my point about mcloughlin, they had men around him at all times. Again Im not knocking dublin, I was pointing it out to show my fellow mayomen who seem to be a bit despondent that teams are worried about mayo, and are taking action to counter them. The dubs were right to double up on him, he is a very influencial player.
As regards the o'connor incident, I would say there is a difference between an elbow and the action that occured in this incident. Players use hand-offs all the time in the gaa, if his hand had connected with the guys chest and not his head there would have been no issue at all. You couldnt say the same of an elbow. It was dangerous because it was a little high, but I dont think there was intent to do harm, in that sense I would say it was kind of like a tackle that is a little high.

ConnollyDub, what is biased about what I said?

51, you still ignore the fact that we were even worse in the league final last year, when o'neill was there. You mention the kerry game from last year, but then I can make the same point about the donegal game this year. Your argument about o'neill hasnt a leg to stand on. Im not knocking the guy, Im saying there is no evidence to attribute these issues to his absence.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 14:19:48    1368036

jimbo, brogan got his scores, im not denying that, I just thought that every time there was a tussle between them, cafferkey aquitted himself very well, dispossessing him several times and generally making brogan seem uncomfortable with with his presence, not many have managed this in 2013. Guys were saying he hadnt a hope on him after brogan got 1-10 last time out, I am just trying to add some balance.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 14:24:48    1368039

on the ref.Havent watched it on tv and nobody has mentioned it on here so maybe ive got it wrong.

Cillians goal attempt, when he shot it was saved or blocked by cluxton,Cillian turned to retrive the ball,did cluxton not blatantly trip him hand onto ankle?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/04/2013 14:27:14    1368043