Horan out.At Mayo Dublin match today and think that for James Horan to stand on side line with arms folded while your centre back went completely AWOL .DID HE NOT SEE THE HUGH GAP OR WHAT.Defend first lads and go forward when you have cover.U8 lesson one..........
gerrymack (Mayo) - Posts: 35 - 14/04/2013 21:27:46
Decent performance.
Thought Brogan despite missing the last few games through injury and looking a little rusty still had a very solid game
4 from play and 1 free - left and right foot scores
Point of the game goes to Connolly in the first half - what a score.
Mannion is a classy foorballer... what a goal! Slightly concerned about his overall strength come the championship
Great game from my fellow club men today.. proud moment to see that ball fly into the top corner
Hope Paul Flynn is ok... looked like the same old problem for Paul! We'll need him for the final...
Hopefully CK will be pushing to be fit too...
Jaysus when you think that Costello / Hudson are still just waiting... dissapointed that we didnt see more of these two massive prospects in the league.
Thought Ger and Steo were great today
Steo's kick out to Ger in the first half that let to the goal was sublime... over his shoulder, didnt have to break stride with the catch
Fantastic pace and accuracy about that goal from start to finish
Gaelic Football perfected in fact. Just fantastic to watch... have a look at it again... peach.
Very happy and we've another National final to look forward too and another big game in Croke Park before the championship
Ideal preparation
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/04/2013 21:28:17
I think its obvious that we're a very hungry team this year : )
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 14/04/2013 21:28:26
yeah, time to forget about vaughan
beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 14/04/2013 21:37:49
Hard luck Mayo far better team than they showed today in sport it happens. They don't warrant the critism they are receiving its April and they are a top 5 team. Gibbons isn't up to it at midfield I think Barry Moran would have made a difference add in Dillon & A. Moran and the Mayo starting 15 is a match for anyone unfortunately like Donegal the Mayo panel is weak outside of the starting 15. As for Dublin goals win matches and they certainly won the game today, Berno didn't look fully fit but his class still shone at times, Mannion is the find of the league for Dublin in my opinion coupled with Sullivan's transformation into a midfield warrior.
Cluxton simply sublime bit over worked for my liking and credit to Mayo for never throwing the towel in. Best of luck for the Nestor !
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 14/04/2013 21:43:23
Ciarrai Abu County: Overseas Posts: 896
1367646 Glad to see all the mayo lads escaped without needing a tetanus shot!!
Oh yeah that story... we'll soon be chomping at the bit again... another national final to look forward too :)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/04/2013 21:45:56
Poor refereeing today.
I don't know what the free count for each team was like but I wouldn't be surprised if it was 4 to 1 in favour of Mayo, at least it felt like it.
How many times were Dublin forwards dragged to the ground and a free out was given... Mayo lads lying on the ball and no free given, plus the punch prior to the point that shouldn't have been awarded.
Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 14/04/2013 21:56:28
Horan out is a bit harsh to say the least! Stick Higgans at 6 and its only April lads. Let the the Dublin hype machine kick into top gear!
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 14/04/2013 21:59:37
Beacaire Gorm County: Dublin Posts: 523
1367688 Poor refereeing today. Referee was dreadful at times, pulling and dragging shirts, players wrestled to the ground, some strange interpretations of the rules.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 15/04/2013 08:31:22
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10055
1367674 Ciarrai Abu County: Overseas Posts: 896
1367646 Glad to see all the mayo lads escaped without needing a tetanus shot!!
Ah now... we just like a dollop of Kerry gold when we want a snack.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 15/04/2013 08:41:37
Dublin gave us a footballing lesson yesterday no two ways about it. Mannion, Brennan, Whelan and Brogan all class. The difference between the teams is Dublin have class forwards and we don't. It is as simple as that lads. I think we had 6 or 7 goal chances yesterday and took none. Dublin got two quick goals which allowed them to "coast" through much of the second half. It is easy to play when you are so far ahead and I admit Dublin probably did take their foot of the gas but that might be a bit too simplistic to say as all teams go through good and bad patches in games.
At times yesterday the game resembled a training session. As for Mayo, it's not the result that bothers me (as I believed Dublin would win) but the manner of it. Defence opened up too often, Midfield poor (supposed to be our strong point) and forward's taking bad shot selection, not playing a "thinking mans's" football game, for example looking up to see who is free. Having said all that I though we missed Keith Higgins running up the centre, Moran in Midfield. Also insert Andy Moran and Alan Dillon into our forward line and we become a better forward unit.
When Kevin McLoughain has a poor game, Mayo have a poor game. Horan Out is a bit daft. The thing that baffles me about him is persisting with Gibbons and midfield when we all know AOS is better in midfield and in fairness improved things when moved there. We also seemed to have a two man full forward line when 10 points down...wtf! We also has nobody winning ball from Midfield breaks and Cluxton had plenty of time to kick the ball out wide to Dublin players under no pressure.
Dublin to won out the league and I can only see Kerry stopping them. I hope our minds were on Galway in 5 weeks as we need to see big improvement. I think we will get it and Mayo will be around Croke Park later in the summer but if's it good enough to win Sam, I don't think so.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12127 - 15/04/2013 08:55:16
yew_tree County: Mayo Posts: 4365
1367712 Dublin gave us a footballing lesson yesterday no two ways about it. Mannion, Brennan, Whelan and Brogan all class. The difference between the teams is Dublin have class forwards and we don't. It is as simple as that lads. I think we had 6 or 7 goal chances yesterday and took none. Dublin got two quick goals which allowed them to "coast" through much of the second half. It is easy to play when you are so far ahead and I admit Dublin probably did take their foot of the gas but that might be a bit too simplistic to say as all teams go through good and bad patches in games.
At times yesterday the game resembled a training session. As for Mayo, it's not the result that bothers me (as I believed Dublin would win) but the manner of it. Defence opened up too often, Midfield poor (supposed to be our strong point) and forward's taking bad shot selection, not playing a "thinking mans's" football game, for example looking up to see who is free. Having said all that I though we missed Keith Higgins running up the centre, Moran in Midfield. Also insert Andy Moran and Alan Dillon into our forward line and we become a better forward unit.
When Kevin McLoughain has a poor game, Mayo have a poor game. Horan Out is a bit daft. The thing that baffles me about him is persisting with Gibbons and midfield when we all know AOS is better in midfield and in fairness improved things when moved there. We also seemed to have a two man full forward line when 10 points down...wtf! We also has nobody winning ball from Midfield breaks and Cluxton had plenty of time to kick the ball out wide to Dublin players under no pressure.
Dublin to won out the league and I can only see Kerry stopping them. I hope our minds were on Galway in 5 weeks as we need to see big improvement. I think we will get it and Mayo will be around Croke Park later in the summer but if's it good enough to win Sam, I don't think so.
yew_tree congrats on an excellent post,i feel a full strength mayo team will most definitely be around croke park in late summer,and it wouldn't surprise me if they were to win sam,mayo are a fine team,and are very very close to going all the way, but need all there players staying fit,like Donegal 2012.as for Dublin we are going well,but we will get turned over later in the year if we don't tighten up at the back,we are leaking far to many scores.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 15/04/2013 09:41:01
Was at the game yesterday and I agree there was no atmosphere, I don't believe that was a measure of Mayos abilities - besides the first 5 minutes of both halves (probably with Horans words ringing in their ears) Mayo didn't look interested. I think the crowd picked up on that and in the end the only thing to roar about was the referee.
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/04/2013 09:42:21
A few things to point out here. First, dublin were overloading mcloughlin in an attempt to stifle his influence on the game. He was double marked most of the time. Second, I dont think you can simply blame gibbons for our lack of possession in the first half, dublin had more players out there. We got more possession when we brought feeney in as this evened up the numbers out there, which brings me the your third point, the 2 man ff line. It isnt much good having 3 men inside if you cant get hold of the ball.
Also, you say we got taught a footballing lesson, yet point out we had a hatful of goal chances. We also missed a lot of scores in the first 10 minutes, when dublin looked to be in trouble. The best team won on the day, but it is worth remembering if keane hadnt let his man by him so softly for the first goal the game could have been quite different. On that topic, I feel for keane, he is a very good player, far better than he is showing, but the AI final seems to have affected him. Mannion is a good player, but there is just no way he would have breezed past keane like that this time last year. Barrett has taken his place now and maybe that is no bad thing for him, as his confidence seems low. All you have to do is look at colm boyle to see that a lad can come back stronger again, but you cant do that straight away.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2013 09:49:16
Let the the Dublin hype machine kick into top gear! DLlegends ---------------------------
Ahh Donegal, we're coming to get you!........I love the smell of fear in the morning!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/04/2013 09:57:56
Fair enough TheMaster - but failing to take goal chances will be the downfall of us unless we suddenly hit a golden patch or actually find and bring in a goal scorer. Goals win games and All Ireland champions always had goalscorers.
Our defence also has a habit of letting in goals...our last three games in Croke Park have showed us up there. We could have had a goal or two yesterday but Dublin also could have had a hat full more.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12127 - 15/04/2013 10:19:14
Sure Snuf it's all part of Donegal's master plan to get relegated and lose to Tyrone in May lol
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 15/04/2013 10:29:37
Truthfully, i was very disappointed in croker yesterday.I kept waiting for something to happen when we fell half a dozen and seven behind but the truth is it was over as a contest,Dublin had us an they played the best open football i have seen in years, they are a great side and credit to them.
Mayo are not suddenly a useless side though, first off Cian o Neills influence seemed to be missing,the intensity and speed of last year is not there yet.Now whether this is programmed to set in later on or its down to o neill not being there anymore is something i dont know, im just hoping its the former.
Surely Keane has played himself out of Salthill, full back line cant be caught that slack and he has been found out too many times now.
Horan is the man for the job but cannot keep persisting with same mistakes in selection,AOS is midfield end of story.Vaughan cannot man mark,too loose by nature,should have tried him chf but options like that seem to radical for JH.
why we cant score goals is an absolute mystery to me, we have won two championship games convincingly last year Down and Leitrim,goals goals bloody goals, its vital.
Will stick with my prediction though Dublin v Mayo all Ireland final.Great days ahead.
Dont forget we scored sixteen points against the best team in the country yesterday.
sidenote...Dublin supporters have really grown on me of late, fantastic bunch wit and character.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/04/2013 10:55:13
dubs need not worry about donegal anyway they will be long gone
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3117 - 15/04/2013 11:10:33
I wouldn't be too critical of that performance yew_tree, its only April and you're missing some quality forwards in Dillon, Moran and Varney not to mention one of your best defenders in Keith Higgins. Not to be too critical here myself, but I don't see the need for league semi finals, yesterdays games were always going to lack any great intensity. I don't see why the semi's are necessary except to be used as a money making exercise. There's no harm in winning the league but I wouldn't take a defeat in the league too seriously when the real business begins in the next few months.
NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 15/04/2013 11:40:25