Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Brendtheredhand, theMaster, and others....including Cavan and Tipp posters!

You all clearly missed my point didn't you!!! I'm saying a couple of things....To clarify.

Having received a ban myself in my playing time, on the basis of another guy saying I hit him, and it didn't happen, and no official seeing the alleged incident - Im not quick to judge any player, nor do I take accusations as gold plated evidence. I missed some important games because of a false accusation and some guy playacting on the ground. So it genuinely annoys me to see false accusations or guys lying on the ground pretending to be injured.

I DONT CONDONE BITING, I have already made this point. Funny you all didn't read THAT part! What I said was banning a guy for making a racist comment/homophobic comment/biting sets a precedent if its one guys word against anothers. Who is telling the truth???

What I said about McBrearty is I guarantee hes not an innocent party if something did happen in the tunnel. See this is where I differ with the normal GAA supporter. I don't think giving him a clatter is if hes making comments etc is acceptable, nor do I think biting is acceptable. I think a bigger issue, is the lowering of moral standards, the win at all cost mentality that's crept into the GAA. Its constant niggle all the time, some lads would say its gaining an edge. But when someone breaks and something nasty happens we are all calling for bans??? Right if the Dublin player did bite McBrearty, should we not see what provoked it, and ban McBrearty too??? Not for the same length of time of course as the nature of the crime warrants the time, but banning both players might leave a message that this "winding up" shouldn't be happening, and if you are caught you'll get banned too. If its happening at senior level its copied underage, whether you like it or not.

I cant take criticism from a county whose fans attacked the Dublin football teams subs in the stand up in Omagh a few years ago. This preaching Tyrone folk do on here - Like I don't get these Tyrone lads talking about fairness, Ricey dropped his knees into a fellas chest, got the ban rescinded and played an all Ireland Final. Didn't hear Tyrone fans complaining he got away scott-free with that did I? See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil. The Northern Counties Mantra!!!

I never said McBrearty DESERVED to be bitten. I just said he mightn't be an innocent party. That's not defending a Dublin players actions, that stating the obvious.

Now about the incident, as Snuffy pointed out about gumshields,the evidence aint looking great - have you ever tried bite anything with a gumshield? Try it actually! A graze that might be teeth marks. Sounds a bit whiffy to me to be honest.

Funny enough theres nobody saying they've seen this incident. Will find it hard to ban a guy if he says he didn't do it? No evidence.

A scrape on his shoulder guys....is that evidence, Ive a small scrape on my arm....somebody must have bitten me!!!!

Hill16sno1man heard what I was saying clearly. You are going onto weird ground banning a guy based on hearsay! Oh and to that Cavan poster who posted about me, didn't one of your players break a Westmeath guys jaw a few years ago? Did he get a ban??? Wanna name and shame that player? Thought not, again people need to get real about these things.

If evidence comes up, or the Dublin player steps forward and says he done it. He should be banned. If McBrearty was winding him up....ban him too. Send a message both behaviours are unacceptable.

Pretty simple! But until we see evidence, lets refrain from saying anybody should get banned!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/04/2013 17:37:37    1364273

JayP

Oh and to that Cavan poster who posted about me, didn't one of your players break a Westmeath guys jaw a few years ago? Did he get a ban??? Wanna name and shame that player? Thought not, again people need to get real about these things.

Not sure he got a ban but he wasn't picked for the county for 2 years after it.It was about 10 years ago i'd say.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 09/04/2013 17:44:47    1364278

Funny wayno how many in the GAA outside Ulster didn't afford the same understanding and degree of doubt towards the Tyrone club player accused of spitting against a Kerry opponent. The hypocrisy on HS and in the GAA is really nauseating at times.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/04/2013 17:44:49    1364279

PS Focusing on a posters county of origin on here rather than any point they make is not considered good for discussion.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 09/04/2013 17:46:04    1364282

Breffni39

1364278 JayP

Oh and to that Cavan poster who posted about me, didn't one of your players break a Westmeath guys jaw a few years ago? Did he get a ban??? Wanna name and shame that player? Thought not, again people need to get real about these things.

Not sure he got a ban but he wasn't picked for the county for 2 years after it.It was about 10 years ago i'd say.

PPS I named him there but admin removed it as is their right.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 09/04/2013 17:47:15    1364284

Just heard there on 98fm that the DCB are refuting the claims that there was no laceration it was only bruising! The plot thickens!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/04/2013 17:49:03    1364288

Man in question has been sent off in league this year not hard to work out.

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 09/04/2013 17:51:12    1364291

OK so I made some adjustments:

Good people all, of every sort,
Give ear unto my song;
And if you find it wondrous short,
It cannot hold you long.

In Ballybofey there was a man,
Of whom the world might say
That other players in circles he ran,
Whene'er he went to play.

A kind and gentle heart he had,
But showed no opponent mercy;
The Donnies every day he clad,
When he put on his Jersey.

And to that town a team did come,
As many teams before,
Both Rebels,Rossies, Red Hands, and Kingdoms,
And even from the Nore.

This team and man at first were friends;
But when the play began,
The team, to gain some private ends,
Had a comrade bite the man.

Around from all the neighbouring streets
The wondering Donnies ran,
And swore the team had lost his wits,
To have a comrade bite the man.

The wound it seemed both sore and sad
To every Christian eye;
And while they swore the comrade was mad,
They swore the man would die.

But soon a wonder came to light,
That showed the rogues they lied:
The man recovered of the bite,
The comrade it was that died.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 09/04/2013 17:52:05    1364292

Think you will see the Dublin media and high profile Dublin/GAA figures circle the wagons now against these allegations to protect Dublin.Diversion stories to muddy the waters will probably be rolled out now about Donegal and Ulster; it always happens from the usual sources and media groups.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/04/2013 17:52:51    1364293

Westfester
County: Limerick

Give it up hill16man and stop denying and defending these nasty cowardly acts. Plenty of other stuff going on these days too at inter county level and it will destroy the game if players keep getting away with it. The Dublin lads on here should be shouting the loudest about players wearing their county jerseys bringing shame on its proud tradition. Most of them are but 1 or 2 fellow travellers like you are bringing your county into disrepute.

oh yes i was on the pitch and committed the said offence to bring MY COUNTY INTO DISREPUTE!!!
are you for real man? whos defending anything? I simply stated I dont know what happened!!!
you cannot say that clip on youtube of philly mcmahon does not look doctored its very glitchy and lasts only 3 seconds

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 17:54:51    1364295

Funny wayno how many in the GAA outside Ulster didn't afford the same understanding and degree of doubt towards the Tyrone club player accused of spitting against a Kerry opponent. The hypocrisy on HS and in the GAA is really nauseating at times.

There is video evidence there to suggest something had happened , I didnt open my mouth about any tyrone club player anyway ..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUMwnIoxefQ

If there is definitive proof the Dublin player in question will be dealt with severely. This is something that has come out of nowhere. there is no proof of anything happening.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 17:56:50    1364298

Breffni39 I know the players name.

Im just saying this naming and shaming doesn't happen in all incidents.....nor should it.

The case with the Cavan player could have went to court, and probably should have. But the nature of county boards and the GAA is to not let things get that far. Im not sure what that does for these incidents really.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/04/2013 17:56:57    1364299

Ulsterman

Think you will see the Dublin media and high profile Dublin/GAA figures circle the wagons now against these allegations to protect Dublin.Diversion stories to muddy the waters will probably be rolled out now about Donegal and Ulster; it always happens from the usual sources and media groups.

you'll see what you wanna see I suppose.........

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/04/2013 17:59:00    1364302

Ulsterman is gas....... he thinks Dublin are the ILLUMINATI!!!

Yeah similar to the way the Ulster Council didn't ban any fan who attacked the Dublin players in the stand in Omagh a few years ago.

Is that a high horse I hear???

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/04/2013 17:59:26    1364304

Man in question has been sent off in league this year not hard to work out

_________

Incorrect !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 18:04:55    1364311

knowtherules
County: UK

Man in question has been sent off in league this year not hard to work out.

no he wasnt sent off this year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 18:05:36    1364312

"Graze consistant with bite marks"!!!....ya couldnt make this stuff up!!

What next?....the 'scrape consistant with stab wounds'......'the pimple consistant with a severe beating'!!

Thats why all this smells as iffy as it does!!....Thats why all this is dying a death as we speak!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 18:07:36    1364317

Proof!....somebody please....PROOF!!!!

.................waits..........'nothing happens'!!

......no case to answer!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 18:12:01    1364324

If this is true then would like to add my voice to those of my fellow dubs in condemning the incident. Apologies to the Donegal players, fans and PM. The player should be banned for the rest of the year following investigation. In the interest of fairness PM's role leading up to the incident should also be investigated. Was there an altercation beforehand? I'm not excusing the act in any way but interaction between both players leading up to the incident should be looked at closely before interviewing both parties. There are normally two sides to the story with incidents like this so let's get it all out on the table and act very swiftly on it.

Again shocking incident and I'm sure all dubs will condemn when the whole story comes out.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 09/04/2013 18:21:12    1364331

Liamwalkinstown

1364143 Ulsterman, Breff, Sedico, ye only have to read my comments on this thread to see what i think of it ok
But the Philly Mc/Kerrigan thing is a joke and if you watch the video u will see that for the love of God!! Its not even a real clip!!
And UM it shows that you just assumed it was the same player without watching the video, u just jumped to a conclusion there my friend which was 100% areseways

Ehhh I never mentioned your name in any of my post so I don't know what you are on about.

I'm not well up on fake videos so maybe you might enlighten me as to how it is fake. Seriously.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 09/04/2013 18:22:39    1364333