The GAA is often described as a microcosim of Ireland itself!.....dont be expecting things to be done properly is the lesson to be taken from that statement!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 15:50:12
Ulsterman, Breff, Sedico, ye only have to read my comments on this thread to see what i think of it ok But the Philly Mc/Kerrigan thing is a joke and if you watch the video u will see that for the love of God!! Its not even a real clip!! And UM it shows that you just assumed it was the same player without watching the video, u just jumped to a conclusion there my friend which was 100% areseways
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 09/04/2013 15:51:12
What would thatcher have done?
goalpost (Armagh) - Posts: 215 - 09/04/2013 15:55:36
Not wanting to go down the road of anything anti Dublin, or questioning if McBrearty might have done something to provoke a young player into biting him or anything.
But Andy Kettle has come out and said that as of now, there's nothing for the Dublin county board to investigate. Just seems a bit contradictory to what a few posters have said on here, going on what they heard from members of the backroom team or whatever.
At the same time though the facts of the matter / incident need to be established, and unfortunately that could well mean the alledged players name being made public. Otherwise there's the risk of all this becoming a something like a social media campaign to punish a player when very little is known.
Of course if true, then the player should apologise and be punished accordingly. If innocent though, I can't imagine too many people rushing to apologise to him for proclaiming his guilt...
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 09/04/2013 16:12:21
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 4137
could this be true a negative gaa headline and rte failed to catch it on camera. ryle nugent must be irate,id say there could be p45's heading to camera men haha.
It's funny because it's true.
On the flip side of that though it might encourage RTÉ to send more cameras to league matches in the hope of catching incidents like this, while at the same being able to improve the amount of footage they have to show of games on a Sunday night, everybody's a winner...
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 09/04/2013 16:15:20
Does him being bitten mean he'll spout a mono-brow and being talking in a dublin accent?
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 09/04/2013 16:18:22
The big problem is that the GAA allow these things to drag on and that's when Chinese whispers start. If Donegal have made a complaint then Croke Park should say so, call in all parties as soon as possible and deal with it.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/04/2013 16:26:46
Samsforthehills County: Donegal Posts: 507
1364168 Does him being bitten mean he'll spout a mono-brow and being talking in a dublin accent?
Sure isn't he from Drimnagh in anyways?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/04/2013 16:27:25
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5586
1364190 Samsforthehills County: Donegal Posts: 507
1364168 Does him being bitten mean he'll spout a mono-brow and being talking in a dublin accent?
Sure isn't he from Drimnagh in anyways?
Haha yeah rumour has it that Paddy has lost what we in Donegal would call his "in through" accent and developed a new twang. He has also acquired an insatiable thirst for Dutch Gold.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10369 - 09/04/2013 16:31:37
I hope it aint true, but if it is the player in question needs to be banned for a long time. Regardless what county or club you come from this is an unsavouary act that the anti GAA types in the Times etc, will only latch on to and use it as a stick to the whole organisation with. Everyone suffers, players, fans and officals.
Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 09/04/2013 16:34:31
Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 2698
Haha yeah rumour has it that Paddy has lost what we in Donegal would call his "in through" accent and developed a new twang. He has also acquired an insatiable thirst for Dutch Gold.
You take the boy outta Drimnagh.............;)
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/04/2013 16:35:13
This is all hypothetical. Unless TV cameras have caught the incident there will be no action taken because there is simply no proof that the defendant is even the right defendant at all.. As i've already said the officials didn;t see it, If they did and didn't send him off then shame on them , But they didn't see it and that is that. You cannot ban a player when its one persons word against another. Nobody else seems to have seen the incident take place and like any crime in a court of law if its one persons word against the other it will be thrown out.
We are all basing our opinions on if's buts coulds shoulds etc. How about we just wait and see what unfolds. If a player is found guilty through TV evidence, Then we will without doubt ban this lad. Until then it is his right to remain innocent until proven guilty. Is that not the way this country is supposed to work ?
I have a big issue with how this has been dealt with in the immediate aftermath. The fact it has been leaked and the press are basing their stories on hearsay and already calling for huge bans is nothing short of disgraceful. Different story if the evidence was there to back up any claims. As unlikely as it may seem every angle has to be covered before any kind of side is taken..Its unforgivable that people are already slamming someone for something that has yet to be proven.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 16:55:58
Ah yes, brings to mind the following from back in my Tallaght Community School days:
Good people all, of every sort, Give ear unto my song; And if you find it wondrous short, It cannot hold you long.
In Islington there was a man, Of whom the world might say That still a godly race he ran, Whene'er he went to pray.
A kind and gentle heart he had, To comfort friends and foes; The naked every day he clad, When he put on his clothes.
And in that town a dog was found, As many dogs there be, Both mongrel, puppy, whelp and hound, And curs of low degree.
This dog and man at first were friends; But when a pique began, The dog, to gain some private ends, Went mad and bit the man.
Around from all the neighbouring streets The wondering neighbours ran, And swore the dog had lost his wits, To bite so good a man.
The wound it seemed both sore and sad To every Christian eye; And while they swore the dog was mad, They swore the man would die.
But soon a wonder came to light, That showed the rogues they lied: The man recovered of the bite, The dog it was that died.
Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 09/04/2013 17:01:06
Phantom punches and now phantom bites :-)
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/04/2013 17:17:23
The dog didnt bite the man, he just 'grazed' him!
Read the HS story, it tells of a 'graze that looks like a bite'!!.....the first injury of its kind ever in the world!!
Did I ever tell you about the lad that had the bee sting that looked likea bullet wound??!!
If something doesnt seem quite right....its usually because its not!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 17:21:11
'Count Dubula'...the new phantom hurlingdub!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 17:23:01
high horse brigade on full patrol
biting should not happen in the game but if someone is s****y enough to do so i feel more embarrassed for them, but i'm embarrassed for you lot too. Do gooders!!!! every incidence has to be dissected and analysed to the hilt. There is aspect of all sports that that are not savory but can you not enjoy the games for what they are.
keepherlow (Tyrone) - Posts: 127 - 09/04/2013 17:26:01
I would be very careful
It seems that on another Forum a Dublin player was named ( by whom I dont know)> Then it turns out that the named player was not even in Donegal at the week-end.
Now the Thompson eye gouging the Mayo player & the Cookstown player "alledgedly spitting" at Paul G were aired here.
What action was taken against them; NONE
If a Dub bit McBrearty , yes he should be punished but what actaully happened ?
Did he assault McBrearty when the ball was nowhere near
or was he being assaulted and held and trying to free himself ??? I dont know ?
I expect with all the cameras that are at games it will show up & am surprised nothing has appeared as yet.
Maxi Curran is a great man for video & i@m sure if there is somethere there he'll find it.
KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 09/04/2013 17:29:38
Spot on Kelf!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/04/2013 17:33:33
Lads common sense and a bit of cop perspective wouldn't go amiss here.
It's not as black and white as you may think. All angles HAVE to be investigated (Even the most unlikely ridiculous suggestions). You can't ban a player because someone had a bite mark and said it was player x or y. Same way you cant just go and throw somebody in jail for assault because someone said this person done it. The CCC or the GAA or whoever is investigating it will look for Video evidence. If nothing is found then what do they do? Just take McBrearty's word that it was the player he named ? There is absolutely no "witnesses", Nobody saw this happen out of the 8,000 people in Ballybofey, The TV cameras or any of the match officials, So at the end of the day if this does come down to one lads word against another. No action will be take because unless there is absolutely no doubt and definitive proof that the player named committed the offence then he will not be banned.. It's as simple and as straight forward as that..
Everyones opinion so far is based on hear-say. At the very least the Dublin player in question is allowed to defend himself if called up to explain himself to the county board, GAA, CCC or anyone else. He is innocent in my mind until the proof is there that any Dublin player was involved in any wrong doing. Any other talk is premature and out of order FOR NOW..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 17:34:48