Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Who apologized?!?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/05/2013 14:40:36    1383071

1383024 jimbo, what would your opinion be on a guy apologising for something very serious and then apealing punishment for that same issue?
________

I'd say that was dodgy alright.

Did he apologise? Havent heard that before...

Werent you saying that you heard that it wasnt KOB last week?

Are you now saying it was KOB? Where did you hear it want KOB again...

all this is very confusing... hear say has clouded this issue.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 14:42:53    1383073

commander

1383059 All the best to Paddy Mc and if he was bitten then a Dublin player dodged a bullet and got away with a very nasty incident indeed.

But without any sort of evidence and the Donegal player in question not attending the hearing... well what can you do!"

Best summng up of all Jimbo, well put and concise.
Lets imagine I was assaulted in my job,there is no witness but I complain to my line manager.he lodges an official complaint and the assailent is suspended.He protests his innocence. Gardai are now called but I refuse to give any further evidence.....What would happen? I would only have myself to blame for my assailent getting off. One other point, JMcG's play on paddy's age, ffs he is a man, old enough to vote, marry,join the army etc. This whole mess has left Paddy, unfortunately, looking foolish. Look,to me, he has received poor consul through this whole affair
_________

Cheers man, thats how I see it anyway...

Thats a good scenario you've mapped out there...

Either way... the whole affair was a complete shambles

And now we have the GAA suits even trying to save face... they only care about how they look in all this...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 14:48:20    1383079

think some kind of reflex defence mechanism has triggered with Donegal posters. I don't think anyone is blaming McBrearty for anything. What most Dublin posters have been saying, and it is perfectly logical I think, is that if Donegal want to moan about injustice then this could have been prevented had McBrearty turned up at the appeal and put forward a solid case. There is no point in blaming his inaction on the DCB and the "shameful actions of the DCB". Everyone knows the process and if Donegal/Paddy wanted to follow through on these accusations, knowing that the Dublin player would get off if Paddy didn't show up, then all they had to do was attend the meeting.

I think fair play to Paddy and his performances of late. I've no gripe with him or Donegal. In fact I'm fond of them and I hope that some foul up in the disciplinary process and the terrible manner in which this was handled doesn't drive a wedge between both sets of fans as we have always gotten on well.

Very well said Joxer.

Couldnt agree more.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 14:56:30    1383090

brendtheredhand

1383067 Just a moot point but, 800 comments on this, seriously!
----------

______\o/________

That me cheering your comment Brend... from behind a wall.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 15:04:46    1383098

... also

Here's a man calling for help... who is about to be attacked by a great white shark

~~~~~\o/~~~~~/\~~~~~

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 15:07:58    1383100

Joxer

MuckrossHead

1382869 The annoyance that is felt in Donegal has nothing to do with the incident itself or with the outcome of the investigation. All anyone has to do is look back at the posts made by Donegal supporters after the case was terminated & you will see that we accepted the outcome & realised that you couldn't convict a player on the evidence presented. Indeed at least one Dublin poster commended us on our response.

What annoys us is the spinning that has gone on since where people have looked to leave 100% of the blame for the whole thing at McBrearty's & Donegal's door. What tipped JMcG into speaking was the comment by the President which he felt was unfair outlining hitherto unreleased aspects which have yet to be refuted by the Dublin authorities.

I would concede that nobody has covered themselves in glory in this whole affair but to land the blame all on a 19 year old is not on.

--------------------

I think some kind of reflex defence mechanism has triggered with Donegal posters. I don't think anyone is blaming McBrearty for anything. What most Dublin posters have been saying, and it is perfectly logical I think, is that if Donegal want to moan about injustice then this could have been prevented had McBrearty turned up at the appeal and put forward a solid case. There is no point in blaming his inaction on the DCB and the "shameful actions of the DCB". Everyone knows the process and if Donegal/Paddy wanted to follow through on these accusations, knowing that the Dublin player would get off if Paddy didn't show up, then all they had to do was attend the meeting.

I think fair play to Paddy and his performances of late. I've no gripe with him or Donegal. In fact I'm fond of them and I hope that some foul up in the disciplinary process and the terrible manner in which this was handled doesn't drive a wedge between both sets of fans as we have always gotten on well.

I'm with you on this Joxer.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 15:15:46    1383105

But Joxer Im not giving out about the injuctice. What sort of message does this give the under-8's of the country, if you do somrthing wrong and you think it cant be proved then deny, deny, deny. Its funny some Dublin posters still raising the question if the bite did actually happen. It DID. As said before im not looking for some sort of harsh punishment, just acknowledgement that it shouldnt have happened and it has no place in the game.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 13/05/2013 15:19:52    1383107

I'd say that was dodgy alright.
Did he apologise? Havent heard that before...

It is fair to assume that it happened, or do you have some reason to believe that the guy made it up? Surely if KOB was such an innocent party we would have gotten a similar reaction via the media from him?

Werent you saying that you heard that it wasnt KOB last week?
Are you now saying it was KOB? Where did you hear it want KOB again...

Yes I was, I heard it stated on a radio show by 2 guests with dublin ties. Did mcguinness state it was kob? If he didnt then both could be true. If they were wrong then it was wholly unprofessional to state such idle talk on the radio as fact. However, mcguinness is involved so he cant be going off the rumor mill alone.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 15:20:47    1383110

Here's a man calling for help... who is about to be attacked by a great white shark

~~~~~\o/~~~~~/\~~~~~

Let's hope he turns up to the appeal afterwards...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 15:25:41    1383113

13/05/2013 14:40:36
Jackeen

Who apologized?!?

Link to interview with JMcG.
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/local-sport/mcguinness-defends-mcbrearty-over-biting-allegation-1-5079536

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 15:37:08    1383117

1383113 jimbodub

~~~~~\o/~~~~~/\~~~~~

Let's hope he turns up to the appeal afterwards...
_____

Hahaha... glad to see a bit if humour in the place!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 15:38:58    1383120

DLlegends

1383107 But Joxer Im not giving out about the injuctice. What sort of message does this give the under-8's of the country, if you do somrthing wrong and you think it cant be proved then deny, deny, deny. Its funny some Dublin posters still raising the question if the bite did actually happen. It DID. As said before im not looking for some sort of harsh punishment, just acknowledgement that it shouldnt have happened and it has no place in the game.
______

In fairness...

You just have missed the many posts highligting such...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 15:40:33    1383121

Personally I think this story is done.

It's blatantly obvious that there are several areas of confusion

I dont think thats been helped with an awful lot of hear say amongst the general public

I think the vast majority of Donegal / Dublin posters / supporters want to put this to bed.

Either way it was a complete mess and more than likely a player dodged a bullet

It wouldnt be the first time thats ever happened to a GAA player... and it wont be the last.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 15:46:42    1383128

MuckrossHead

13/05/2013 14:40:36
Jackeen

Who apologized?!?

Link to interview with JMcG.
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/local-sport/mcguinness-defends-mcbrearty-over-biting-allegation-1-5079536

Ah ffs!! Curiouser and curiouser. So Jim says Dublin doctor agreed it was a bite. Andy kettle said this didn't happen. Jim said O'Brien apologized but this is only coming to our attention now? A while ago the master said it was widely known it was another Dublin player and not Kev at all?! I mean who are we to believe. I will say one thing that I saw over on Kerrygaa that I agree with

"Why did the CCCC suspend a nameless player in the first instance if no evidence was available?

The various Croker bodies don't inspire confidence, having watched the cherry picking from an ala carte menu of suspension, against some players and some counties often on the whim of media witch hunt. Pairc Ui Rinn 2010 springs to mind, no evidence available.

Maybe the Donegal player wasn't happy with the direction the process was taking?

Suspending a player for biting, based on another player's verbal evidence, sets a dangerous precedent. A player with a vendetta acquires a love bite and lodges a complaint the following evening after a game on the grounds of unprovoked biting during the football game.

Sorry, but no thanks, Crokers mess in not having got the workings of the CCCC in order in the first instance. The CCCC does not inspire confidence based on its previous track records"

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/05/2013 15:58:16    1383132

What a mess, bottom line is as follows;

1) It is pretty clear a Dublin player committed a very serious offence and is getting off scot free, that is a disgrace
2) The Donegal player, the biteee let's call him, refused to give evidence against a player who committed a heinous act against him allowing him to go unpunished, that is a disgrace
3) The Croke Park procedure is too slow and drips information, it should clearly state the allegation, the process being undertaken and the proposed action to be taken and the necessary proofs to ensure due process is followed, but they don't and that is a disgrace.

They say tragedies come in three's well there you have it, personally I don't believe Croke Park are the main fault here, McBrearty should have attended the hearing as requested, I can't see any proper reason to defend his non appearance.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 13/05/2013 16:24:41    1383152

Couldn't agree more jimbodub, there are tonnes of 'facts' flying around and all it is doing is fuelling the speculation, both players and counties want to move on!

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 13/05/2013 16:53:13    1383173

tirchonaill92

1383173 Couldn't agree more jimbodub, there are tonnes of 'facts' flying around and all it is doing is fuelling the speculation, both players and counties want to move on!
_______

I think thats fair enough.

Fair play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 17:01:57    1383184

Time to lock this thread?

Yes or no

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 17:23:31    1383201

Yes

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 17:53:10    1383246