hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 4388
1382798 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 3631
1382619 Think Bernard Flynn put it rightly on radio today, "if that had happened to a meath player in my day the guy would be looking for his teeth on the pitch and drinking through a straw for a couple of months "
Indeed. Honourable teams like Meath and Dublin back then sorted everything between the white lines. No running to the media and whinging about refs and whatever.
I can just imagine the furore on here if McBrearty had left O'Brien's teeth all over Ballybofey!!!!! The outrage, the scandal, dirty Donegal. Damned if you do damned if you don't.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 10:23:59
I don't think that sort of manning up is in the Donegal bag of tricks somehow .....
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/05/2013 10:45:50
MesAmis Very true. You cannot shout this incident down. What you can do is keep shouting about it without having anything to back up your allegations
Similarly, you can keep avoiding the very clear issues on this subject for no other reason other than the guy happens to be from your own county. I remember some people saying they wouldnt want the guy to play for dublin again if we found out it was true. Well we have done that - the guy happened to get off being punished on a technicality but we know that he did carry out the act. So why the total about-face on the issue then?
I will say that realdub is one of the few who has tried to address the issue at some level. I agree with his assertion on the subject, but I will say that the reason people continue with it is because of the way many posters are treating the subject. Basically the attitude seems to revolve around placing the blame at everyone's door except the guilty party. It is just ridiculous. I know personally if it were a mayo footballer in this position I wouldnt be defending him in such a manner, I wouldnt have the neck to. I would accept that he was totally wrong and was hugely lucky to get off, I would accept that if what mcguinness says is true that his decision to appeal on this matter is quite unbelievable, and finally, I would never try to place blame on anyone else. Everyone understands that this issue isnt going to be resolved on HS, but that isnt the point, people should be honest on this issue, they should take off the home colours when considering it and comment on it fairly. Forget where the guy is from, it goes beyond that.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 10:47:07
The annoyance that is felt in Donegal has nothing to do with the incident itself or with the outcome of the investigation. All anyone has to do is look back at the posts made by Donegal supporters after the case was terminated & you will see that we accepted the outcome & realised that you couldn't convict a player on the evidence presented. Indeed at least one Dublin poster commended us on our response.
What annoys us is the spinning that has gone on since where people have looked to leave 100% of the blame for the whole thing at McBrearty's & Donegal's door. What tipped JMcG into speaking was the comment by the President which he felt was unfair outlining hitherto unreleased aspects which have yet to be refuted by the Dublin authorities.
I would concede that nobody has covered themselves in glory in this whole affair but to land the blame all on a 19 year old is not on. Mind you it does need to be said that McBrearty is flying at the moment & has scored 3-15 in his last three league games and his club, Kilcar are top of Div 1 so I wouldn't say that he is affected too much by it.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 11:04:32
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 4391
1382849 I don't think that sort of manning up is in the Donegal bag of tricks somehow
Your damn right hurling dub. It took a brave man to sink his teeth into somebodies back. A manly act indeed!!!
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 13/05/2013 11:22:03
DLlegends County: Donegal Posts: 180
1382813 Well Joxer by appealing the ban they are effectivley saying that the incident didnt happen and thus Paddy and Donegal were making this up. As I said before Fair play Jim for standing up for young Mc Brearty. We all know he was bitten, But the Dublin CB didnt want to stand tall and take the punishment. Shamefull. 13/05/2013 10:00:03 Lifford Gael County: Donegal Posts: 1651
1382823 DLLegends
Shameful is correct! _____________
Lads let me help you out a wee bit here....
I think your "shameful" lack of knowledge on the subject should be exposed.
The DCB had no part in appealing the decision
KOB is the only person who can make that decision
The DCB does not have the authority to force a player into an appeal hearing
He wasnt forced into this by the DCB.
The decision taken to appeal was made out of his own free will and every player is entitled to act acoordingly
Dublin CB and KOB have followed all the official channels and protocols...
Please point out to me where they havent... I'd be delighted to discuss it further with you.
Can you say the same about Donegal?
Our County Chairman learned of this incident from hearing it on the radio?
And the Donegal player in question didnt even attend the hearing...
KOB was there in order to clear his name or to be punished
I find it laughable to see the disgust of many Donegal posters when your own player is the one responsible for the hearing collapsing thus creating the situation where it would be impossible to punish a Dublin player.
You cant have it both ways.. Paddy didnt show up. End of.
The DCB cannot internally punish a player when there is no evidence to back up that punishment.
All the best to Paddy Mc and if he was bitten then a Dublin player dodged a bullet and got away with a very nasty incident indeed.
But without any sort of evidence and the Donegal player in question not attending the hearing... well what can you do!
This story is dead in the water and the responsibility for such does not rest at the feet of the DCB....
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 11:50:41
The Master & Muckross
+1
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 13/05/2013 11:57:55
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 6910
Similarly, you can keep avoiding the very clear issues on this subject for no other reason other than the guy happens to be from your own county.
The reason that I've not commented much on this issue has nothing to do with where the player is from.
My reason is that, unlike you and a lot of others on this thread, I don't know what happened.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 13/05/2013 12:13:36
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5732
1382928 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 6910
Similarly, you can keep avoiding the very clear issues on this subject for no other reason other than the guy happens to be from your own county.
The reason that I've not commented much on this issue has nothing to do with where the player is from.
My reason is that, unlike you and a lot of others on this thread, I don't know what happened. _______
Very good.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 12:20:01
But Jim my point is that surley the county board could have advised the player on a course of action. As i keep saying we all know a player was bitten. Im not looking for strong punishment, in fact if the player did in fact apoligise then that would be enough for me. Its the fact that the Dublin CB (in press conference) said its up to Donegal to prove this and by taking the course of action that they took were trying to lay the blame at the feet of Paddy and that is shamefull in my eyes.
Kettle could have said that they will look into this matter as it has no place within the GAA, if in fact did happen. That wouldnt have been difficult.
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 13/05/2013 12:26:22
Well jimbo, it is one thing following the correct procedures, it is quite another to apologise to a guy for something, and then appeal a punishment for that same issue. Not even the severity of the punishment, but the actual punishment itself. Wouldnt you agree? If he thinks he can appeal then what is he sorry for?
I mean nobody is saying that he didnt follow procedures, I dont know why you would make a point about that. For my money it is just another attempt to muddy the waters of the argument, which is exactly why people are annoyed on this thread, and probably the reason why it has gone to 40 pages also. The way people are attempting to knock mcguinness for his statement, yet said andy kettle was spot on when he made his, only underlines further the bias that is at play. I am no mcguinness fanboy, I dont like the way he approaches the media and his actions towards naill bogue are something I have criticised in the past, but he is 100% right here, mcbrearty is the one and only victim in this sorry saga.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 12:28:59
themaster
You are going off the point I made to the Donegal lads
The DCB had no part in the appeal
That was KOB's call.
That was his right and it's not somehting the DCB can enforce
Im honestly well and truly beyong giving a crap anymore but it should be pointed out when there is a glaring lack of understanding
Thats what I've done.
Apart from that I have nothing else to add... becasue as Mes Amis so excellently put it... I just dont know what happened.
If there was a bit then he deserved his 3 game punishment but Donegal lads still seekign justice is laughable
Paddy Mc had his chance.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 12:42:10
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10185
1382953 themaster
You are going off the point I made to the Donegal lads
The DCB had no part in the appeal
That was KOB's call.
That was his right and it's not somehting the DCB can enforce
Im honestly well and truly beyong giving a crap anymore but it should be pointed out when there is a glaring lack of understanding
Thats what I've done.
Apart from that I have nothing else to add... becasue as Mes Amis so excellently put it... I just dont know what happened.
If there was a bit then he deserved his 3 game punishment but Donegal lads still seekign justice is laughable
Paddy Mc had his chance.
Jimbo, I don't disagree with what you say. As I said earlier on I have no problem with the charge being thrown out due to the fact that there was not enough evidence, no problem with that at all. My problem is that certain people could not then leave it alone & tried to push all the blame on to McBrearty, the President being the last in a long line. Now everyone is entitled to freedom of speech, no problem there, but that must also apply to JMcG when he is in possession of information which would suggest that McBrearty was indeed the victim of an assault. I repeat, I don't think anyone has covered themselves in glory during this but Paddy at least seems to have put it behind him with the form he is showing & I hope O'Brien is doing the same. As the only two who have had the good grace not to speak publicly, I wish them both well.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/05/2013 13:06:54
I agree this whole circus has been very unfair on a number of people
Paddy would be top of that particular list
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/05/2013 13:25:36
DLlegends County: Donegal Posts: 182
1382813 Well Joxer by appealing the ban they are effectivley saying that the incident didnt happen and thus Paddy and Donegal were making this up. As I said before Fair play Jim for standing up for young Mc Brearty. We all know he was bitten, But the Dublin CB didnt want to stand tall and take the punishment. Shamefull.
-----------------
DJLegends you didn't answer my question. You stated that the DCB's acts were shameful in making McBrearty out to be the villain ("blame shifting from the accused to the victim") in all of this and not the victim. Again I ask the question, WHO in the DCB said that McBrearty was the guilty party? Surely if you cannot answer that simple question then your assertion that the DCB acted shamefully is false. Donegal brought all of this out into the public domain yet THEIR man didn't face the guy who he was pointing the finger at. I fail to see how this has anything to do with the DCB.
Again, if there was an act committed I am in no way making apologies for the perpetrator. In fact I was one of the first Dubs on here to condemn this and stated that the book should be thrown at the player if found guilty. However, I have a big issue with people throwing around accusation of shameful behaviour when they have nothing to back it up. The DCB has done nothing wrong here. All they did was follow the process.
Again, if Paddy had turned up and had a strong case then O'Brien would have been found sguilty and suspended. Paddy didn't turn up and how on God's earth could that be the DCB's fault?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 13/05/2013 13:47:23
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1181
1382869 The annoyance that is felt in Donegal has nothing to do with the incident itself or with the outcome of the investigation. All anyone has to do is look back at the posts made by Donegal supporters after the case was terminated & you will see that we accepted the outcome & realised that you couldn't convict a player on the evidence presented. Indeed at least one Dublin poster commended us on our response.
What annoys us is the spinning that has gone on since where people have looked to leave 100% of the blame for the whole thing at McBrearty's & Donegal's door. What tipped JMcG into speaking was the comment by the President which he felt was unfair outlining hitherto unreleased aspects which have yet to be refuted by the Dublin authorities.
I would concede that nobody has covered themselves in glory in this whole affair but to land the blame all on a 19 year old is not on.
--------------------
I think some kind of reflex defence mechanism has triggered with Donegal posters. I don't think anyone is blaming McBrearty for anything. What most Dublin posters have been saying, and it is perfectly logical I think, is that if Donegal want to moan about injustice then this could have been prevented had McBrearty turned up at the appeal and put forward a solid case. There is no point in blaming his inaction on the DCB and the "shameful actions of the DCB". Everyone knows the process and if Donegal/Paddy wanted to follow through on these accusations, knowing that the Dublin player would get off if Paddy didn't show up, then all they had to do was attend the meeting.
I think fair play to Paddy and his performances of late. I've no gripe with him or Donegal. In fact I'm fond of them and I hope that some foul up in the disciplinary process and the terrible manner in which this was handled doesn't drive a wedge between both sets of fans as we have always gotten on well.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 13/05/2013 13:57:44
jimbo, what would your opinion be on a guy apologising for something very serious and then apealing punishment for that same issue?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 14:03:47
I think some kind of reflex defence mechanism has triggered with Donegal posters.
Ha. What a quote.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 14:11:04
All the best to Paddy Mc and if he was bitten then a Dublin player dodged a bullet and got away with a very nasty incident indeed.
But without any sort of evidence and the Donegal player in question not attending the hearing... well what can you do!"
Best summng up of all Jimbo, well put and concise. Lets imagine I was assaulted in my job,there is no witness but I complain to my line manager.he lodges an official complaint and the assailent is suspended.He protests his innocence. Gardai are now called but I refuse to give any further evidence.....What would happen? I would only have myself to blame for my assailent getting off. One other point, JMcG's play on paddy's age, ffs he is a man, old enough to vote, marry,join the army etc. This whole mess has left Paddy, unfortunately, looking foolish. Look,to me, he has received poor consul through this whole affair
commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 13/05/2013 14:32:23
Just a moot point but, 800 comments on this, seriously!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/05/2013 14:38:13