Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

kerry74

Snuff you must be living on the moon if you believe the Dublin player in question is innocent. He got cleared on a technacality.#

no he didnt.
he didnt get suspended because the person who said he got bitten refused to turn up at the case and prove it.
if anything donegal could have been charged with wasting peoples time.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/05/2013 17:03:51    1381825

Snufalufagus

1381804 Here it goes around in circles again!

DLlegends.....The player should have been dealt with for doing what?
The organisations own internal 'court of enquiry' the CHC said he was a free man!......Not Guilty!!!!!

Why are sore losers trying to bring this up again!....Let it go you bitter people!

Snafflepuss
You continue to misrepresent the CHC on here. They never used the terms innocent or not guilty or unfounded. What they said was that the alleged infraction was not proven. By continuing to post, and to post incorrect information at that, you have kept this thread going as you have more posts on it than anyone that you term a sore loser. From what I hear the alleged incident has been dealt with internally by the Dublin management and that is a good thing.

fattimmy (Limerick) - Posts: 392 - 10/05/2013 17:25:07    1381837

Lads who cares. McBrearty went out 3 days after the incident to play a beast of a game against Cavan so it didn't affect at all and hes playing very well since by all accounts.

But the facts are, for those who still care:

- CCC banned the player because he was found quilty from the evidence provided.
- Player appealed.
- Player got off on a technicality because McBrearty didnt go to the hearing.
- Typical GAA wanting to make a 19 year old boy point the finger because they dont have the courage to stand over their own decision.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 10/05/2013 17:37:19    1381842

19 year old boy........now there's a phrase you dont hear much (around here)

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 10/05/2013 17:50:01    1381848

Its over now , with no real closure , id have preferred more definetive answers. but nobody is goonna give ground on this ,so whats the point.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/05/2013 18:25:43    1381859

fattimmy,

I use proper punctuation!.....If I was quoting anything from the CHC I would punctuate it as such!.....I didnt!.....Therefore the comments are my own!

Eh,....dont "misrepresent" me lad!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/05/2013 18:49:35    1381870

This is not what anyone wanted, pity that there were no witnesses other than an injury.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 10/05/2013 19:01:38    1381874

God has spoken...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 10/05/2013 20:40:21    1381906

Snufalufagus

--------
You start the thread saying that the Dubs would be manly enough to fess up and take their medicine, now your line of argument is that he is innocent by virtue of the fact that Mcbrearty did not make a 450km round trip to read out a signed statement he had already made.

Which is it ? Dubs should be manly unless they can cling to a technicality.

I have read that there was a biting incident in a club hame in Cavan last week. Expect this to continue if inter county players set such an example and fet away with it. Manly stuff undeed.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/05/2013 08:59:44    1381946

ruanua

Snufalufagus

--------
You start the thread saying that the Dubs would be manly enough to fess up and take their medicine, now your line of argument is that he is innocent by virtue of the fact that Mcbrearty did not make a 450km round trip to read out a signed statement he had already made.

------------------------------------------

You accuse a player in the National Media and then refuse to turn up??? Sorry your argument cuts no ice. Donegal made a big issue out of this and therefore had to be there face to face to follow up.

Think its a lousy tactic by Donegal to keep this going this week in the papers by saying the Dublin player is still guilty!!! Just because Donegal say so.....and since Jim dragged it up again it must still be a big issue for Donegal....so why did Paddy not travel since its such a big issue??

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/05/2013 11:40:25    1381977

witnof

You accuse a player in the National Media and then refuse to turn up???

Donegal accused nobody in the national media. t was the Irish Times that named him. To this day Donegal have never named him.

Donegal made a big issue out of this
Donegal did not make a "big issue" of it. They brought the referee's attention to the assault, the referee submitted his report & the authorities took it from there. That's the way the system is supposed to work. Apart from HS this story is small potatoes.

Think its a lousy tactic by Donegal to keep this going this week in the papers by saying the Dublin player is still guilty!!
Nearly as lousy as saying that McBrearty is a liar & made it all up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 11/05/2013 13:15:48    1382005

This is STILL being talked about... For feck sake....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 11/05/2013 13:17:10    1382006

But WaynoI, Jim McG is talking, we all must listen and re-open the debate based on his teachings.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 11/05/2013 13:32:08    1382024

Wayno, Jim is not playing ball here. Just when we had all agreed that McBrearty bit himself & that Donegal were real lousers who were only playing mind games with poor Dublin ahead of a game that may never take place, out he comes & ruins the consensus. Shocking behaviour!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 11/05/2013 13:45:51    1382031

Donegal have been treated abysmally here and the GAA should hang it's head in shame. I always said that some within the Association and media were reluctant to truly expose the truth and buried their heads at what went on BECAUSE it was Dublin AND I think Jimmy McGuinness has more or less confirmed that by his words. Donegal believe there was enough evidence to charge a Dublin player without their player appearing and that the GAA tossed it right back in Donegal's and McBrierty's lap and that is shocking. I stand by my original belief that Dublin got off the hook with the help of certain elements and that this needs further investigation. Some posters previously said that certian allegations were made on an RTE Radio show about what really went on and these need explaination also.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 11/05/2013 19:55:53    1382262

OK ulsterman, we're all aware of your politics at this stage, but explain to me, what exactly have the GAA to gain by protecting a Dublin player???, and believe me, I think they're a complete shower of incompetent monkeys so it's no skin off my nose!

Do you think the masses will turn their back on those hot-hill days because one of their players was suspended for a couple of months? And in turn the GAA's cash cow will start to dry up!!?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 11/05/2013 20:09:03    1382267

Nope.Youre wrong Ulsterman.Had McBrearty appeared charges may have been brought,but the young man decided not to show.Not much the association can do there.Had the Gaa forced him to appear at the hearing you would have accused them of bullying McBrearty.
They cant win either way with you can they?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 11/05/2013 20:14:56    1382268

Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 6043

GAA should hand their heads in shame? for what?

In not turning up to this hearing everyone, both players, GAA, public, were all denied the chance to see/asses the weight of this evidence. You can't just allege something, there is such a thing as "natural justice", all natural justice requires proof, evidence etc. When the player didn't show up there was only one going to be one outcome. I can't believe this was not spelt out to the player. Surely the player, the Donegal Couynty board and Jim Mc didn't knew this? Denying someone the right to defend themselves and clear their name is also an injustice. But blaming the GAA? that more than a little unfair.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 11/05/2013 20:16:37    1382269

Pathetic statement by McGuinness. Dublin followed the code and kept it out of the media. Unfortunately for Jimmy he couldn't do the same. I'm not sure why McBrearty didn't show at the meeting. But by not showing he has allow himself and those who represent him to be dragged into something the player may not deserve. If it is as McGuinness states that Donegal have come out in a negative light they have only got themselves to blame.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 11/05/2013 21:56:51    1382337

We all believe what we all believe & I don't think we will learn any more solid facts.
Yes JMcG would have been better off saying nothing but by his light he was protecting a young player whom he believed was being treated unfairly by the authorities in Croke Park.
The President might have been better off saying nothing either but he believed that the authorities had been led up the garden path.
The Dublin chairman might have been better off saying nothing but he was standing up for his player & nothing wrong with that. Unfortunately the problem with all these high profile people looking after their own positions is that the truth gets buried under an avalanche of supposition, innuendo & people adding 2 + 2 and getting 27.
At the centre of this we have two young footballers who I'm sure just wish it would all go away. Maybe at this stage we should do our bit and let it go.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 12/05/2013 09:32:09    1382347