Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Suarez will get a ban alright, probably an unfair ban if Im honest. See the FA in England are saying no previous offence by Suarez will affect their decision. Jermaine Defoe bit a player earlier in the season, no ban at all as he got a yellow card. Im not defending biting, but the FA seem to have one set of rules for one player and another one for another player. Liverpool fans must agree he deserves a ban, but 10 games considering another biting incident got.....NO BAN..... in the same season? Leave it up to the posters here to decide how that can work. (I don't support Liverpool by the way)

The three game ban to the Dublin player if hes proved guilty should be enough. If hes PROVED guilty. Its not a nice incident to happen during a sports game. But for me.....is biting someone worse than hitting them a thump? I don't know to be honest, I see both as bad as the other. Ive seen broken jaws at games etc through lads throwing thumps......

Neither kind of incident should be acceptable in my opinion.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/04/2013 18:12:54    1372516

I would prefer to get clocked than to get bitten, Im not sure that I would like to be carrying the bruise mark of someone elses gob around with me for a couple of weeks after a game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 23/04/2013 18:20:10    1372524

JayP

Suarez will get a ban alright, probably an unfair ban if Im honest. See the FA in England are saying no previous offence by Suarez will affect their decision. Jermaine Defoe bit a player earlier in the season, no ban at all as he got a yellow card. Im not defending biting, but the FA seem to have one set of rules for one player and another one for another player. Liverpool fans must agree he deserves a ban, but 10 games considering another biting incident got.....NO BAN..... in the same season? Leave it up to the posters here to decide how that can work. (I don't support Liverpool by the way)

The problem with the Defoe incident six and a half years ago in comparison to the Suarez one is that the ref saw what happened with Defoe and booked him. As the ref had dealt with it (very poorly) there and then the FA were unable to award any retrospective punishment as to do so goes against FIFA regulations.

A pretty poor technicality to be able to escape a ban on.

Also Suarez is lucky the FA are saying his previous offence won't influence his punishment.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 23/04/2013 18:30:36    1372534

I've broken my nose twice playing football

Once through an accidental block, gone wone... I Blocked the ball but his knee followed through into my face

That was horrible... but fair play he got in contact afterwards.. a decent chap.

The 2nd time was not accidental - a player through back an elbow which conntected full on..

Just remember a white flash and that was a much worse experience than the first incident

If I'm honest I've been lucky enough to have lumps bitten out if me in bed by a few girls in my time

I'd choose that any day of the week over getting my poor nose broken again

Spent a fair few bob putting my snonze right

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/04/2013 09:03:55    1372646

For whats it worth lads and lassies, my folks are good friends with him and he is adament that he didn't bite Mc Brearty.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/04/2013 10:31:46    1372700

my folks are good friends with him and he is adament that he didn't bite Mc Brearty
-------------------------------------------

Hence:
......not a single witness!
......and it reported as looking like a """graze"""!!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/04/2013 10:51:54    1372712

Ah Snuff will you stop next you'll be telling us Dublin hurlers are going to win the All Ireland ................... Oh Wait!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 25/04/2013 12:32:48    1373496

Dubsfan28

For whats it worth lads and lassies, my folks are good friends with him and he is adament that he didn't bite Mc Brearty.

Emm, its not worth much dubsfan!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 25/04/2013 12:50:36    1373517

Any word on the appeal?? Bit strange not to have heard anything on here about it.. Thought the hearing was last night?

MeathBhoy (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 25/04/2013 13:28:25    1373552

Ten games! he got ten games!!...............oh...wait.....oh right ya.....

Sorry

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/04/2013 13:39:54    1373564

We'll know in forty years when they release the case files! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 25/04/2013 14:12:15    1373605

nearly 3 weeks since this incident ... And still nothing... Madness

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 25/04/2013 14:13:22    1373606

Three weeks and not even a mention on the Joe Duffy
'judge and jury' show, now there's consistency for you!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 25/04/2013 15:26:37    1373680

MeathBhoy

Any word on the appeal?? Bit strange not to have heard anything on here about it.. Thought the hearing was last night?

As far as I know the system works as follows

1 CCCC make recommendation
2 Player states his case
3 Verdict is handed down.

They are three seperate strands, but it won't be long

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 25/04/2013 16:01:30    1373716

Never said it was Gatekeeper, just passing on the info from the man himself....although through several different people :-)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/04/2013 16:52:13    1373773

The whole case has being a farce nothing to see here move along,o'brien free to play sunday.

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 25/04/2013 18:22:00    1373848

So basically going by the findings of the CCCC

He's been proven innocent.

Time to move on now,

THE CIRCUS WHICH WAS THIS ENTIRE STORY HAS PLAYED ITS LAST SHOW, AND IS NOW PACKING UP AND MOVING ON TO THE NEXT UNFORTUNATE TOWN

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/04/2013 10:57:29    1374086

So does that mean McBrearty wasn't bitten in the first place? Very odd story.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/04/2013 11:12:51    1374097

It means that humble pie is a dish best served cold.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/04/2013 11:20:43    1374105

Cute_Kerry_Hoor
So does that mean McBrearty wasn't bitten in the first place? Very odd story.

No he was bitten alright, the bitemark was there to prove it. It just means that there isnt enough evidence to punish the culprit - whether that be o'brien or whoever.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/04/2013 11:40:01    1374120