Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Genuinely disgusted by this and I have it on very good authority that it is true. Lots of things happen in GAA games but they are generally part of the cut & thrust of the game. You give it and you take it and you shake on it after. This, along with the spitting incidents, are 100% unacceptable and even though I rate the player I heard to be greatly, they should be gone off the panel for the year at least.

Now, with all that said, can I make a gag about the compulsory gum shield rules for next year now??

DNS1916 (Dublin) - Posts: 64 - 09/04/2013 11:32:44    1363861

Lifford Gael

Hill16,

You're missing the point. You appear to be making light of the whole thing which leaves you alone among the Dublin posters on this board who to their credit have all expressed their disgust at the alleged incident. Who exactly is 'punishing' you as you say. The Dublin fans in Ballybofey on Sunday were a credit to their county. I just find your lighthearted attitude towards the whole thing nauseating.

you want me to condemn somebody without knowing anything is that it?
I dont know what happened,I just commented on the fact rte had it as their main match on league sunday and there cameras picked nothing up,judging by there usual antics of picking up on any negative gaa incidents you would imagine they would be sick not to have caught this incident.would you not agree?
if the guy did it thats his hard luck he will more then likely be dropped from the panel and will obviously be suspended just becuase hes a dub hardly means I should be waxing lyrical and thats my point your trying to get me to either defend him or condemn him becuase im from the same county as him and you then turn around and try and single me out as the only dublin poster not doing this thats why im saying your punishing me.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 11:33:12    1363862

I'm not ashamed Liam. It's the action of one player not the entire Dublin team, county board or population. Shame on that 1 player for sure.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/04/2013 11:35:40    1363867

Just to point out....Even if the lad was bit, it would be worth finding out WHY he was bitten!!!

See McBrearty must have done something stupid himself.

Im not condoning biting....but its the constant niggling teams are at these days. Someones bound to react to nasty comments or cheap slaps and thumps. And the reaction however disgusting shouldnt be the only thing punished!

I guarantee McBrearty was not an innocent party!

Ps....how do we know hes telling the truth? His word against another lads. If the ref didnt see it, or other officials it will set a precendent for bans. If a lad says you for example, made a homophobic or racist comment against him, should you get a ban on his word only?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/04/2013 11:43:21    1363874

Yeah Liam that name is right.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/04/2013 11:45:26    1363876

Jackeen

I'm not ashamed Liam. It's the action of one player not the entire Dublin team, county board or population. Shame on that 1 player for sure.

EXACTLY MY POINT YOU SAID IT BETTER THEN I WAS TRYING TO.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 11:48:31    1363879

I'd prefer that the player in question isn't being pronounced as guilty as he is on here without any word from either camp, a disciplinary body or the player himself. If the player is found guilty he should be punished to the full extent of the disciplinary code but some comments suggest that trial by social media is occurring and that is very wrong.

If the Donegal player indeed was biten, the evidence is there or the Dublin player owns up then fair enough, he should be punished but not before it please! Such standards wouldn't be applied where fairness is expected and they should not be tolerated here!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 09/04/2013 11:51:26    1363882

kerryluck

hill16no1man

lads dont turn this into an anti dublin thread like so many others have gone the way of,by all means slate the young fella for doing it but dont tar the whole dublin team or supporters with the usual statements we see fly around.like we dont assume all kerry people lie in bed at night thinking about what to wear to the match the next day if their skinny jeans will match there new shoes like paul galvin or that all derry people blow kisses to other men like joe brolly.

who is turning this into a anti dublin thread, lool at you trying to turn this into something about kerry or derry, why?

im not I was making the point that one persons actions seem to turn threads on here into a thread of barrating people becuase there from that county,hes an individual if he did this it should be the individual who gets the finger of blame.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 11:51:41    1363883

Drop him imo.

If he lost it to the extent that he bit another player in a league match we cannot trust his temperament come Championship.

Surprised by the lad, and he's seriously let himself down.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/04/2013 11:51:44    1363884

ah here JayP, dont be so ridiculous
Unless PM bit first then there is NO excuse, absolutely none
hit a fella a clatter if your annoyed at him, do not bite or spit, EVER
Especially not in a blue jersey

Jackeen, i feel ashamed as a Dub fan. That a fella given the priviliged position of wearing that shirt, representing us, saw fit whilst wearing the shirt, to bite another player
I feel shamed and frankly disgusted

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 09/04/2013 11:52:39    1363885

Sorry JayP I can't go with that.
Sure there are all sorts of things going on in a game where two players are trying to get an upper hand.
But & its a big but, there is a dividing line & biting & spitting are firmly on the wrong side of that line.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 09/04/2013 11:52:59    1363887

Liamwalkinstown

Lads, ignore Hill
He lives in his own little bubble in Hill World on Hill Street in County Hill

This is a disgusting act and it brings shame on us all as Dublin and even as GAA fans

get the chip of your shoulder pal and stop following me from thread to thread looking for an arguement
im not responsible and neither are the rest of dublin for one persons actions

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/04/2013 11:54:01    1363888

First of all. This is still all hearsay, However if any truth is found in this, Then it is a thuggish savage act and the player in question should be dealt with severely. I have an idea who the player involved is too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 11:56:08    1363892

Just to point out....Even if the lad was bit, it would be worth finding out WHY he was bitten!!!

See McBrearty must have done something stupid himself.

Im not condoning biting....but its the constant niggling teams are at these days. Someones bound to react to nasty comments or cheap slaps and thumps. And the reaction however disgusting shouldnt be the only thing punished!

I guarantee McBrearty was not an innocent party!

Ps....how do we know hes telling the truth? His word against another lads. If the ref didnt see it, or other officials it will set a precendent for bans. If a lad says you for example, made a homophobic or racist comment against him, should you get a ban on his word only?

If the referee saw this happen he would have taken action, Its fair to say none of the officials saw this incident, So you do have a point. I think what people are saying is that IF this took place. It should be dealt with. We are all speculating. I don't think anyone can claim this to be fact. It's all just "reports" and "claims" for the moment.

If its one persons word against another i dont think a ban should be handed out. These things have to be proven. And even if the young Dublin player was provoked for whatever reason, Biting an opponent is not the answer.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 12:00:06    1363896

kerry74

The genuine Dublin fans are the real victims here. Like a previous poster said Kerry and Tyrone have been thrown to the lions den for years by the media who thrive on stories like this. A moment of madness by the Dublin player involved who probably now regrets it big time. The player in question should come clean and own up might help the lad save face some bit. I put a lot of the blame for these incidents on GAA and CCC as they are left far too long before any action is taken. The incidents should be dealt with quick and severe punishments handed out to set a precident that this kind of carry on will not be tolerated in our great sport.

I could not agree more, a lot of the blame has to go to the GAA and CCC.

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 09/04/2013 12:00:17    1363897

JayP, your comments probably represent the worst response I have seen to date, good man, doesn't it get lonely down there with your head buried in the sand.

I, like the vast majority of Tyrone supporters vehemently condemned the much reported spitting incident involving a Tyrone club, not our county team, a club and there was simply no ifs and buts about it. You cannot justify the unjustifiable no matter what, and you cannot look for an excuse for biting regardless of the provocation.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/04/2013 12:01:08    1363898

Jay, even if the Donegal player said something or hit him a dig who in there right mind would think to bite someone, hit him back yes but to bite that's a disgrace. Everybody knows certain players get targeted it happens,not saying its right but that's just the way it is,i really hope its not true but its not looking good.
Also in the ulster club final I don,t think any of the officials heard a thing but cause the media were all over it someone had to pay, and the same will happen here.

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 09/04/2013 12:02:10    1363899

@JayP There is no excuse for one player biting another. Its indefensible. To be fair the Donegal camp have been remarkably restrained in light of this.

There has to be a severe sanction against any player who bites another player. As a Dubs supporter its not something I'm proud of and I do believe that Jim Galvin and CB will act appropriately. I do hope it gets sorted out soon and we can get back to the real interest the game on Sunday.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 09/04/2013 12:04:35    1363900

hill16no1man

kerryluck

hill16no1man

lads dont turn this into an anti dublin thread like so many others have gone the way of,by all means slate the young fella for doing it but dont tar the whole dublin team or supporters with the usual statements we see fly around.like we dont assume all kerry people lie in bed at night thinking about what to wear to the match the next day if their skinny jeans will match there new shoes like paul galvin or that all derry people blow kisses to other men like joe brolly.

who is turning this into a anti dublin thread, lool at you trying to turn this into something about kerry or derry, why?

im not I was making the point that one persons actions seem to turn threads on here into a thread of barrating people becuase there from that county,hes an individual if he did this it should be the individual who gets the finger of blame.

Who is turning this into a anti dublin thread?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 09/04/2013 12:05:41    1363902

Just read the actual 'story'. It says on the 'HS story' on here that McB 'suffered a graze on his shoulder consistant with bite marks'!!
I dont know about anyone else but a graze is a graze and a bite is a bite and I have yet to see a graze that looks like a bite or a bite that looks like a graze!!
A poster here mentioned that the Dublin player would have had to be wearing a gum shield.....could it be more realistic that the 'graze that looks like a bite' was caused by a gumshield clad mouth with the plastic gumshield causing the scrape/'graze'??!!

.....Poor choice of words and speculation can let a lazy jurno or legal argument down, to a wizard brain like mine!!

These are the kinds of inconsistancies that would see a guilty man get off the hook in an appeal!!

Like I said.....who has ever seen a 'graze' that looks like a 'bite'!!!
Something is not right here!.....thats why it will be interesting to see if the disciplinary bods get involved when it cant even be decided whether something is a 'graze' or a 'bite'!!.....Certainly in the normal civilian world out on the street there is no way something would be called a 'graze that looked like its a bite'!!....Gas!

If all is true and justice be done then I call for a 2 year ban....but....hard to prosecute and prove wrongdoing when the injury is a 'graze' that looks like a 'bite'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2013 12:10:33    1363909