Yes sedico a lot of people have no morals. Imagine if someone was in favour of finding someone guilty without any evidence.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/04/2013 10:55:34
Some peoples comments are in very poor 'taste'!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 19/04/2013 10:57:44
gotmilk County: Fermanagh Posts: 1290
1370217 Yes sedico a lot of people have no morals. Imagine if someone was in favour of finding someone guilty without any evidence. _________
Well said... but lets wait until the appeal.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/04/2013 11:00:17
iv followed all of 500 or so odd posts on this thread and I have to say 90% of people on here are at a stage where there talking absolute s***. The reality of it is the vast majoirty of us werent at the game nor were we even in Donegal on the day in queston and those of us who are didnt see the incident..or alleged incident.
Now im asking the Dublin users to take what im saying with a pinch of salt, but in my experience of dubs at GAA games iv found them to have a cockiness border lining on arrogence aboout them however that doesnt tarnish their unquestionable contribution to the game and their undying support as fans. But on this occasion I have to say im all for the Dublin lads , they've taken nothing but abuse on this thread from people from all over the country and the vast majortiy of them have condemed the alleged act and called for a lenghty ban if it is found to have happended.
On the other side of the story the Donegal users are jumping on the band wagon and saying 100% the incident took place, but lads how do you know? Seriously how do you know? word of mouth? heresay? the old lad down the road? I think its abit sickening to come on here and see Donegal lads hammering the Dublin team and player question and so on.
Lads will ye please get some rock soild proof and not just word of mouth before ye go drawing lines in the sand. Jeez we've Senior Championship next weekend in Galway I could come in after the match and say my marker spat in my face but sure whats my word against his at the end of the day.
lads come on now.
crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 19/04/2013 11:49:21
gotmilk County: Fermanagh Posts: 1290
1370217 Yes sedico a lot of people have no morals. Imagine if someone was in favour of finding someone guilty without any evidence.
Gotmilk,
Unless you are a member of the CCCC, which I seriously doubt,then you haven't a clue what sort of evidence was presented.
So to talk about finding someone guilty "without any evidence" is frankly rubbish.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 19/04/2013 11:55:16
crossfieldball County: Galway
Now im asking the Dublin users to take what im saying with a pinch of salt, but in my experience of dubs at GAA games iv found them to have a cockiness border lining on arrogence aboout them however that doesnt tarnish their unquestionable contribution to the game and their undying support as fans. But on this occasion I have to say im all for the Dublin lads , they've taken nothing but abuse on this thread from people from all over the country and the vast majortiy of them have condemed the alleged act and called for a lenghty ban if it is found to have happended.
On the other side of the story the Donegal users are jumping on the band wagon and saying 100% the incident took place, but lads how do you know? Seriously how do you know? word of mouth? heresay? the old lad down the road? I think its abit sickening to come on here and see Donegal lads hammering the Dublin team and player question and so on.
Lads will ye please get some rock soild proof and not just word of mouth before ye go drawing lines in the sand.
Fair enough crossfield, but I have to repeat again that that is what the CCCC investigation was for. They collected the evidence from all parties involved & made a recommendation. Do we have photographs of the incident, no, but then many's a man was convicted in his day on the weight of circumstantial evidence & on the weight of probabilities.
Now, I have no desire to him hung drawn & quartered over this & I agree that there should be a better way of dealing with it. In the old days he would have gotten a clip on the ear from his manager & been made do 100 sit ups or 20 laps of the field. Assuming for a moment he did it, I have no doubt he bitterly regrets something that happened in the heat of the moment. But to use the terrible term, we are where we are.
There have always been people on here from every county who go over the top. I would plead guilty myself on a couple of occasions, but it is a forum after all. The outside world is not half as excited!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 19/04/2013 12:07:28
I was talking to an intercounty umpire yesterday who actually told me that he heard this incident happened in the tunnel at HT, Now i don't think this is true but its YET ANOTHER side of this story of allegations and hearsay.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/04/2013 12:09:33
Donegal lads talk a big game about facing the Dubs in the summer..
Honestly think it's you that have it all to fear
You havent beaten us in 3 games... We took an AI Final away from you, showed you up once again in Croker the following year, and then sent you down to Div 2 on your home pitch
We're shaking in our boots alright... :)
Bring.it.on.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/04/2013 12:09:57
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10078
1370263 Donegal lads talk a big game about facing the Dubs in the summer..
You havent beaten us in 3 games... We took an AI Final away from you, showed you up once again in Croker the following year, and then sent you down to Div 2 on your home pitch
Bring.it.on.
Christ Jimbo, you're in fighting form this morning!!
Any Donegal man talking big about what Donegal are going to do to Dublin are fools, anyone with an ounce of sense is just praying we have a full team in fighting fit shape for Tyrone. That's where the MuckrossHead novenas are going anyway.
Besides which who says either of us will get that far? Not many people were forecasting a Donegal V Mayo final this time last year.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 19/04/2013 12:18:10
Muckross what is this evidence then? From what I can see they are basing it on the word of one man. I do believe McBrearty was bitten but if the CCCC have evidence then why don't they make it public?
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/04/2013 12:39:13
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 993
1370271 jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10078
1370263 Donegal lads talk a big game about facing the Dubs in the summer..
Bring.it.on.
Christ Jimbo, you're in fighting form this morning!! ___________
Jaysus man.. I had to be be... opened up to see a load of self indulgent back slapping drivel directed my way... very easy to sort out such things though.
There's been a bit of huff and bluff saying that Donegal are coming to get us... :)
As if we're meant to be bricking it... that may work on the likes of Mayo, Cork, kerry... but Dublin have your number. ;0)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/04/2013 12:42:26
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10078
The more I read your post Jimbo The more I come to the conclusion that it deserves proper analysis.
We took an AI Final away from you,
Only because you maimed our best defender in a premeditated assault.
showed you up once again in Croker the following year,
That was a league game which as everyone knows means nothing. I have kickarounds in my back garden with the children that are more important.
and then sent you down to Div 2 on your home pitch
Only by engaging in the new defensive system of eating your opponents. I'm not sure it will catch on truth be told.
We're shaking in our boots alright..
I agree with you on that, you should be!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 19/04/2013 12:45:16
The more I read your post Jimbo The more I come to the conclusion that it deserves proper analysis.
We took an AI Final away from you,
Only because you maimed our best defender in a premeditated assault
- Hmmm you sure did a lot to get Dublin men sent off yourself... at least you could bring a man for KL
- Connolly incident on the other hand... well enough said about that the better. Great sportsmanship indeed...
Showed you up once again in Croker the following year,
That was a league game which as everyone knows means nothing. I have kickarounds in my back garden with the children that are more important.
- Jim has you lads so wrapped up inside his own head that it will be the unravelling of you...
and then sent you down to Div 2 on your home pitch
Only by engaging in the new defensive system of eating your opponents. I'm not sure it will catch on truth be told.
- Hahaha yeah... that's it alright :) It has nothing to do with the fact that you don't have the squad of players to replace a few names
We're shaking in our boots alright...
I agree with you on that, you should be!!
- Again... why exactly?? :) We're well up for the job of dismantling "the machine" in fact… we're the spanner in the works
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/04/2013 13:26:09
The difficulty with this thing is that it is setting a precedent for players to start allegations about off the ball stuff that cannot be verified either way. I am not saying that Paddy Mc Brearty was not bitten, (which according to the CCCC he clearly was) but rather that you could accuse anyone of spitting for instance, without the video evidence, or a witness from the line, and report it to the ref. The ref then would have to (or would he?) forward the match report to the powers that be. It could end up being a bigger show than the actual game. I have to say that I would find it remarkably difficult to believe that this has been a fabricated case. There would have been absolutely nothing to be gained from a Donegal point of view from reporting something like this, in terms of influencing the outcome of a game. It thus is based on integrity of a players word. We will never know the specifics of what happened. In theory it could have happened in the bus on the way to the match. I dont agree with supporters jumping all over teams, or generalizing teams because of one finding that the CCCC has made.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3859 - 19/04/2013 13:31:00
Donegalman County: All Posts: 594
1370316 The difficulty with this thing is that it is setting a precedent for players to start allegations about off the ball stuff that cannot be verified either way. I am not saying that Paddy Mc Brearty was not bitten, (which according to the CCCC he clearly was) but rather that you could accuse anyone of spitting for instance, without the video evidence, or a witness from the line, and report it to the ref. The ref then would have to (or would he?) forward the match report to the powers that be. It could end up being a bigger show than the actual game. I have to say that I would find it remarkably difficult to believe that this has been a fabricated case. There would have been absolutely nothing to be gained from a Donegal point of view from reporting something like this, in terms of influencing the outcome of a game. It thus is based on integrity of a players word. We will never know the specifics of what happened. In theory it could have happened in the bus on the way to the match. I dont agree with supporters jumping all over teams, or generalizing teams because of one finding that the CCCC has made.
good post my friend. well done.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/04/2013 13:38:00
Only because you maimed our best defender in a premeditated assault.
Hey lads, this is supposed to be a friendly, open discussion on a particular recent topic of interest in the GAA. It is difficult for fans of Dublin and Donegal to be objective in this matter and I think a lot of the more reasoned posts have come from posters from "neutral" counties, with Tyrone, Fermanagh and Galway posters springing to mind. However, the above post has actually crossed the line in that it is actually libellous and could get the poster into a lot of trouble from a legal standpoint. Maybe we should all take a deep breath and come back to this when the process has been fully completed and the accusation against the player has either been upheld and he is suitably punished or withdrawn and he is exonerated because this thread has been degenerating for a while and its obvious that neither side of the argument will be able to convince the other until it has run its full course (and probably not even then).
Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 19/04/2013 14:20:10
Donegalman County: All Posts: 594
1370316 The difficulty with this thing is that it is setting a precedent for players to start allegations about off the ball stuff that cannot be verified either way. I am not saying that Paddy Mc Brearty was not bitten, (which according to the CCCC he clearly was) but rather that you could accuse anyone of spitting for instance, without the video evidence, or a witness from the line, and report it to the ref. The ref then would have to (or would he?) forward the match report to the powers that be. It could end up being a bigger show than the actual game. I have to say that I would find it remarkably difficult to believe that this has been a fabricated case. There would have been absolutely nothing to be gained from a Donegal point of view from reporting something like this, in terms of influencing the outcome of a game. It thus is based on integrity of a players word. We will never know the specifics of what happened. In theory it could have happened in the bus on the way to the match. I dont agree with supporters jumping all over teams, or generalizing teams because of one finding that the CCCC has made.
A lot of merit in what you say however an alleged bite leaves a mark, a bite injury can be easily distinguished whether it just caused bruising of a laceration, spitting does not leave a mark and the evidential value of spitting could be gone within seconds, this alleged incident once again highlights the inadequaies of the GAA's convoluted discipline procedure, it's all been a bit farcical first it's a bite then a laceration then a bruise, the Dublin team doctor was hardly going to highlight an alleged bite by one of the players under his care do I can't figure out why he was brought into the mix, the Donegal doctor was the only person whose opinion should have mattered. Then the rumour mill over the alleged offender, will he be named, will he not, will he sprout a tail, horns and cloven feet and start waving a trident about the place. The while sorry episode deserves closure and the guilty party deserves punishment for not only subjecting McBreary to such an animalistic attack but for subjecting us to weeks of listening about it due to awfully slow and confusing due process
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 19/04/2013 14:36:53
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 994
1370010 seany16 County: Dublin Posts: 895
In all fairness Seany I think we are way beyond this point now. The CCCC recommendation means that there is a case to answer.
As to bringing Donegal to a state court, I think a wee lie down in a dark room is in order here. All Donegal did was bring the incident to the notice of the referee. It was the GAA authorities who then instigated the investigation not Donegal.
If an independent CCCC investigation found viable evidence that the mentioned Dublin player is guilty of biting then our discussion will close and the player should accept his punishment. However, if the CCCC found no evidence, i find it reasonable to assume that the basis of their suspension is the accusation originally made by Donegal coupled with a player Donegal named. If this isn't the case and Donegal did not name a player to the CCCC then i'll retract that statement.
The major problem here is that if not proven guilty, a young man's name has been dragged through a mud of literature over allegations that to date appear to be unfounded. It should be remembered players have lives out-side of Gaelic Games and such incidents if proven to be untrue can be damaging. Under this pretext if i was the Dublin County Board i would be heading to court.
Everything resides on the evidence, retraction of allegation or admission, and everything would be better around here if people didn't assume one is guilty just as one happened to mark some-one in a match. The can of worms that could open is potentially endless. Also the Donegal poster that raised another incident in the 2010 semi-final should consider that occurred 3 years ago and has nothing got to do with this case!
seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 19/04/2013 15:14:21
Muckross...
Fair enough crossfield, but I have to repeat again that that is what the CCCC investigation was for. They collected the evidence from all parties involved & made a recommendation. Do we have photographs of the incident, no, but then many's a man was convicted in his day on the weight of circumstantial evidence & on the weight of probabilities.
Indeed! The Birmingham 6 and Guildford 4 cases come to mind.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 19/04/2013 15:26:07
Donegal man an excellent post.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/04/2013 16:50:32