Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Bluewave
If Dublin successfully overturn this ban and prove KOB is not guilty well I'm sure Dublin County Board will fully expect a grovelling apology.

I wish you luck wit proving that O'Brien is not guilty. How would that work? The only way that will happen is if another Dublin player owns up to being the guilty party & I can't see that happening!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/04/2013 14:10:10    1369782

Anyone else feel that the way andy kettle is handling this thing isnt helping matters? In my opinion he is being far too gruff and dismissive of the whole thing, it is only serving to add fuel the argument.

Also, dont you just know that dublin and donegal are going to meet in the championship!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2013 14:12:25    1369785

Snufalufagus

What is happening here is simply folk saying "I have no reason to doubt McBrearty" and using that as the basis for being judge, jury and executioner on an accused Dublin player!!.......Thats 'one sided' and Thats WRONG!!!!

Let every man on here ask himself if thats exactly what he has done and see that I am correct in that statement!

Unlike us Snuff the CCCC had all the information from all the interested parties. Having weighed it all up the made their recommendation. All us posters are doing is venting hot air because we are not in possession of the information they had at their disposal.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/04/2013 14:13:37    1369786

Ok Joxer- fair enough, don't know why you brought up that point though because if we are to do that we will be here all day. This is taken from Irish Times "There is no mention in the GAA's playing rules about how to punish such an offence so it is believed O'Brien has been charged under Rule 5 (aggressive fouls), category III - 5.11 which states: "To inflict injury recklessly on an opponent by means other than those stated above [kick, stamp, strike]."-

It is a shocking act (if guilty) , Look lads, McBrearty would not have made it up. It would almost be impossible though to spot a biting incident as it would happen in 2 seconds. They did not want to name initially because of the hassle with it ( now look whats happening).

Having played the game, I have seen and got abuse from opponents, pulling, dragging, spitting ( ALL OF WHICH ARE S**M), I have never heard of biting though. Who came out and actually named the player because Donegal stated they would not do so

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/04/2013 14:17:07    1369790

1369767 Hopefully this will all be resolved soon enough..

Kevin O'Brien will either be punished or he wont be punished...

I cant for the life of me judge how the CCCC have come to a 3 match ban if there was a bite involved...!!

It's in the rules Jim. Someone may correct me but as far as I know this is a category 3 offence, same as striking i.e. an act of causing injury, which normally comes with a recommended 2 match ban. They upped it to 3 by the look of it which makes you wonder why they have stated bans in the first place.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 18/04/2013 14:31:49    1369801

MuckrossHead

I wish you luck wit proving that O'Brien is not guilty. How would that work? The only way that will happen is if another Dublin player owns up to being the guilty party & I can't see that happening!!
18/04/2013 14:12:25

Wasn't the victim himself quoted as saying 'he wasn't sure if it was a bite himself' ? Dublin's doctor in a professional capacity stated it was bruising I can't see a man of his experience and knowledge being far wrong.

Also, dont you just know that dublin and donegal are going to meet in the championship!

And we know who'l be biting the bullet that day. ;)

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/04/2013 14:34:34    1369807

muckross and therightstuff

seriously your both alluding to he has been charge of a category offence and the other saying good luck with proving hes not guilty but do not realise that THEIR HAS BEEN NO EVIDENCE TO PROVE HIM GUILTY in the first place.
im not saying he did or didnt bite him.what im saying is theres no proof he did so how can he be suspended its actualy like two children in a school yard and one rats to the teacher saying he hit me and the teacher taking his word over the other child because hes crying.
can you not both see this that without proof the gaa are breaking the rules by suspending a player just because another player said he did it.look at all the criminals walking the streets of ireland who the gardai know full well committed the crimes but without evidence cannot put them in jail.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 14:38:55    1369812

There is a serious failing in honesty,integrity and the traditional ethos of our great organisation in regards to this case.

A bite is a bite and the Dublin team Doctor who must be qualified surely, said it was a BRUISE/GRAZE.

In that case, Did the Donegal management have a collection illusion?

Did their team Doctor misdiagnose the laceration?

Did the medical team at Letterkenny also get it wrong?

How did the Doctor in Letterkenny hospital stitch a BRUISE/GRAZE?

Did Paddy McBrearty make up this story and bite himself?

OR did the CCCC find O Brien Guilty because he is Guilty?

All the lies seem to be coming from the one side here lads, and it isn't the Donegal side.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/04/2013 14:40:28    1369815

Bluewave
And we know who'l be biting the bullet that day. ;)

I would imagine both will be hoping to lose, like those south korean and chinese badminton players at the olympics. The fear of mayo in the next round being too much for both teams...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2013 14:53:11    1369830

PS....you'll find a dishonest GAA Dub hard to find my friend. We take our medicine when its dished out! Open wide...Yum Yum!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Comeuppance time Snuff. Big bowl for you. Open wide.
Yum Yum!!!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/04/2013 14:55:45    1369834

I would imagine both will be hoping to lose, like those south korean and chinese badminton players at the olympics. The fear of mayo in the next round being too much for both teams...

LOL

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/04/2013 14:59:04    1369839

bryanadams

There is a serious failing in honesty,integrity and the traditional ethos of our great organisation in regards to this case.
A bite is a bite and the Dublin team Doctor who must be qualified surely, said it was a BRUISE/GRAZE.
All the lies seem to be coming from the one side here lads, and it isn't the Donegal side.

yet there is no evidence he is the one who bit him if all your above is true how can you suspend somebody without any evidence it was that player,if I say you stole my ticket does that mean you did it? or would I have to prove you did it to get the ticket back?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 15:04:01    1369845

McBrearty is sure it was O'Brien & since O'Brien was lying on top of him at the time I think he was close enough for a positive id

Muckross have you any proof of O'Brien lying on top of him and biting him?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/04/2013 15:07:04    1369849

bryanadams

I can see what your saying, but a dublin doctor did not say it was a bite he called it something else can't see a doctor putting his rep on the line for this malarky. Then again sounds like someone else is putting his rep on the line for him.

5000+ in the stadium not a single photo/clip - bizarre

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 18/04/2013 15:07:38    1369850

Seriously lads...

This thread will get very full on when Kevin O'Brien wins his appeal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/04/2013 15:15:11    1369854

Anyone else feel that the way andy kettle is handling this thing isnt helping matters? In my opinion he is being far too gruff and dismissive of the whole thing, it is only serving to add fuel the argument.

Kettle's attitude and dublin's attitude in general towards this incident has left alot to be desired

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 18/04/2013 15:18:25    1369859

1369854 Seriously lads...

But the fact will still remain that a Dublin player bit a Donegal player. Shameful.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 18/04/2013 15:22:28    1369862

hill16no1man

1369845 bryanadams

yet there is no evidence he is the one who bit him if all your above is true how can you suspend somebody without any evidence it was that player,if I say you stole my ticket does that mean you did it? or would I have to prove you did it to get the ticket back?

Would you agree that somebody must have bitten Paddy McBrearty, and the CCCC would not have found O Brien guilty without any evidence?
Furthermore, would you agree that whoever sunk their teeth into Paddy McBrearty, should be man enough to own up?

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/04/2013 15:22:45    1369864

whiterbannnas

Kettle's attitude and dublin's attitude in general towards this incident has left alot to be desired

how as it stands theres no proof other then mcbreartys word if anything kettle and the dublin county board should be lodging a complaint with the gaa over suspending somebody without any proof oher then word of mouth there are no rules to allow this to happen.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 15:27:19    1369867

Seriously lads...

Why? Nobody is saying that he is going to be found guilty in the appeal. I dont see what 'I told you sos' you can muster from this thread.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2013 15:32:05    1369873