Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

just seeing this now and has the cccc actualy said how they are suspending him?
it would be the first time in history that a player would be suspended without any evidence or any official seeing an incident.
it looks like the only reason he is being suspended is because mcbrearty is accusing him,this will be a very easy case for the appeals here as all he has to say is how can I be suspended without any proof I committed an offence when theres no video evidence and nobody saw it.very silly decision here that will only make the situation worse as unless they ask him for a DNA sample there is no way of proving who bit mcbrearty.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 12:01:52    1369639

3) There was no confession from the Dublin player in question.

Doesn't say much for the character of the man IF teh bite took place.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10375 - 18/04/2013 12:03:34    1369640

topdownfan
County: Down

What is worst getting bite are saying thinks of the ball about your markers wife , girlfriend , mother , are your colour ??

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/04/2013 12:15:50    1369651

ConnollyDub
Ill prob get slated for this but I actually consider an eye gouge worse. Far more dangerous!!!

I would say it is just as bad ConnollyDub. Yet we seen, on camera, Anthony Thompson blatently gouge kevin mcloughlin's eye while he was on the ground, and there is no action. There is a definite attitude of 'ignore it and it might be forgotten' within the gaa. In the end, the only ones we are fooling is ourselves.

As regards the appeal of the KOB incident. It could be that he is, as joxer indicated, querying the length of the ban on a technicality. We do not know that he is denying it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2013 12:17:51    1369653

This thread is pointless. All you will hear is Dublin posters saying how appalled they are , However if there is no proof then there is no crime. Most reasonable people would say that its very unlikely anyone would make this accusation up.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/04/2013 12:22:59    1369658

hill16no1man
there is no way of proving who bit mcbrearty.

Hill what we are working on here is the balance of probabilities.

1 We can be fairly sure that it was none of the Donegal team that bit McBrearty.
2 We can also safely leave out most of the Dublin team who had no contact with him.
3 O'Brien was the player marking him & McBrearty says it was him.
4 The photos that were taken of the injury plus the evidence given by the hospital staff point towards it being a bite.

Is the evidence 100%, no it isn't, but even in civil court cases only the balance of probabilities has to be proved. Dublin people will believe what they want to as will Donegal supporters. The authorities are the people charged with making an adjudication & I for one would like to see the whole thing forgotten about as quickly as possible.

We have a great summer of football & hurling to look forward to without this stuff messing it up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/04/2013 12:33:26    1369670

Westkerry while I am not disputing McBreartys claims that he was bitten you can not ban someone without any evidence. If that is the case what is to stop a player going out and saying that he was physically assaulted by someone if he goes over his ankle. If the CCC set a precident here of banning someone without any evidence or the player admitting guilt then it is a very slippy slope we could be going down.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/04/2013 12:33:36    1369671

Muckross can you be sure it was O'Brien who bit him? No harm but if this was a court case it would be thrown straight out the door on that evidence.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/04/2013 13:00:27    1369686

TheRightStuff

1369610 Joxer, not sure if you referring to the all-Ireland semi final of 2011 or not, are you aware that Marty Boyle (Donegal player) rang Croke Park to get Connelly's suspension off so he could play in final. Jim McGuinness and Donegal did not want to name the player. How people can defend a player that has bitten somebody. Also you CAN GET BIT WITH JUST a BRUISE MARK, it does not guarantee bite marks. I have actually played the game where one could take out a number of times during the match. Sorry lads, but it is dangerous - BOTTOM LINE. Getting somebody sent off generally does not lead to hospital treatment.

I'm completely aware of what Marty Boyle did after the match as there was such uproar that he was shamed into it. That act may not have lead to injury but could have lead to a player missing an AI final on account of another player cheating. Anyway thought my point was obvious enough. Check the most sensible post on here, from crossfieldball above. I am not in any way defending the player or the incident, in fact see my original apologetic mail to Donegal on page 6, but what I am saying is that this event was not witnessed by anyone, there is no evidence other than what has been described as a graze, a leceration, a bruise and even here the medical assessments disagree. We were told itially that McBrearty had stitches in Lettekenny, did this actually happen? We were told that he had a tetanus injection and then it became multiple injections. So a lot of differing accounts on a number of key issues. The process has to conclude yet we have people from Donegal demanding that we have to ban the player for life and that Dublin or Gavin or whoever should have named and shamed him even before the CCCC got involved. Honestly given the above and the whole poor manner in which it has been handled, I think a ban is sufficient, which will see him missing the rest of the year in reality, and let the guy learn his lession and get back on the bike next year. He who is without sin and all of that!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 18/04/2013 13:18:49    1369709

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

Westkerry while I am not disputing McBreartys claims that he was bitten you can not ban someone without any evidence. If that is the case what is to stop a player going out and saying that he was physically assaulted by someone if he goes over his ankle. If the CCC set a precident here of banning someone without any evidence or the player admitting guilt then it is a very slippy slope we could be going down.

your spot on here,muckross read this post this exactly what im saying to you.
there is no rule in the gaa to suspend somebody without any actual evidence.
just becuase kob was marking him is not evidence.
just because mcbrearty has a bite mark does not count as evidence that it was kob.
he may well have bit him and they may well have the right person but the fact of the matter is they are solely breaking the rules by suspending a player on the word of another player and what if in the league final a tyrone player talks about a dublin players wife to him does this mean the dublin player can have the tyrone player suspended ? or if a player reports a racist comment can they automatically have a player suspended without any proof?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 13:21:54    1369716

If a dig bit a person it would be put down, no questions asked. The dog is an animal doing what an animal does. Here we have a man if you can call him that acting like an animal. He should be banned from the game. Secondly the law should get involved and he should be prosecuted.
Thirdly the DCB chairman has made a holy show of himself by putting his head in the sand and coming out early to deny anything had happened, it is scandalous and to save further embarrassment should be forced to step down.

Dublin GAA have acted in a shocking way and have brought shame on themselves and the GAA.

fixxer (Kildare) - Posts: 202 - 18/04/2013 13:28:18    1369719

gotmilk
Muckross can you be sure it was O'Brien who bit him? No harm but if this was a court case it would be thrown straight out the door on that evidence.

This isnt a court of law though. The john terry case is a good example how they are not one and the same.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/04/2013 13:29:21    1369721

fixxer

If a dig bit a person it would be put down, no questions asked. The dog is an animal doing what an animal does. Here we have a man if you can call him that acting like an animal. He should be banned from the game. Secondly the law should get involved and he should be prosecuted.
Thirdly the DCB chairman has made a holy show of himself by putting his head in the sand and coming out early to deny anything had happened, it is scandalous and to save further embarrassment should be forced to step down.

Dublin GAA have acted in a shocking way and have brought shame on themselves and the GA

what a load of rubbish you obviously dont know much about rules.
you cannot suspend anybody without evidence.
nobody saw the incident and there is no footage of the incident and the accused player is not admitting he did this he is contesting it we are told so how on earth can you blame the dublin county board or anybody for that matter when there is no evidence other then the cha has a bite mark.
so for examle if dublin were playing kildare and I was outside croke park and approached a garda and said that kildare supporter over there called fixxer stole my ticket,do you think just becuase I told the garda this he would go staright over take the ticket off you give it to me and thus bring you to the nearest garda station? simply becuase I said it happened.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/04/2013 13:37:12    1369735

Haven't really been following the case, but unless they have photographic, video or witness accounts then what evidence can point to a safe conviction here? One players word against another. I doubt that PMB has made it up, but at the same time there needs to be evidence to back up accusations.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 18/04/2013 13:48:05    1369745

Innocent until proven guilty plain and simple, some of you mention Donegal have doctors who claim it was a bite injury yet at the same time Dublin's doctor inspected the wound and states it was bruising nothing more. If Dublin successfully overturn this ban and prove KOB is not guilty well I'm sure Dublin County Board will fully expect a grovelling apology. Some of you state Dublin have handled the situation badly when in-fact Donegal brought the case into the public domain before there was a case.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/04/2013 13:49:41    1369749

So does KOB deserve the firing squad or to be hanged? Perhaps a lethal injection is too easy for him?

That seems to be the prevailing feeling coming from some...........

Let him have his appeal and if the decision that he's guilty is upheld then ban him and move on.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 18/04/2013 13:50:34    1369751

What is happening here is simply folk saying "I have no reason to doubt McBrearty" and using that as the basis for being judge, jury and executioner on an accused Dublin player!!.......Thats 'one sided' and Thats WRONG!!!!

Let every man on here ask himself if thats exactly what he has done and see that I am correct in that statement!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/04/2013 13:55:19    1369757

Hopefully this will all be resolved soon enough..

Kevin O'Brien will either be punished or he wont be punished...

I cant for the life of me judge how the CCCC have come to a 3 match ban if there was a bite involved...!!

When it's appealed as is Kevin O'Briens right

I can see him getting the all clear

Going on what I've seen so far he certainly has grounds to appeal

Unfortunately on that basis there is more to follow regarding this unsavory story.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/04/2013 14:03:21    1369767

EVERYTHING I predicted about this incident has played out exactly as I said it would. I have no grind about Dublin, indeed I have often spoken out in their favour, BUT there are elements within the GAA, media and within Dublin GAA circles who deliberately played this incident down and tried to get it shoved off the agenda BECAUSE it was Dublin. This has been a particularly shabby period for the GAA who, because of delays and non naming of players, have allowed a vacuum to fester where people will make up their own minds and come to their own conclusions. As some have also said many Dublin posters on HS have tried to make light of this, have badmouthed Donegal and their fans (and others like me) and who just won't accept or allow ANY negativie publicity regarding Dublin WHETHER fact or faction.
Once the allegations broke the media immediately allowed Dublin the opportunity to get their side out first and so put doubt in peoples minds. There were big back page headlines and inside double spreads painting Dublin in positive glowing terms and churning out negative stuff ridiculing Donegal and the allegations. (Alleged) Biting are as low as any footballer can go and when one looks at the reams of newsprint and airtime put out about aggressive, cynical football compared to this don't insult me by saying that the media are not biased in favour of Dublin. They will not paint their cash cow in negative terms, that is solely reserved for rough, savage Nordie/Ulster types. Shame of the Southern media and partitionist GAA elements; they have shown their true colours once agaiN and watch as their apologists and mouthpiece posters on HS attack me instead of addressing my points.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 18/04/2013 14:05:27    1369773

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

McBrearty is sure it was O'Brien & since O'Brien was lying on top of him at the time I think he was close enough for a positive id.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/04/2013 14:07:17    1369776