Im not going to have a go at Dublin supporters but a 3 match ban for biting. What is going on with the CCC. They should have made an example of this young lad. I wonder will the Dublin county board or Jim Gavan want him as part of the panel anymore. If the lad stays involved with the panel then it will turn into a media circus most weeks during the season which would be detremental to Dublins campaign.
kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 18/04/2013 10:26:34
What part of Dublin fans disgust at such an alleged incident being true do country folk not understand? What part of Dublin fans letting due process, proof and appeal take its course before expressing disgust at a 'actual' incident and not just an 'alleged' one do country folk not understand!
Dubs have already said that such an incident warrants a ban if proven true.....but wish for full due process (conviction and appeal) before condemning any player!!.......what part of that do country folk not understand?!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/04/2013 10:28:26
Snuff its supporters like you who give the Dubs a name making this Biting incident out to be some sort of joke. You've posted a number of times making fun of the incident.
kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 18/04/2013 10:35:49
The whole scenario is weird! There is no video evidence, the ref's (both of them) report states that the incident was reported to them but they saw nothing, so it seems like one side's word v's the other.
Also a bite to cause the requirement of a stitch is some bite, so you have to think there would be a reaction on the pitch at the time. And the player biting had to bite through the jersey as the bite was on the shoulder. He must have a fine set of teeth and a strong set of jaws. I reckon if the bite took place he must have been pinned to the ground McBrearty as seems unlikely so much damage would have been done as otherwise he would have pulled away.
Something doesn't seem right in this whole senario
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/04/2013 10:36:22
Well said seanie, this just doesn't sound as open and shut as some on here are making out. Sorry Donegal lads, I'm not taking sides but this is all still too vague to make firm judgements.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/04/2013 10:37:34
A three match ban for biting an opponent is an absolute joke.
A disgusting savage act, not accepted in any form of society, never mind a sporting arena.
The DCG and all the people who accused Donegal of lying,and calling the wound a BRUISE/GRAZE, should issue an apology to Paddy McBrearty immediately.
FFS sake lads, Biting an opponent is just not on, Shamer.
bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/04/2013 10:41:57
Well said Seanie,
I dont think O'Brien should get a ban regardless of his actions to be honest. Now I AM NOT saying the act of biting an opponent is ok its not its worse than spitting or a strike to the groin in my opinion but the foundations of the citing commissions and CCCC is the availability of evidence, for which none has thus far been presented.
Lets look at the facts:
1) The referee and officials first and foremost witnessed nothing as no action was taken during the game. 2) No video evidence has appeared as of yet. 3) There was no confession from the Dublin player in question. 4) The Dublin physio described the wound as a bruise not a bite mark, some will say he was protecting his own but this man is a professional and especially in medicine your professional opinion can be difference between your credibility been shot or not. 5) Why was this only resolved 3 weeks on? 6) If O'Brien was wearing a gumshield...
Personally I think a 3 match ban was simply imposed because of the nature of the so called incident. I think it was a move by the CCCC to send a message that biting is not tolerated and is disgusting and that any hint of it would result in a ban. I believe if real evidence existed the ban would be in the order of months. The ban reflects the actions of a pressured CCCC being backed into a corner and called upon to do something..anything by the looks of it.
crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 18/04/2013 11:14:37
kerry74,
What are you on about lad!
Treating it as a joke you say!....What part of wanting one of my own players banned if found guilty after appeal and due process do you consider a joke?!......Please tell me lad!!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/04/2013 11:21:07
I cannot believe that some people are still trying to play this down. We all know a Dublin player bit a Donegal player. The Dublin County board came out and tried to cast a shadow of doubt over the whole thing last week, instead of saying that they would look into it in house and deal with it appropriately.
Now the player probably will appeal and may even get off on some technicality, but we all know what happened.
Has Gaelic football really stopped so low that a player will bite another to try and get some sort of advantage. This is not what I for one want to see.
Fair play to my own county for the way we have handled this.
DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 18/04/2013 11:22:47
crossfieldball County: Galway Posts: 211
1369596 Well said Seanie,
I dont think O'Brien should get a ban regardless of his actions to be honest. Now I AM NOT saying the act of biting an opponent is ok its not its worse than spitting or a strike to the groin in my opinion but the foundations of the citing commissions and CCCC is the availability of evidence, for which none has thus far been presented.
Lets look at the facts:
1) The referee and officials first and foremost witnessed nothing as no action was taken during the game. 2) No video evidence has appeared as of yet. 3) There was no confession from the Dublin player in question. 4) The Dublin physio described the wound as a bruise not a bite mark, some will say he was protecting his own but this man is a professional and especially in medicine your professional opinion can be difference between your credibility been shot or not. 5) Why was this only resolved 3 weeks on? 6) If O'Brien was wearing a gumshield...
Personally I think a 3 match ban was simply imposed because of the nature of the so called incident. I think it was a move by the CCCC to send a message that biting is not tolerated and is disgusting and that any hint of it would result in a ban. I believe if real evidence existed the ban would be in the order of months. The ban reflects the actions of a pressured CCCC being backed into a corner and called upon to do something..anything by the looks of it.
Well said. I think everyone should have a read of this before jumping to conclusions. It simply is not fair on the man in question.
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 18/04/2013 11:28:58
Given that the appeal has not yet been heard and taking everything on face value and especially with a medical professional (who wouldnt jepordise his credentials for a football game) saying its a bruise then the only logical conclusion is that the only man around here talkinga bit of sense is crossfieldball!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/04/2013 11:29:31
Look, none of us can say for certain what exactly did transpire that day. All I'll say is O'Brien did bite McBrearty, provocation or not, he should be a man about it and admit his gross indiscretion. It would put an end to the whole furore and we can move on. I can't see Paddy making this kind of thing up to be honest.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10375 - 18/04/2013 11:31:05
Joxer, not sure if you referring to the all-Ireland semi final of 2011 or not, are you aware that Marty Boyle (Donegal player) rang Croke Park to get Connelly's suspension off so he could play in final. Jim McGuinness and Donegal did not want to name the player. How people can defend a player that has bitten somebody. Also you CAN GET BIT WITH JUST a BRUISE MARK, it does not guarantee bite marks. I have actually played the game where one could take out a number of times during the match. Sorry lads, but it is dangerous - BOTTOM LINE. Getting somebody sent off generally does not lead to hospital treatment.
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/04/2013 11:31:19
Lads JimboDub, Dub1 and Snuff have called an emergency meeting this morning to determine how best they will cover this one up by talking rubbish for the next week!!!!!!!
The facts dont lie my boys!!
Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/04/2013 11:35:29
Mc'Brearty plays for my club Kilcar. As I understand it the sequence of events is as follows.
O'Brien & McBrearty were having a tight tussle during the first half, and at one stage O'Brien standing behind McBrearty took a couple of nips out of him. McBrearty turned to him laughed & told him he would have to do better than that if he wanted to have an effect. So far so everyday. However the next ball that came their way resulted in both players falling to the ground with O'Neill on top & it was at this point that the the bite took place. McBrearty passed it off at the time but reported the incident at half time. Donegal reported the incident to the referee & to the Dublin dressing room who sent their doctor to have a look. They then left the authorities to look after it & not name the player. Following the CCCC recommendation The Irish Times have now named him.
As for the penalty I think it is fair enough. I don't like lynch squads &I don't want to see any player's career ended over a moment of madness. I know McBrearty feels the same way.
The process still has a number of steps to go but for my part I am glad to see that the talk of "boys crying wolf" & inferring that Donegal made it all up can now be put to rest.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/04/2013 11:44:49
Ciarrai Abu County: Overseas Posts: 899
1369614 Lads JimboDub, Dub1 and Snuff have called an emergency meeting this morning to determine how best they will cover this one up by talking rubbish for the next week!!!!!!!
The facts dont lie my boys!!
And waht facts would these be??????
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 18/04/2013 11:46:41
seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2407
1369551 Its still not been proven in any way that this lad Kevin O Brien deliberately bit Mc Brearty.I don't know whats going on here but somethings not right about all this.It all seems a bit weird to be honest.If there is no admission by O Brien and no other evidence can be offered up to prove that he did this then I don't think he should be banned.Maybe they were niggling at each other and Mc Brearty went to give him a good "shoulder",but just as he heaved at him O'Brien turned and got a mouthful of said shoulder? I mean we can't permit any players future to be decided by hearsay from any quarter.That being said,I'm sure the Dublin team members and management can ascertain the validity of young O' Brien's protestations of innocence and can "choose" whether he should be on the Dublin team or not.
Well said seanie-boy,I agree that there is something not right about all this.
If there is a proven case to answer then severe punishment should be handed out to offender.
bistokid (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 18/04/2013 11:47:42
What is worst getting bite are saying thinks of the ball about your markers wife , girlfriend , mother , are your colour ??
topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 18/04/2013 11:50:43
Given that the appeal has not yet been heard and taking everything on face value and especially with a medical professional (who wouldnt jepordise his credentials for a football game) saying its a bruise then the only logical conclusion is that the only man around here talkinga bit of sense is crossfieldball!!
Hi Laochra Gael. What about the credentials of the Donegal medical staff, and the Letterkenny General Hospital staff? Both these groups of medical professionals are saying it all points to a bite, so does their word not count?
Paddy_The_Hills (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 18/04/2013 11:52:15
The FACTS are outlined by the Galway poster above. Of course one can interpret the facts whatever way one sees fit!
Thanks to Muck for the above information. Ysee it's the not knowing what transpired that's placing doubt in people's mind. Of course this doesn't clear up the fact that the Dublin medic had a different take in d wants but sure the truth will out at some stage. Somebody mentioned Kevin Cassidy, what has be got to do with it?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/04/2013 11:53:07