Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

Page 2

No excuses. Lets see what happens first but those actions have no place in the GAA and as such it's very dissapointing to hear such a story coming from the Dublin camp.

Whoever that was has let himself and the county down.

He's a tough young fella and I'm sure he's fine but at the same time all the best to him... really pee'd off to hear that after such a decent and dogged performace to extract a point from the game!

Desperate. Really desperate

Page 3

It's a desperate story

I hope that Jim Gavin and CB act swiftly on this issue

No excuses, the player involved will have to be puinished

It doesnt matter who it is. Long ban should follow and let someone else take his place on the team

After such actions he's undeserving to wear a Dublin jersey.

We have no room for such pathetic and cowardly actions on the pitch and really Donegal were 100% correct to highlight this issue

They could have made a lot more noise about this incident but have been very restrained in their actions which is to their credit

There you go themaster... could I have been any more damning...

Although that was before a lot more of this story has come out

We'll have to play this by ear for the minute

It wouldnt be the first case of Donegal play acting towards a Dublin player

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/04/2013 13:35:02    1365645

Will some one say or let us know who the Dublin player is?.. I've heard every name from Cluxton to Jimmy Keavney... who was/is it?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/04/2013 13:42:26    1365655

Master, i presume so that you missed the Dublin Co Boards statement from Andy Kettle that the Doctor has refuted that he ever agreed to there being a bite mark...??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 11/04/2013 13:45:14    1365661

I agree I'm loathe to say what I really think, for suffice to say I don't believe it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 11/04/2013 13:45:52    1365663

Horsebox77

1365655 Will some one say or let us know who the Dublin player is?.. I've heard every name from Cluxton to Jimmy Keavney... who was/is it?

That in itself is shameful as this is still ongoing and many players have been named...

This si alla bit of a circus at present and reaaly this thread wis long don... time to play this by ear until more info comes to light.

So far this has gone from a puncture wound, to a bruise, to a graze...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/04/2013 13:47:02    1365666

What I said would happen has panned out exactly as I predicted. Once allegations were made Donegal were immediately put on the defensive and a lot of spin was reeled out in Dublin's favour. Elements of the national press gave Dublin a blank canvas to get 'THEIR' side of the story out first BEFORE Donegal and doubt was deliberately introduced against Donegal's version. We seen back page headlines with statements from the Dublin county board doubting what happened and Donegal's story was more or less ridiculed. Then, conveniently, we have had double spreads about Dublin's great youth set up and stories with a massive positive ring to them about Dublin. Consequently the Donegal 'biting' allegation has slipped down the pecking order which was exactly the intention of certain Dublin GAA people, national Dublin media and some GAA elements. ANY negative stories involving Dublin are usually whitewashed over and this is a classic example. Dublin are the GAA'a main cash cow and big market for the media and they don't want to cut this link AND they will do anything to ensure that Dublin are protected and receive little negative publicity. No doubt if these allegations had been made about a Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh player the Southern media would have been up in arms demanding immediate action against these 'savage Ulster cannibals' and let's not kid ourselves, this WOULD have happened. We seen exactly the same spin against Derrytresk when the Southern media circled the wagons against the Ulster side; they are doing exactly the same here and it fools no one.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 11/04/2013 13:48:00    1365667

I am not going to say it who is that is being accused but I will say this, contrary to what many many people are presuming and hoping it is NOT Philly McMahon and it is NOT Ger Brennan. Nor is it Connolly before ye form new conclusions.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 11/04/2013 13:48:26    1365668

Takes a lot of the focus away from Donegal been relegated ..ummmmmmmmm

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 11/04/2013 13:55:28    1365675

Takes a lot of the focus away from Donegal been relegated ..ummmmmmmmm

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 11/04/2013 13:55:31    1365676

Liamwalkinstown

1365661 Master, i presume so that you missed the Dublin Co Boards statement from Andy Kettle that the Doctor has refuted that he ever agreed to there being a bite mark...??

Liam:

Evidently themaster misses a lot of things before awkwardly rummaging around what he believes to be true

He's a knack for doing that...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/04/2013 13:56:34    1365679

arock

1365663 jimbodub

I agree I'm loathe to say what I really think, for suffice to say I don't believe it.

Yep. More I hear about this, the less inclined I am to beleive it happened. Not sure what is behind it.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 11/04/2013 14:03:05    1365687

But the point surely is that nobody except the two players involved knows exactly what happened.
The rest is so much hot air!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 11/04/2013 14:04:11    1365690

51longago

1365675 Takes a lot of the focus away from Donegal been relegated ..ummmmmmmmm

This circus continues...

Because thats what this is at the minute

A feckin circus...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/04/2013 14:08:44    1365698

Hill where did you dream up that Paddy McB was born and raised in Dublin????
He wasnt...........!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 11/04/2013 14:12:38    1365706

Irrespective of facts or not about this story Dublin are protected, and always have been, by elements of the Dublin media and within the GAA. All the spin wheeled out the past few days has been negative towards Donegal and sympathetic and positive towards Dublin. This is what I predicted would happen and it is.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 11/04/2013 14:17:14    1365714

Ulsterman

1365714 Irrespective of facts or not

Ya thats pretty much you in a nutshell right there alright UM!
Good man

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 11/04/2013 14:19:10    1365718

51longago

Takes a lot of the focus away from Donegal been relegated.

Another insightful contribution from 51longago, except for one small point.

Donegal reported the issue to the referee at half time, at which point they were ahead in the game.

Still why let the facts get in the way?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 11/04/2013 14:20:03    1365719

Dublin are the GAA'a main cash cow and big market for the media
Ulsterman
------------

We know!....but we would rather you just said "thanks for the funds to build our new clubhouse" and moved on!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/04/2013 14:27:19    1365724

No YOU miss the point and maybe that sums you up Liam. When I said 'irrespective of facts or not' I refer to the usual way in which Dublin seem to be protected WHETHER there is substance to negative allegations against them or NOT. Dublin always seem to come up smelling of roses and that is because the media and GAA don't want to lose the cash cow and annoy the Dublin fanbase who buy the tabloids. Look at the reams of positive newsprint about the Dublin GAA since the allegations broke AND negative spin against Donegal. This is all an attempt to muddy the waters and deflect ANY negativity away from Dublin.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 11/04/2013 14:28:50    1365728

Roll on the summer until we can let our football do the talking and put Dublin back in their box. The only "big" team we didn't beat last year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10374 - 11/04/2013 14:28:57    1365729