Paul Galvin incident

...the lads a nordie, they cant help themselves but bring up 'the troubles' stuff!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/03/2013 17:39:04    1349603

Serious question here - how many of you actually read the posts on here?

Ulsterman brought up the troubles in response to a poster who stated Ulster GAA people take the games too seriously. In agreement he illustrated some reasons why the GAA is taken so seriously in the North. Choose to dismiss those if you like but they are valid reasons by those who've lived through the worst of it as to why for them the GAA is all consuming passion.

I also believe many posters don't go too games so have no idea of the context of unsavoury events. Almost to a man people will be appalled at spitting but attempts to contextualise are ignored. When you know people as Owen Mulligan does Jason Quinn he knows he's not someone who just "Gobs" on an opponent. Any attempt to give some background into the other events in the 70+minutes are ignored because it does fit the righteous indignant agenda.
When lynch mobs get going the mentality is you're either with us or you're against us (Sound familiar) anything in between is disdainfully discarded.
I was at the game and the referee sent off two should have been more including Paul Galvin. Cookstown won double scores - which team sounds as though it kept its discipline.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 14/03/2013 18:40:27    1349631

I actually like Paul Galvin and always have done. He is a smashing footballer and I like his non-conformist eccentric ways AND I believe him when he says he wasn't at the sectarian wind up lark. He should not have been spat at, NO ONE should be spat at on a football pitch, and as I say if someone from Cookstown is found guilty he should get a ban; that is my opinion. Having said that if the GAA are going to investigate this they should maybe widen it to ask why would a certain player react in that manner OR they should set up a separate inquiry into on and off field abuse particularly the deeply offensive, partitionist stuff often directed at Ulster players. I NEVER said at any time that Ulster GAA people hold our members from others provinces responsible for what we lived through; I DID say that they often have NO understanding whatsoever of the annoyance and hurt that this abuse causes to Ulster GAA people especially when some of our members lie in their graves because of their association with the GAA. I would honestly say that if that was directed at me on a pitch I would probably react in a manner that would get me a long ban. I and many other Ulster memories have too many memories and experiences to let some wee so and so from Ballymuck 100 miles away who never lived through it to disrespect them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 14/03/2013 19:24:59    1349653

A bit ironic how all the ulster lads are complaining about verbal abuse on the football field when they themselves are the masters of it

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 14/03/2013 19:31:53    1349659

Shouldn't spit. End of. Next discussion.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 14/03/2013 19:44:58    1349674

Shouldn't spit. End of. Next discussion.

I agree 100%.
There's no defending the indefensible.

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 14/03/2013 20:36:30    1349701

Ridiculous act, disgusting.........clear evidence available, open and shut case for a lengthy ban for that fella. No place for it in on a football field.

Edged_in_Maroon (Galway) - Posts: 266 - 15/03/2013 09:20:52    1349785

Open and shut case , No Spitting , and to bring history ,culture , or perceived lack of understanding in as a defence insults all intelligent people .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/03/2013 09:38:34    1349793

I think the fact that Paul Galvin coming forward and speaking out against this nasty business is a very positive outcome

He should be praised for at least trying to put a stop to this.

It's time for the players to take responsibility for their actions and now we have a player at the very centre of this "rivalry" trying to put a stop to it.

We're not talking about a decent hard tackle here... we're talking about Sledging, spitting, Sectarian remarks, Crotch grabbing...

These antics should be condemned and not just blindly supported and it's up to the players themselves to put an end to this.

Mulligan's comment is an example of what's wrong with this whole situation… a player not taking an opportunity to be responsible... and he's come out of this quite badly.

You see can see the positive outcome that Galvin's input has had over Mulligan's own stance because Galvin was open and honest and has taken responsibility of the situation.

That's what will sort out this current nasty streak in the GAA - the personal responsibility by those who have the most influence.

Players / supporters alike

Now it goes without saying that all of this applies to everyone but in this case (Kerry v Tyrone) we've seen a high number of nasty incidents and as such is a perfect example of what needs to change in the modern game.

Let's hope Galvin's stance catches on… because it's a breath of fresh air.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 15/03/2013 09:44:41    1349797

Absolutely Beelzedub, there should be none of this 'heat of the moment' excuse for an incident like this. There should be a hearing and this guy should be told straight out, explain why you spat on your opponent. If he tells the truth i.e. I spat on him because of who he was and I wanted to get a reaction, then give him a fair ban. If he frustrates the issue even more with some nonsense excuse, then ban him accordingly. People should have to answer for their actions. I accept that a bit of handbags will happen in games, but ths type of thing is just a disgrace, and it reflects badly on our game if we dont address it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 10:28:51    1349831

Meanwhile the thread on the much more recent spitting incident, which coincidentally doesn't involve a nordie, has long dropped of the first page...

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 15/03/2013 10:40:46    1349844

Breffni39

1349844 Meanwhile the thread on the much more recent spitting incident, which coincidentally doesn't involve a nordie, has long dropped of the first page...
______

Mulligan's response hasnt helped that cause.

I think the other case is just as bad if true but because of the higher profile of the players involved and the ongoing and down right nasty rivalry between Tyrone/ Kerry it's been highlighted to a far greater level.

Once again indicating the negative impacts that the Kerry / Tyrone rivalry can have...

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 15/03/2013 11:17:59    1349866

Tyronetim

1349631 Serious question here - how many of you actually read the posts on here?

Ulsterman brought up the troubles in response to a poster who stated Ulster GAA people take the games too seriously. In agreement he illustrated some reasons why the GAA is taken so seriously in the North. Choose to dismiss those if you like but they are valid reasons by those who've lived through the worst of it as to why for them the GAA is all consuming passion.

I also believe many posters don't go too games so have no idea of the context of unsavoury events. Almost to a man people will be appalled at spitting but attempts to contextualise are ignored. When you know people as Owen Mulligan does Jason Quinn he knows he's not someone who just "Gobs" on an opponent. Any attempt to give some background into the other events in the 70+minutes are ignored because it does fit the righteous indignant agenda.
When lynch mobs get going the mentality is you're either with us or you're against us (Sound familiar) anything in between is disdainfully discarded.
I was at the game and the referee sent off two should have been more including Paul Galvin. Cookstown won double scores - which team sounds as though it kept its discipline.

Thing is we (the viewing public) cant hear verbal exchanges between 2 players on the pitch but we can see one player spitting on another so its only natural the revulsion is associated with the spitting. Ask yourself does a fellow Irishman deserve to be spat on if he makes sectarian / racist / personal remarks during a game? If so were does that leave the GAA has a pillar of Irish society?

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 15/03/2013 11:51:04    1349889

This is the clip of the finuge clubman spitting on the cookstown clubman, or at least that is what is is supposed to be. All I can see is the cookstown guy spitting at the finuge guy and the finuge guy spitting back at him... Am I missing something here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-8iBGnQ9Ig

Breffni, I dont think you can say it is purely because the guy is from the north. Surely the fact that there is such definitive proof available, the fact that there is history between the two counties, the fact that it is galvin, and most importantly the fact that there has been some trying to excuse the inexcusable, including a former intercounty star, makes this case quite different. It is obvious to me that the reason this thread has gone on so long is because people are trying to form excuses for it. If everyone had said it is a disgrace, this thread would most probably have fallen away.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 11:55:03    1349894

Jimbo has simply resorted to agitating now, he's using the same posts word for word on the other related thread (why we have 2 threads on the same theme is anybodies guess), his motives are obvious and not as 'noble' as he would like to make himself out to be, I have no time for him nor his thread, at least ath cliath has already called him out on this and for that he has my praise and thanks.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/03/2013 12:18:37    1349913

brendtheredhand

1349913 Jimbo has simply resorted to agitating now

That's simply not true.

You can take from it what you will but you are wrong in everthing you have just said.. apart from the fact that I used a similar post in two threads.

It's my 100% honest opinion.

Drop the victim complex Brend...

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 15/03/2013 12:32:07    1349925

The master, as I saw it the official spat first (at 7 seconds), then the Cookstown player spat back, then the official spat again. It's bad video quality and I could be wrong.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 15/03/2013 12:34:08    1349926

Thing is we (the viewing public) cant hear verbal exchanges between 2 players on the pitch but we can see one player spitting on another so its only natural the revulsion is associated with the spitting. Ask yourself does a fellow Irishman deserve to be spat on if he makes sectarian / racist / personal remarks during a game? If so were does that leave the GAA has a pillar of Irish society?

Agree 100% fairshoulder.
Sometimes the hypocrisy spouted on these boards is laughable. Its great seeing those who are always offended but never offend. 'Sledging' or verbally abusing someone is only a bit of craic and if its not taken that way then thats the fault of those who are being offended. But then if the offended does anything to the offendor then how dare they react to what is, after all, 'just a bit of craic'. These people should remember that a joke or bit of craic is only that if both parties feel the same way.

As for the Galvin incident and spitting - well that is as dirty an action as you will get. Regardless of how wronged the guy who spat felt the lowest thing he could have done was to spit on someone. If Galvin didn't say or do anything to him then what the hell was he thinking of spitting? If Galvin did actually say or do something to rile him then again, what the hell was he thinking of? In that scenario he should have done the manly thing and dropped him.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/03/2013 12:40:40    1349934

Brend you're getting very personal with your responses to me which I think is out of order.

You've no time for my thread because it reflects badly on the Tyrone / Kerry rivalry.

It's meant to… but it's constructive criticism.

Such deplorable antics should reflect badly on those responsible

Deal with it.

I have gone to lengths to credit both Kerry /Tyrone support too.

Perhaps you missed that.

I have stated my 100% honest opinion and I'm sorry if you can't accept that and instead try and portray me as some sort of WUM as did Ath Cliath

So from that side of things I'm not the one throwing mud…

I have stated the facts and my opinion has been backed up by a player at the centre of this whole debacle

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 15/03/2013 12:41:46    1349935

MichaelO, I have to say Im not convinced he did spit there. He might have, as you say it is poor quality. But judging from the reactions, I mean the cookstown guy doesnt revulse at all at 7 seconds, in fact his spitting incident is so fast afterwards that I dont think it could be a response to the first one. Secondly, the finuge guy looks to have come forward and is in the process of saying something when the spit comes his way. Also, when the finuge guy is spit on, look at the way he recoils in disgust, while the cookstown guy starts backpeddling, this is what you would expect from the first instance if it were a spitting incident. Finally, we see the finuge guy spit at the cookstown guy with real temper, surely that temper wouldnt be so prevailent if he had been the one that spat in the first place? I know I am second guessing here, but we all know how people react to such things, and it doesnt really add up.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 12:55:33    1349947