Under 21 Championship

FT

Kildare 1-12 Longford 0-12

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 03/04/2013 20:52:43    1360525

The Kildare penalty just after half time the difference between the sides.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 03/04/2013 20:53:57    1360528

Result Kildare 1-12 Longford 0-12. Kildare goal from a pen and Longford hit inside of the post. Well done Kildare and hard luck Longford.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 953 - 03/04/2013 20:55:06    1360530

Donegal 2-10 Derry 0-12 5 mins left

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2013 21:15:15    1360547

No shocks tonight Donegal,Cavan strolling into the Ulster final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 03/04/2013 21:15:36    1360548

Spoke too soon late fight back by the Derry men only two points in it now

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 03/04/2013 21:18:32    1360550

So not the cake walk for Kildare some had predicted then.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/04/2013 21:20:11    1360551

Cavan win 1-12 to 0-6. Great result, that's 4 Ulster finals in a row. Cavan Donegal Ulster final now.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 03/04/2013 21:20:12    1360552

Donegal just about hang on FT 2-11 to 0-15.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 03/04/2013 21:23:01    1360556

Donegal 2-11 Derry 0-15 Full Time

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2013 21:23:29    1360557

03/04/2013 21:20:11
brendtheredhand

So not the cake walk for Kildare some had predicted then.

Was never going too be. I expect Galway to beat both Roscommon,Kildare and will probably play Cavan in the All Ireland final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 03/04/2013 21:25:04    1360559

Yes that clearly was a joke TheRightStuff.

As for the other comments about Kildare being over-confident if you look back over this thread or on the Kildare page I don't think you'll find many comments from Kildare posters talking ourselves up or anything coming from inside the panel. It's all coming from outside the county and there's nothing we can do about that.

Still, good win last night overall, got a little bit jittery towards the end but you'll get that in finals and overall but we were definitely the better team. We are a bit dodgy at the back though which might prevent us progressing further and the midfield definitely takes a lot of pressure off them. Tidy bunch of forwards though who are playing some nice football and taking some nice scores. Overall I'm delighted, three Leinster U21's in the last ten years now. Not bad for a county with no natural footballers.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/04/2013 08:42:17    1360593

Not a cake walk and no one from Kildare said it would be, so wind your neck in there. But Kildare led from the first minute to the last and won playing poorly. I won't be as arrogant as the previous poster and predict any win in the semi. What I do know is whoever beats this Kildare team will be a very good team deserve it.

fixxer (Kildare) - Posts: 202 - 04/04/2013 09:03:13    1360597

i expect roscommon to beat galway but lose to kildare

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 184 - 04/04/2013 09:13:50    1360600

What about Cork-v-Tipp next week in Munster final?

Are both of these teams no hopers?

Vibe on this thread seems to indicate so.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 04/04/2013 09:22:49    1360603

Muilleann
County: Tipperary

What about Cork-v-Tipp next week in Munster final?

Are both of these teams no hopers?

Vibe on this thread seems to indicate so.

Must admit I was thinking along the same lines myself Muileann. You're a Tipp man, what's the story in Munster?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/04/2013 09:33:03    1360608

Fair play to the lads last night but my heart was in my mouth for the last 10 minutes and we were really lucky not to lose the game from a very strong position. When we were on top in the middle of the park we looked a way better team than Derry but after going 6 points up we got very defensive and nearly paid the price with Derry hitting the crossbar when only 3 down and 5 minutes to play, hitting the post and also had a strong claim for a penalty.

I think that game will stand the the lads and they will gain from the experience that its too risky to sit back on a lead especially at county level. Some good performances from Ryan Mc Hugh, Odhran Mac Niallais, Paddy Mc Brearty, Kevin Mc Fadden, Conor Gibbons in the first half and Martin O Reilly. Peter Boyle done well under the high ball and although he had some good kick outs he had some very wayward ones too but overall done well.

Some good football played at times but the point taking by Mc Brearty and Ryan Bell for Derry were the highlights for me.

On a final note fair play to the two Mc Hughs on their performance yesterday after burying the grandmother earlier in the day, I'm sure their family were sad at her passing and focus could have been taken off the football but they showed their class in their performances last night. Fair play lads.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 04/04/2013 09:44:26    1360613

Sincere congrats to Kildare on a very good and hard fought win over an equally impressive Longford side. Generally avoid these main threads because they tend to be clogged up with begrudgers from other counties with little or no knowledge of football. Fair dues to all that travelled to the game last night, approx 6k and packed the stand to capacity. Hard to know how far we can go. I would say possibly a final if we continue to play to our strengths and avoid silly over elaborate moves and trying to do the spectacular when the easy option is on. At least we closed the game down well despite all the Longford pressure. Just a quick word on Longford. They are a very good side. Their full forward line is excellent. They never gave up and are a credit to their jersey and hard luck to them. Well done to our lads again and keep it up.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 04/04/2013 09:52:01    1360620

Well done to kildare last night, longford may feel slightly unlucky having hit post and penalty awarded against them, but the better team won on the night

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2013 09:59:49    1360633

Thats some record by the Cavan U21 in all seriousness, lets hope that they can convert this into their seniors. Ulster could really do with a strong Cavan senior team.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/04/2013 10:12:11    1360644