Under 21 Championship

cilldara13
There is serious natural talent amongst them.
Natural talent is all very well but not much use if you can't apply it when it counts.

Galway shouldn't get too carried away because Cork will beat them out the gate.
If they do, then where does that leave Kildare?

Dublin and Kildare clearly the two strongest in the country.
Not if they can't do it when the chips are down they're not.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/04/2013 10:13:59    1371465

Usual predictable drivel from a few posters here. Whatever makes ye feel better about yourselves. Not going to get into it with ye.

Very frustrating defeat for Kildare but that shouldn't take away from Galway's win. Congratulations and best of luck in the final!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/04/2013 10:16:17    1371468

All I was saying is if Dublin had a fully fit team to pick from they would have won it again this year. If Cormac Costello ,Philly Ryan and a concussed Paul Mannion were fit they would have beaten Longford no question about that. And for me Kildare threw that game away on Saturday 21 wides is shocking but fair play to Galway for capitalising on Kildare's awful shooting.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/04/2013 10:18:52    1371472

In the name of jeez where are some of these Kildare lads coming from?

The scoreboard at the end of the game is all that counts. Galway had better forwards on the day so less of the 'what could have been' muck. If you can't kick the stupid ball over the bar you derserve nothing.

Galway are there on merit and have every chance in the final. Honestly I cringe when I read some of the stuff ye happen to post. Man up and take the beating and move on.

Believe me we're not all like that in Kildare.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 22/04/2013 10:22:38    1371478

Good luck to Cork and Galway in the final. Two very good teams with lots of talent, great to watch

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 22/04/2013 10:36:39    1371487

Congrats Galway well deserved win.Sean Moran and Shane Walsh were very impressive in the forwards. Hard luck to Kildare and I know they had a lot of wides but some of the places they were shooting from was ridiculous.Also the Galway backs did have them under pressure when they were shooting. Roll on Saturday week.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 22/04/2013 10:47:08    1371492

Congratulations to Galway on a great and deserved win.
Very impressed with your team and wish you the best of luck in the final.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 22/04/2013 11:07:11    1371512

Get over it clondalkindub. Dublin not in the mix. Kildare not in the mix. Let me explain it to you simply: whichever team scores the most is the better team! No if's or buts now!

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/04/2013 11:47:20    1371546

Where is the final? I am guessing Limerick? I hope both counties fans turn up and give their teams the support they deserve. Galway and Cork don't have a big following in football these days.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11621 - 22/04/2013 12:13:17    1371574

Two best teams in the final. Scoreboard says so.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/04/2013 12:16:49    1371580

yew_tree you have hit on something there. Only for our hardcore football support we would have nobody going to watch our footballers. Bottom line is that many of the hurling only people in Galway do not support the footballers. In contrast many football only people support our hurlers. The mind boggles on that one as we have a much better record at senior level with football. Also lots of hurling people dislike football so really we are choosing from half a county. Probably the same problems in Cork.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1977 - 22/04/2013 12:39:01    1371610

51 it's a forum I'm giving my opinion what's wrong with you. In the 96 all Ireland final the better team didn't win that game , Meath might have scored more but weren't the better team. Galway were lucky Kildare couldn't score and took full advantage of that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/04/2013 12:44:40    1371611

51 it's a forum I'm giving my opinion what's wrong with you. In the 96 all Ireland final the better team didn't win that game , Meath might have scored more but weren't the better team. Galway were lucky Kildare couldn't score and took full advantage of that.

I'm not sure Clondalkin. All the good play in the world comes to nothing if you have a major flaw in your makeup i.e. you can't kick the bloody thing over the bar.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/04/2013 12:58:10    1371627

1371472 All I was saying is if Dublin had a fully fit team to pick from they would have won it again this year. If Cormac Costello ,Philly Ryan and a concussed Paul Mannion were fit they would have beaten Longford no question about that. And for me Kildare threw that game away on Saturday 21 wides is shocking but fair play to Galway for capitalising on Kildare's awful shooting.

If my aunt had a pair of balls, she'd be my uncle... What a load of rubbish. You were beaten by a better Longford team.
if's and buts are complete hogwash. As for Cavan on Saturday, fair play lads, never gave in and made a great finish to the game. Two best teams in the country in the final. Should be a belter and a hard one to call.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 398 - 22/04/2013 13:11:19    1371639

you're wrong about 96 clondalkindub. We could've won if we had enough scoring forwards but we didn't. We bottled it. Hence, Meath were the better team in 96. Ces't la vie

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/04/2013 13:13:32    1371642

Galway were lucky Kildare couldn't score and took full advantage of that.

As many wides as Kildare kicked they kicked many of them from way out and from bad angles so some credit has to go to the Galway defence as well for forcing them into poor shot selection. They must have also blocked about half a dozen shots. And it also must be remembered that Galway could have easily have scored at least another 2 maybe 3 goals had the last pass gone to hand. No doubt Kildare won't be happy with their finishing but when you actually look at the game and not just the stats at the end it gives you a more complete picture.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 22/04/2013 13:17:24    1371645

Like doublehop has said there's not much point getting into a slagging match with other posters over how the matches went.

Galway deserved their win, had the tactics spot on and took their chances when they came. Attacked and defended in numbers and in an organised and disciplined manner, always seemed to have a man on the overlap when a player was carrying the ball forward and the full forward line played really well, especially numbers 13 and 14.

From a Kildare point of view the lads will definitely be disappointed and perhaps feeling they left it behind them, created enough chances but for some reason it was just one of those days where nothing worked out from a shooting perspective, the shot selection and the angles they shot from were a bit questionable at times all the same.

Overall though we shouldn't let one bad day at the office outshine what has already been a great year for a very talented team.

Heartbreak for Cavan in the other semi, would have been nice to see them finally make the breakthrough with an All Ireland after winning Ulster again.

Nice to see a big crowd out for both games too.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 22/04/2013 13:36:10    1371663

Good post if-in-doubt

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/04/2013 14:33:17    1371724

Just because you beat a team on the day doesn't mean you are a better team overall. Year in year out better teams get bet and that's just sport. If the favorites won every time nobody would watch it. In every sport the top few teams also get bet now and again. All I am saying is even though Kildare and Dublin are out, they're still the strongest at this age group. Look I suppose some people just take the match as it is and who ever wins is the better team, and I suppose when you look back in a few years time all you will see is the result.

Best of luck to Galway. I'd love to see them win it. I remember that minor game in 2010 also as our seniors were playing afterwards alright.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 22/04/2013 14:35:46    1371726

the most important thing to renember is that you bring through as many players from those under 21 teams
whether they won or lost in tullamore
galway lost a minor final in 1994 by 7 pts but yet it didnt stop a lot of those guys going on to win senior all ireland with galway in 1998
eg joyce donnellan fahy clancy meehan savage

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/04/2013 15:19:53    1371769