Under 21 Championship

20/04/2013 20:55:41

I think Cork and Galway players should buy the Longford lads drinks for knocking out the best team in the competition on horrible night in March in Parnell Park.

Stop making excuses. Longford were better than Dublin would have beaten them any type of conditions you do know Dublin were getting well beaten in challenge games pre-championship? and Longford had 11 of their 2010 leinster minor winning team. Dublin should be better next with most of 2011,2012 minor teams.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 20/04/2013 21:30:15    1370836

Up the REBELS!!! Tough luck on Cavan though, a draw would have been a fair result. Looking forward to the final now in two weeks. Win or lose there is some serious talent on that Cork team for the future. REBELS ABU!!!

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 20/04/2013 21:33:48    1370838

20/04/2013 21:20:07
ahsure.

1370830 clondalkindub, haha very good little jackeen. It doesn't reflect well on Dublin losing to (what transpired to be) an average Longford team who in turn lost to an average Kildare outfit in a Leinster Final. The averageness of the Leinster champions came before national television today when they played a magnificent Galway outfit.

your magnificent galway outfit will need to improve quite a bit to beat cork in the final.........like you said kildare are average so a five point win over such and leinster side certainly wont be enough to beat the munster lads.........cork to win the final by 8-10 points....

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 20/04/2013 21:47:36    1370846

congrats galway! i just hope ye leave yere U21s at home come senior championship. Many mayo supporters including myself gave out about our own U21 team whe we lost by 2 points to ye but looking back its not all that bad

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 20/04/2013 21:57:35    1370849

Gammy knee I hope you're right saying Cork will be hot favourites and expected to win the final by "8 - 10 points" just like Kildare were as we in Galway love it when we're underdogs! ;-)

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 21/04/2013 09:25:56    1370864

I totally agree Longford deserved to win that night, but that doesn't mean Dublin weren't the best team in the comp. lads if Kildare played Galway again there would be only one winner and that would be Kildare . 21 wides, 3 one on one misses , shots off the post and shots short . I know it's all on the day but Kildare are the better team they just had a nightmare in front of the posts.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/04/2013 10:14:33    1370875

I totally agree Longford deserved to win that night, but that doesn't mean Dublin weren't the best team in the comp. lads if Kildare played Galway again there would be only one winner and that would be Kildare . 21 wides, 3 one on one misses , shots off the post and shots short . I know it's all on the day but Kildare are the better team they just had a nightmare in front of the posts.

Would you give up with this tripe, blowing the trumpet of your neighbours, PUKE! Galway outclassed them all over the field, Galways midfield dominated throughout as I said it would, and their forwards roasted Kildare any time they made an effort. The difference on the day was that Galway had naturally gifted footballers, Kildare couldn't kick scores, something which comes naturally to a good footballer.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/04/2013 10:46:43    1370878

Clondalkin , I thought you knew your stuff , you're showing yourself up here by not realising what was shown up yesterday in the Kildare v Galway game.

Football won, Galway had better footballers and won the match deservingly so. Kildare are limited nd always will be at every level under the ideology of present management.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 21/04/2013 11:12:31    1370886

Look kildare have some very good players at u21 level, I know its a delicate balance between skill and fitness, but i do feel that balance was one sided yesterday and that was not the faults of the kildare players,, too much concentration on fitness rather than basic skills, the point id put forward is that kildare have the players at this level but when someone decides to solely concentrate on one thing (fitness) then the other will suffer, and thats nothing to do with the players.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/04/2013 11:15:06    1370887

Clondalkinbub it is not true that Kildare were the better team - Galway could have had 21 wides also if they chose to kick from some of the stupid positions and angles that Kildare did. If Galway did that and Kildare won, I wouldn't be saying that Galway were the "better team". Kildare had more possession around the midfield diamond area but did not have the quality of forwards that Galway had in Walsh, Burke, Varley and Moran. Galway also missed at least 3 good goal chances when the final pass was not laid off to a better placed team-mate so could have won by more. At the end of the day it's all about scoring, not about how much possession or how many wides you had!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 21/04/2013 11:36:32    1370899

Pity Kildare didnt kick 21 wides against us. Hurley had very little impact on the game either as opposed to the leinster final.

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 21/04/2013 11:59:59    1370906

ahsure.

clondalkindub, haha very good little jackeen. It doesn't reflect well on Dublin losing to (what transpired to be) an average Longford team who in turn lost to an average Kildare outfit in a Leinster Final. The averageness of the Leinster champions came before national television today when they played a magnificent Galway outfit.

Longford weren't an average team. And Kildare have a lot of lads playing senior so they will be happy enough looking back on a leinster title and bringing lads through the seniors.

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 21/04/2013 12:02:18    1370908

Sergeant_Slash

1370878 clondalkindub

Rubbish. There is only ever one day and football is all about doing it on that day. Galway did it yesterday and were the superior team .Kildare blew it yesterday.You can have all the possession you want .If you fail to make it count you cannot say you were the better team.A lot of Kildares wastage was down to poor shooting and even worse decision making On the day Galway were much superior when it came to putting the ball between the posts. Ultimately only one stat counts and it said Galway 2-10 Kildare 2-05.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 21/04/2013 12:04:29    1370909

Slash first of all I don't like Kildare I've made that clear over the last two years, you say Galway dominated midfield yet Kildare had way more possession tru out the game so that's wrong, I love the way lads are saying Kildare took shots from impossible angles no they didn't they miss straight forward chances that they would never miss again it was just one of them horrible days that can happen to an underage team. A full strength Dublin team would have beaten any of them teams yesterday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/04/2013 12:19:29    1370917

Slash first of all I don't like Kildare I've made that clear over the last two years, you say Galway dominated midfield yet Kildare had way more possession tru out the game so that's wrong, I love the way lads are saying Kildare took shots from impossible angles no they didn't they miss straight forward chances that they would never miss again it was just one of them horrible days that can happen to an underage team. A full strength Dublin team would have beaten any of them teams yesterday.

Afraid not buddy. That Kidare team accounted for Dublin not once but twice in Leinster at minor level. As for Galway well done and the very best in the final against Cork. A bad day at the office for Kildare but if the truth be known man for man we're a lot better than Galway. Just one of those days.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 21/04/2013 12:37:00    1370933

derfil1 if the "truth be known" I wouldn't trade too many of the Galway players for the Kildare players on "man for man" basis. Kildare were big and strong alright and won a fair amount of possession around midfield but that is where it ended as they weren't particularly skillful or natural footballers like many of the Galway lads were especially in the forwards.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 21/04/2013 12:46:32    1370938

tommy k

derfil1 if the "truth be known" I wouldn't trade too many of the Galway players for the Kildare players on "man for man" basis. Kildare were big and strong alright and won a fair amount of possession around midfield but that is where it ended as they weren't particularly skillful or natural footballers like many of the Galway lads were especially in the forwards.

I love this natural footballers and gym monkeys rubbish. Like I said we'd a bad day. 9 times out of 10 that Kildare team would beat that Galway team.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 21/04/2013 13:00:58    1370948

Hate to be a curmudgeon after what was an excellent evening for Galway but watching a player handpass the ball 15-20 yards back towards his own goal and then seeing players running down the clock makes modern day football frustrating viewing.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1067 - 21/04/2013 13:07:15    1370953

derfil and clon

You're either on a wind up or haven't a clue!

It wasn't even close yesterday, Galway won by 5 points, an 8 point win wouldn't have flattered them. Galway cruised in the last 5 minutes, could easily have got more scores but decided to take play possession ball.

Quite obvious Galway had better forwards, they opened up Kildare on so many occasions, could easily have got more goals. Shane Walsh opened them up the Kildare backs everytime he got the ball.

A posted earlier on in the thread claimed Kildare would dominate midfield, did they realise both Galways midfielders from the team who won this competition were still playing? How can anyone spout such drivel!

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 21/04/2013 13:15:46    1370962

A full strength Dublin team would have beaten any of them teams yesterday.

Reading your posts often gives me a good laugh because of the stupidity & naivety attached to them.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 21/04/2013 13:20:19    1370963