Under 21 Championship

Cavan keeper!!! What have ya done? Awful free to give away

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 20/04/2013 17:08:59    1370731

Congrats to our lads from the West and hopefully Galway will continue to bring cups across the Shannon on a regular basis. Cavan were unlucky but they were doing too much messing around with the ball in the half-forwards as time was ticking away and gave away 2 or 3 awful passes to Cork players as well as the needless foul by the Cavan goalie as the Cork forward was going nowhere in particular. Should be a good final with hopefully a tribes victory!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/04/2013 17:16:00    1370735

51longago

There ya have it,Donegal man s post. Galway play some awesome stuff and he can only see fit to give out about something.

It tells a lot.

Jesus 51 in the light of some of the bile you have posted on here that is some statement!!!
Still not over last Sept then?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/04/2013 17:20:44    1370737

KildareKelly, I wasn't very impressed with the Kildare midfield to be honest. Kildare were big men but had far too many wides which will punished at the highest levels. At the end of the day the team with the better gaelic footballers won the game.

GAILLIMH ABÚ

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1702 - 20/04/2013 17:37:52    1370742

So there we have it, the natural footballers from Galway beat the gym monkeys from Kildare. Serious talent and luckily for some of us we didn't believe all the hype. Will be taking a nice little walk down to the bookies and collecting my winnings. Odds were a joke.

Cork v Cavan was a tougher game to call. Went with Cork luckily but it could have gone either way. Hard luck Cavan, wonder will they win Ulster again next year...

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 20/04/2013 17:49:30    1370747

Kildare no doubt have some quality players. I feel they could be very dangerous next year if Jason Ryan is given the job. He is such a high quality coach and I don't know if they realise how lucky they're to have him involved. Kildare will match every time for fitness but I can't see them winning anything this year.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1078 - 20/04/2013 17:52:13    1370748

Great fightback by Cavan from 6-13 down almost brought the game to extra time but for goalkeeper giving away a few and Cavan no 13 missing a free he would normally score. Cork were the best of the two sides and deserve their place in the final.

In the other semi final congrats to our neighbours it's great to see another Connacht team in All Ireland final however if i was Galway fan i would be slightly worried all the luck need to win All Ireland is used up before the final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4074 - 20/04/2013 18:13:02    1370758

shane walsh unreal again today
backs defended wellagain
you cant beat the natural footballers at this levl
kidare wrere the biggest under 21 ive seen but putting the bar is whats it all about

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 20/04/2013 19:00:23    1370771

Gutted to lose in the manner we did, unbelievable fightback from 6 points down to draw level, and then missing the free, but that's football and congrats to Cork, there was nothing between the two teams only the kick of a ball. Made for serious viewing for the neutrals I'd say.

As for the other game, well I called it correctly, Galway much the better team at midfield and I'm glad the hype and myth about Kildare has been laid bare for all to see. They were the poorest of the four teams in O'Connor park today. Strong physically imposing team, you can see the gym work really has made a difference, but unfortunately gym work won't help a lad kick scores and that was exposed badly today.

Cork to win it out now.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 20/04/2013 19:30:19    1370785

Well done galway. Knew you were a serious side when you beat mayo in tuam.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 20/04/2013 19:39:43    1370790

As Micheál Ó Domhnaill said to Shane Moran in the MOTM presentation, no one outside of Galway fancied them... Ridiculous odds on Galway this morning but we fancied our boys to do it. Great win against a big Kildare side but the team who played the better football won it.

With O'Cuarroin and Flynns experience from 2011 and the ability of Shane Walsh there is an All-Ireland in this team.

Football Whiz (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 20/04/2013 20:07:35    1370801

absoulotey gutted.. what a fightback from our lads though. the scenes in the terrace were incredible something i havent seen in many years..
this is not sour grapes but where were the cork and galway fans today.? it was nothing short of a disgrace to see such a poor turnout from both supporters. them young guys deserve a lot better than that. it was all cavan and kildare and in a way it kinda spoiled the atmotsphere of both games with the lack of banter between supporters. I am disgusted. them guys deserve better they are out there playing there hearts out for there county and the supporters dont turn up for them. disgraceful.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 20/04/2013 20:17:53    1370803

Thought it was fantastic to see natural footballers been able to express themselves ,I hope this is the future.

Cavan were unlucky and they have some lovely footballers too. Tradition doesn't die and I hope we see more of Cavan in the years to come.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 20/04/2013 20:21:32    1370805

Sorry Sean Moran not Shane!!!

Football Whiz (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 20/04/2013 20:33:53    1370810

I absolutely love it when these pages post a pre-match analysis that has us as the underdogs. Please keep it up!

Too many wides today for Kildare, you just can't be that generous and expect to win. Commiserations and well played.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/04/2013 20:54:20    1370816

Leave it out lads sticking the boot into an underage Kildare team it's out of order. Galway were bless that Kildare forwards left there shooting boots at home , they will be sick with there shooting today if they kicked half there missed shots they would have won comfortably. I think Cork and Galway players should buy the Longford lads drinks for knocking out the best team in the competition on horrible night in March in Parnell Park.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/04/2013 20:55:41    1370817

asdfg, I do agree with you but the amount of supporters you have wont win you games as Kildare and yourselves very well know.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1702 - 20/04/2013 21:11:38    1370826

clondalkindub, haha very good little jackeen. It doesn't reflect well on Dublin losing to (what transpired to be) an average Longford team who in turn lost to an average Kildare outfit in a Leinster Final. The averageness of the Leinster champions came before national television today when they played a magnificent Galway outfit.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1702 - 20/04/2013 21:20:07    1370830

Leave it out lads sticking the boot into an underage Kildare team it's out of order. Galway were bless that Kildare forwards left there shooting boots at home , they will be sick with there shooting today if they kicked half there missed shots they would have won comfortably. I think Cork and Galway players should buy the Longford lads drinks for knocking out the best team in the competition on horrible night in March in Parnell Park.

Get over it, yous were beaten on home turf by a team that didn't even win Leinster, not near the best team in it by a long way. That's just sheer arrogance on your behalf.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 20/04/2013 21:21:36    1370832

20/04/2013 20:54:20
festinog

I absolutely love it when these pages post a pre-match analysis that has us as the underdogs. Please keep it up!

If you have odds of 3-1 with some bookies before the game = underdogs.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4074 - 20/04/2013 21:24:21    1370833