Karl Lacey - Footballer of the Year - Spat on??

Sorry brend...a typo...my mistake....should be sizeable minority!

Fair play to you... I know that the vast majority of Tyrone fans were as sickened by the incident involving Lacey as I was. Fair play also to Mickey Harte and Ciaran McLaughlin for going into the Donegal dressing room afterwards to apologise.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Donegal/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=186858

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 04/03/2013 10:53:01    1342217

The Healy Park stewards need to be far stricter. The person involved in the spitting incident should not be allowed in the next time he turns up. God knows we have our own share of idiots but it seems to be accepted that a small but significant element of the Tyrone support who tend to be in the middle of the stand are allowed carry on in an intimidatory manner. This has included encroachments on other team's subs and sideline. That happened to Dublin in 2005 and to Kerry the same year and it seems not much has changed.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/03/2013 10:53:28    1342219

Fair play Brend this was a real cheap shot to spit on anyone, there is no room for that in society in general never mind a sporting event. I would hope that Tyrone GAA do find the culprit and deal with them properly.

One thing that I did notice yesterday in Omagh that I think they should address was the positioning of fans so close to the subs and backroom teams. Both sets of subs had fans from both counties sitting on the row directly behind them. I feel that the two rows behind the subs should be left free as it wouldn't take much to cause a problem in the current situation. A player could be sent off for a strike and maybe be positioned in the stand beside family members of the receiving player, maybe Tyrone GAA should have another think on this.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/03/2013 10:54:06    1342221

Rahillyman!

Amazing stuff altogether! Isn't it incredible that because the abuse hurled at Durcan has been raised we now have counter accusations about abuse being hurled at Steven O'Neill etc.

I know it and you know it if you're being honest...there was no abuse hurled at Steven O'Neill or anyone else for that matter! The only abuse was coming from an element of the Tyrone support so stop coming out with that crap now trying to make out there was two sets of supporters at it. There wasn't and you well know it!

As for the cynical fouling its funny but you would actually think from listening to you that Tyrone weren't guilty in this department. The foul count might be of interest to you. Donegal were awarded 33 frees to Tyrones 21. Any time a Donegal player got the ball he was hauled to the ground. C'mon you can't start throwing out ridiculous arguments that have no foundation to make a point.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 04/03/2013 11:01:13    1342226

I was on the steps so no personal account of this.
It did happen though we are clear on that and the Tyrone County board and management have been into the Donegal dressing room and promised a full investigation.
Ban the thug, name and shame him he does not represent my county.
Many Donegal posters should be aware of the support in the main they received from Tyrone when they were the bogeyman, I was delighted to see them win last year and still am.
Memories are indeed short the bandwagon of indignation that railed against Donegal fans for surrounding and thumping Spillane. The same goes for that as this idiot, he does not represent Tyrone or the GAA. It's over to the county board to deliver justice and shame the fool.

Lifford take a few deep breaths before you starting posting that nonsense.
Ulsterman - let's face it "You just hate the people". Tyrone are your latest target for you discontent but there will be others in the coming weeks and months of that I'm certain.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/03/2013 11:01:45    1342227

I was across at the terrace area below the media box. There was a calm atmosphere there for the game, without any animosity. Maybe its time to rip up the seats and make everyone stand again, as the seating area seemed to be where most of the booing was!

I have to say that I will be back to Healy park. It was my first time there, and although the result did not go our way, it was a good day out.

Karl Lacey incident has been dealt with if Mickey Heart apologized, what more do you want.

Michael Murphy will get over the booing. All systems go for the next meeting.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3837 - 04/03/2013 11:16:01    1342242

The response of Tyrone poster here has been heartening & I am glad to see it. There is often a kneejerk instinct to protect our own & circle the wagons with a dose of whataboutery, but to Tyrone's credit that hasn't happened here.

The tension leading up to May will be high enough as we now know that both Tyrone & Donegal are going to be in the shakeup at the business end of the year, something Tyrone men were giving me a hard time for saying not that long ago!!!!

It will be a great occasion & I for one do not want to see it marred in any way.

See you all in a crammed Ballybofey, I don't think there is much chance of Donegal agreeing to a change of venue now!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/03/2013 11:21:56    1342248

Lads, we can get involved in this tit-for-tat all day if we want to. What about the Donegal player who struck a Tyrone player as they left the field after the final whistle? Or the intimidation (for want of a better word) of Rory Gallagher to Joe McQuillan as they left the field at half-time. Personally I couldn't give a hoot, the game is over and these things will pass and never be spoke of again. To bring up the incident involving Joe McMahon two years ago is as petty to be honest

Like some of Donegal colleagues have said, their is an element of support from all counties which will go over the top. I happened to be in the stand near the centre, surrounded on the most part by Donegal supporters, and there wasn't a bad word spoke in anger from anyone. I spoke with one person after the game who said a grown man (Tyrone supporter) got to his feet to give Michael Murphy a mouthful as he walked off, "ye big Donegal hallion" (or words to that affect) and was quickly told by Tyrone supporters and told to sit down and shut up. Again, the spitting incident is fully criticised by any right thinking person, nevermind if they are a Tyrone fan or not. My point is, we can go over old ground all day, let's just relax and look forward to our next clash (could be a League semi final or something).

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 04/03/2013 11:24:51    1342254

Tyrone have always had that element. It's almost like a persecution complex with them. They don't even like each other sure, I've seen tyrone people fighting at clones more than once. No manners.

Great footballing heritage, but a sizeable element of their support and also in the main those who jump on the bandwagon during the summer are amongst the worst in the country for the bile and carry on in the stands.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1073 - 04/03/2013 11:36:08    1342263

REWIND a couple of years lifford gael when Jim sent on McLoone to take out big Joe , when Joe was carried off after having the Donegal forwards in his pocket for most of that Ulster final the Donegal fans were ecstatic, jubilant, euphoric at the sight of Big joe being carried off and the scenes of celebration after that game bye the majority of Donegal wans was just as sickening ,

What is this nonsense. So Donegal fans shouldn't have bee happy for getting to a first ulster final in 6 years and instead should have been forlorn because McMahon got injured?

Read that back to yourself and appreciate how ridiculous it is.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1073 - 04/03/2013 11:37:38    1342264

Samsfor - glasshouses. As I say most Tyrone posters never lambasted Donegal as a whole for lamping Spillane you should do likewise.
Your right about one thing - we don't like fans who behave like that idiot did - but that's only right and proper.
Tyrone fans celebrated zealously at the end of the match - enjoy it that means even a league match against donegal resulted in this jubilation. That's what comes from being top of he tree -people want to beat ye. It's a complement take it as such.

In 2011 - Dublin whipped Tyrone there were fans from Kerry going mental with joy - a reminder that Down had just beaten their team couldn't cool their delerium.
Sometimes defeat is hard to take but you learn more about yourself and a bit of humility that you have no entitlement to win every time, for your joy is another mans despair.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/03/2013 11:49:44    1342279

Well said Enola gay, it would be nice if that were the final word on it, alas threads like this attract the worst elements amongst the HS community, witness our friend Samforthehills, exhibit A.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/03/2013 11:50:12    1342280

Tyronetim

In 2011 - Dublin whipped Tyrone there were fans from Kerry going mental with joy - a reminder that Down had just beaten their team couldn't cool their delerium.
Sometimes defeat is hard to take but you learn more about yourself and a bit of humility that you have no entitlement to win every time, for your joy is another mans despair.

When we beat yous in 2011 it was a stand alone fixture.

You're think of 2010 when we beat yous on the same day that Kerry were beaten by Down.

On the issue, it was obviously a disgraceful act that I'm sure will be dealt with by the Tyrone County Board. I've always found Tyrone fans to be particularly good when they come down to Dublin. Very sporting, win or lose in my experience.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13757 - 04/03/2013 11:59:51    1342293

Tyronetim

Samsfor - glasshouses. As I say most Tyrone posters never lambasted Donegal as a whole for lamping Spillane you should do likewise.
Your right about one thing - we don't like fans who behave like that idiot did - but that's only right and proper.
Tyrone fans celebrated zealously at the end of the match - enjoy it that means even a league match against donegal resulted in this jubilation. That's what comes from being top of he tree -people want to beat ye. It's a complement take it as such.

The Spillane incident was totally out of order. I've been going a long time and don't recall anything of that nature happening before or since. And for the most part our support are a credit. No hassle no anything, couple of loo-las from out in the sticks full drunk having the craic most certainly but you will never witness the level of abuse that you will see continually from a sizeable portion of Tyrone's supporters from Donegal fans. And that's a fact.

That's not intended to be a slight either or looking for an argument, it's simply the way it is.

And as for your last part of that post. Are you honestly, attempting to lecture me as a Donegal man that a team has no entitlement to win every time!? Cheers for the heads up, I'd never have guessed that watching my county lose as they have done for most of my natural life.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1073 - 04/03/2013 12:10:00    1342305

Nobody should be even attempting to create any form of excuse in the lacey incident, I think most people would accept that. I know if it was someone from my own county I would be ashamed, and many would probably feel the same.
As regards the murphy thing though there seems to be more of a mixed opinion. There does seem to be that element in the tyrone support. They like to rub it in when the opportunity arises. Compare that to the ger brennan sending off in the mayo-dublin game, where in fairness the mayo support would be right to feel a little aggrieved after his actions. Yet there wasnt the type of reaction that murphy got. Im not trying to pat mayo on the back, as I think that generally most counties support react this way. It is just a good example for comparison. Is this a throwback to the days of ricey and co? Where the fans see themselves as an extension of the team, and the team happened to have a more 'any means necessary' attitude than most?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/03/2013 12:11:15    1342308

Disgusting act by Tyrone supporter yesterday. Hes no supporter if you ask me. Im afraid all counties have a few supporters who let down the good name of the county and its genuine supporters. Identify this clown and ban him for life. Ive a feeling this thread will get nasty so i will refrain from posting anymore after this. It will get hijacked by the usual muppets and twist it big time. Tyrone and Donegal are two fine counties, so lets move on from this horrible episode.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 04/03/2013 12:29:03    1342325

Listen I'd be a fan of Ulster football

But that was a bad weekend to showcase Ulster Football

Did anyone see the Armagh game...!?! An all time low for cynical play...

Also Tyrone keeper after what was an outstanding save... has to go and ruin it by his following actions

Screaming into the back of Murphys head... we were at this muck ourselves back in 05/06

At least we moved on from it...

I think it's important to highlight such actions as you can see the true Tyrone support coming out and it's already been appreciated by Donegals posters

I see I've had a few digs for starting it but I stand behind the reason for doing so as mentioned above.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 04/03/2013 12:35:17    1342332

Nobody should be even attempting to create any form of excuse in the lacey incident, I think most people would accept that. I know if it was someone from my own county I would be ashamed, and many would probably feel the same.
As regards the murphy thing though there seems to be more of a mixed opinion. There does seem to be that element in the tyrone support. They like to rub it in when the opportunity arises. Compare that to the ger brennan sending off in the mayo-dublin game, where in fairness the mayo support would be right to feel a little aggrieved after his actions. Yet there wasnt the type of reaction that murphy got. Im not trying to pat mayo on the back, as I think that generally most counties support react this way. It is just a good example for comparison. Is this a throwback to the days of ricey and co? Where the fans see themselves as an extension of the team, and the team happened to have a more 'any means necessary' attitude than most?

Agree entirely.. (my previous 2 attempts to post on this were not allowed by the administrator).

not sure why.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/03/2013 12:48:59    1342344

Hopefully Donegal will have the last laugh in May! I'd love to see Murphy launch a netbuster past Morgan after his antics yesterday. In fairness to him, and I'm not excusing his actions following the penalty save, he's some keeper. He appears to have it all. Good shot stopper, excellent kick outs and commanding under a high ball.

The Lacey incident was disgusting and the culprit should be ashamed of his actions. A nice ban from all GAA grounds would be suitable here I think.

I wasn't at the game so I can't comment on the abuse Murphy received. But from the TV pictures all I can say is that Murphy looked to be ripping! Hopefully he can channel that anger and frustration into a demolition job on Tyrone in May!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 04/03/2013 12:57:07    1342353

Absolutely disgusted with that carry on,I hope the Tyrone county board deal with it swiftly and firmly.He shouldn't be allowed through the gates of a GAA ground again.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 04/03/2013 12:57:43    1342355