We're all just as bad as each other
Bunch of weirdo GAA freaks...
If we met in the real world no ne would have such strong opinions
We'd all laugh and joke and realise the silliness of it all over a nice pint.
(Except themaster)
So shut up the lot of yiz. You make me want to barf... Hahaha love this post from the great man. Ah would everyone relax its a forum for gods sake it's for opinions and banter would everyone chill out.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/02/2013 19:04:18
This might sound stupid but I think the addition of smileys would take a lot of the heat out of some posts.
Not being able to see the intention behind a post can sometimes lead to people taking offence where none was intended. It works well on another board I subscribe to.
Technically it shouldn't be that hard to do & might be worth experimenting with.
Foe what it's worth if we took the Meath/Kildare thing out of the picture then everything else is reasonably ok, apart from the odd persecution complex!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 21/02/2013 20:23:01
kerry74:County: Kerry:Posts: 499
I find a lot more good debate takes place on your own counties forums. Although my counties forum is getting invaded by SNUFF and JACKL at the moment talking rubbish trying to annoy people. It is annoying believe me. Take a look for yourselves. There should be a stricter use on multiple usernames as some people i could name have more 2,3 than names.
It would prob make more work for the Admin but certain posters should be totally censored or blocked. This is a GAA webpage, any topic/post not in keeping with Gaa standards should be blocked and the poster censored for a short period of time, it is not so lomng aga that a thread was available where people tried to ban Snuff. like my colleague has said above the likes of Jackl and Snuff spand more time on the kerry webpage than any other one, it often just spoils or ruins a topic by interfering and sending the post in a different direction. Maybe if posters were made stick to their own county webpage.
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/02/2013 20:39:44
Started to read the original thread and couldn't agree more, but what happens, usual culprits come on and start the same ole BS. Pretty obvious the posters taking the piss out of this thread are some of the worst culprits for the venom and generalised insults. If the thread makes you want to barf, well leave it and go and barf. And as for telling people to relax and chill, some of us obviously feel when posters feel the need to bring hate and vindictive insults into their posts that is going beyond slagging and banter. Look back at a lot of the current threads, take out the venom and insults and there is very little left on them. So lads accept your responsibility, certain posters are killing real debate and chat about our beloved game. And ironically when we try to debate that actual point we get junenile posts like I want to barf etc in reply. Ironic but I bet the irony is lost.
commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 22/02/2013 10:00:13
Admin - Are we allowed name names of who we as a collective think are the worst for this carry on?
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/02/2013 10:13:32
Horsebox77 County: Kerry Posts: 904
Id agree re: JackL. Goes around every county page trying to destroy threads just to get a reaction for himself. ruins loads of good threads.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 22/02/2013 10:33:11
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 4103
Liam I named 2 or 3 (JackL, Snuff and Mikeylinden) in my post earlier and it was not censored.
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 22/02/2013 10:45:10
Jackos_Wacko And the most ironic thing is about 5 or 6 of the lads are calling the kettle black on this thread.
Exactly. It is clear that there are a few who are refering to myself on this thread. But it is also clear that in doing what they are doing on this thread, they are actually guilty of exactly what the thread is complaining about. As for their gripe with me, I posted on some issues around dublin gaa, on dublin gaa threads. I dont see an issue with that and I dont see many non-dublin posters coming onto this thread saying it is an issue either. I gave genuine reasons for my points and after 10 pages of diversion tactics and abuse, 1 poster actually addressed the point and debated it. The sad fact is if they had just debated the point the thread would be long finished. Yet they seem to think it is me who has done wrong and carry on with this childish gang mentality stuff. 'What do you think poster A? Same as you poster B, we cant listen to him, look where he is from. Thanks poster A. I agree with both of you A and B. No we both agree with you poster C' The term safety in numbers comes to mind and I find it pretty pathetic that grown men cant stand on their own two feet and debate a point without this need for approval. I mean the back-slapping, even on this thread, is totally cringworthy. You would be disappointed if you seen a child carrying on like that. Of course when they are called on it they say, 'ah sure it is all a laugh', but they were the ones making the whole thing personal a few minutes before. If it is a laugh then why make it personal? You cant have it every way. I mean the worst offenders on this thread are the guys who seem to think they are running the thing. Maybe that is an indication of the real issue.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/02/2013 10:56:08
Lads,
I think one thing needs to be remembered here and is probably more applicable to the educated posters on this website....there is WUMming and there is 'personal opinion based on fact'!!
Therefore, if one forms an opinion about a team, a manager, a county, supporters etc, and it is based on 'fact' then one is entitled to air that opinion no matter how much it goes against the grain of others!!......how could we ever have pundits and jurnos forming an opinion on who will be beaten/relegated/sacked etc if they could not air this opinion which is based on the facts before them as they see it!
If a team is losing badly all the time....is one not entitled to remark that they will probably be relegated (based upon the fact that they are losing badly)? If a team is losing badly all the time....is one not entitled to remark that the manager may be out of his depth (based upon the fact that they are losing badly)? If a team is losing badly all the time....is one not entitled to remark that they may be relying on players that dont have the legs anymore (based upon the fact that they are losing badly)? If a team and its supporters enter into a game so confident of victory that it borders on disrespect to the opposition....is one not entitled to point out this upon their defeat (based on the fact that they would not entertain the possibility of any idea outside of their own teams victory).
If one cannot form and air an 'opinion based on fact' then the whole basis for media reporting is doomed!.....maybe what upsets some on here is that 'opinion based on fact' combined with a bit of slagging/ribbing/banter is an combination that is lethal to the senses in its being reported!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/02/2013 11:06:01
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3201
Thank you CD.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 22/02/2013 11:23:05
For me the site has lost a lot of it's appeal, the forum used to provide me with an essential connection to the GAA world while living the other side of the world. There is only a handful of posters who are reasonable for it's demise from my point of view. There has always been good banter and rivalry between the Dubs and the lads from the sticks but in recent months thread after thread going through the admin net that are just down right insulting to people's intelligence as it is painfully obvious that the authors of these threads have nothing but an agenda to vent some of their hatred to them big headed Dubs.
The other painful thing is displayed again on this thread, the wind up merchant from the west whom travels from thread to thread hijacking the topic until his posts (which are more like short stories of a man talking to himself) have completely taken over the debate by their sheer size. The sad thing is people like the one I mention is a perfect example of a pig headed Irishman from a bygone era whom approach everything with a siege mentality and refuse to admit they are wrong even when the whole world tells them.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 22/02/2013 11:46:38
Bluewave, again I know you refer to myself. The thing that jumps out at me is you are already certain that there is an ulterior motive before you even read the thing. Yet I have never commented on any dublin thread without explaining what I am saying and why. You in turn ignore this reasoning. What else am I supposed to do? Furthermore, how exactly is that a seige mentality? If anything it is your own approach that resembles a seige mentality. This 'you just have it in for the dubs' when I clearly state my case is hallmark seige mentality, is it not?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/02/2013 12:48:14
The Master- I don't have the will or the energy anymore to reason with you it's impossible.
Take Care
Kindest Regards
Bluewave
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 22/02/2013 13:21:33
Just to make a few points
1. The first thing I hate her is 'oldies' or 'experienced' posters on her telling people they are not to have an opinion because they are 'pups' - not having a go Liam but this has been used against me a few times becuaes these so called 'oldies' did not agree with my general opinions on certain matters. This has to be cut out.
2. Its very easy to get dragged into slagging mathches. People should walk away. Its hard to do but its the fella looking for a reaction thats is losing out when you do walk away. If cerrtain people were ignored they'd soon cut the crap.
3. I feel there is one fella on her who is a bully. He uses the thread to bully people and insult people. These sort of people should also be ignored. People on her should not use their anonamous identity to insult people and to carry on in a different way then what they normally would.
4. Not everyone on here has the same opinions. If you do not agree with someone's opinion, that fair enough but people should be respectful of other peoples opinion on here. By all means argue your points but leave the insults behind.
5. I hate the labling based on 'factual opinions' that goes on here.
This site is class and ther are many good discussions on here but about three or four certain posters on here are turining me away and according to the reaction to a few posters on certain threads lately I am not alone. PLEASE posters ignore these people. If they do not get a reaction they will become bored adn will cut out the crap.
Well, thats my lot.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/02/2013 13:39:25
Very few original posters left , there was some craic back then pre passwords - NavyNBlue, Clarke95, Richie Rich, some crazy Geraghty fan from Meath then the ballboy era - always enjoyed his tales of big screens & helicopters. The Non GAA forum sparked an influx of political extremists from a certain province, unfortunately admins had no choice but to close. Still some good posters around now , is SammytheBull still around????
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 22/02/2013 13:51:16
Culann no offence taken atall mate, but i will say this, I dont think I have ever played the "oldie" card seriously the only times i ever make reference to it is very tongue in cheek My reference to it earlier was a joke about the simmering dislike between Breffni and Snuf Maybe it could be construed as an "inside joke" and if that was the case, i genuinely apologise
I have no interest in this "newbie" politics that goes on in some forums. Some of the very best posters on here only appeared recently, some of the very worst have been on here donkeys years. If you look at my post count and compare it to others, u will see that while i may be here 8 years, i have nothing like the same posts as some.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/02/2013 14:08:03
Bluewave, why did you make the initial post then? Basically what you are saying it I want my say but Im not going to hear out any response. Does that sound resonable to you? I know I wouldnt do that, I am happy to answer anyone, particularly someone who I just called out in my last post...
Culann 1. The first thing I hate her is 'oldies' or 'experienced' posters on her telling people they are not to have an opinion because they are 'pups' - not having a go Liam but this has been used against me a few times becuaes these so called 'oldies' did not agree with my general opinions on certain matters. This has to be cut out.
Interesting point Culann. Replace oldies/experienced with dublin and you will have a better understanding of the opposite side of the coin. Although not all dublin posters are bad. Jackeen for example is a genuine poster, interestingly enough it was her who set up this thread.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/02/2013 14:11:37
Best Dublin poster not sure how long he's been around and excuse my ignorance
but I always look out for Seany16 and his insights into Dublin GAA
Top notch and his overall knowledge is excellent
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 22/02/2013 14:12:38
So the moral of the story is........???? Any help here admin?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/02/2013 14:13:08
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 4104
1337833 Culann no offence taken atall mate, but i will say this, I dont think I have ever played the "oldie" card seriously the only times i ever make reference to it is very tongue in cheek My reference to it earlier was a joke about the simmering dislike between Breffni and Snuf Maybe it could be construed as an "inside joke" and if that was the case, i genuinely apologise That good that no offense was taken Liam. To be honest it wasn't aimed at you but that card has been played by others on me a few times because my opinions differed to their and it got up my wick! I thought it was very snobbish.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/02/2013 14:14:09