Its not been any good for a while on here.During the months between September and January we used to keep the craic goin on the non gaa forum where we could create and discuss our own topics,but they stopped that and its a reason less to visit the site.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/02/2013 15:16:58
Beelzedub County: Dublin Posts: 321
1337278 Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7941
1337271 Jimbo try not to turn this thread of all threads into a petty squabble.
I believe you couldnt resist having the first dig Breff.
"No harm" then why comment.
It wasn't a dig, but yeah whatever... can we move on?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:17:08
Agree 100%
It seems on many threads that your judged by your county and other posters from your county, rather than the actual material in your post.
My own county, Kildare and Dublin have probably some of the biggest culprits, but that could be just a case of noticing them more because they are more involved in threads about/involving leinster teams and so on.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 21/02/2013 15:17:25
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2180
Ye was thinking it wouldn't work too well. We'd all have to change our usernames etc and you're right of would be pretty obvious what county you support after a while. Look I can dish it and take it but my sole purpose on HS is to discuss our games. It's fairly obvious that not all posters are here for that reason. How about 3 strikes or you're out? As doublehop says, admin have taken welcome steps to stop threads going off topic and it is helping but we need more of a deterrent. Maybe some of us can become moderators? After all admin can't do everything!
Can you imagine the craic we'd have if some of us were given that responsibility?
It wouldn't be that much of a shock if some people on here weren't created by the mods themselves anyways, wums and ridiculous arguments are bound to attract people into reading threads at least, if not necessarily helping people post or debate on them.
People can complain about older posters not posting here anymore but isn't that part of the problem, moaning about the same point being brought up time and time again yet they seem to have no problem doing the same thing when it suits them. What do they want, no new people coming on? Multiple usernames are another one, sometimes it's so obvious you'd wonder why they bother.
The removal of the non GAA forum was something that accelerated the decline I'd say, people used to love a good rant over there, now all they can do is vent that anger here and aim it at certain counties / posters.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 21/02/2013 15:22:28
This forum is generally infantile from what I have seen in the last year, same Dubs and culchies stirring it up day in day out, they're an absolute embarrassment to their respective counties, other forums are not so, I'd post here more often if I thought it was worth it, a bit of slagging is fun, what goes on here is a worrying reflection on these 'posters' personalities. Some form of therapy might help, but probably not!
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 21/02/2013 15:23:05
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7944
1337287 Beelzedub County: Dublin Posts: 321
1337278 Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7941
1337271 Jimbo try not to turn this thread of all threads into a petty squabble.
I believe you couldnt resist having the first dig Breff.
"No harm" then why comment.
It wasn't a dig, but yeah whatever... can we move on? ______
We'll take up your selective condemnation at another time… sure.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 15:25:03
I think people are looking at the past through rose tinted glasses. Years ago it was the same if not worse at this time of year..... as the championship kicks off there will be plenty to talk about and wummers will get less attention.
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 21/02/2013 15:25:58
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 4089
1337269 Jackeen its no co-incidence that the majority of the old guard have left us. Theres very few of the originals left at this stage which is a shame because we have lost some real star debaters. The one thing I will say tho Jackeen is you might be looking back a little thru rose tinted glasses Remember Ballboy? Remember Squidworth? And there was many more where they came from
WUM's have always been around. The trick is to know them and ignore them. There are many here I disagree with, many whose opinions I will never see eye to eye with, but on the whole I still think the majority here are ok. There are 3 or 4 absolute tools of the highest order, and I have as recently as today fallen into the trap of going up against them, when I know well that I am wasting my time. Its the same for you or Benny, Sedico, Breffni, Brend etc etc, all decent posters who allow ourselves to be dragged down at times by the clowns
I think the real solution is for us to cop on. The genuine posters. We are as much the problem. If we didnt react to the clowns, they would go away.
Make sense??
Yea big time. I'm the first to being dragged down and then just go along with the flow and start wumming. I find it very hard to ignore some comments. But like most here I like a good debate on GAA matters.
Maybe this thread might be the catalyst for bigger and better things. However I think we all need to be careful. We don't need to get uber serious or things could go the other direction. A little bit from column 'a' and a big bit from column 'b' might be the way to go.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/02/2013 15:27:15
u see lads and lassies what is an old timer to some of ye here is a mere pup to the likes of myself Snuf and Breffni! As the resident "veterans" on here I suggest the 3 of us are given special editing and barring rights :) By Christ we would have some craic! Especially with me in the middle of the other 2 barring each other every feckin day!!
Bring back Ard Ri ! The man to sort it all out!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/02/2013 15:29:28
Jaysus Breff that was awkward? So they have you admin rights but posted your username?
Liam ye I hear ya and by and large I do let it go. But sometimes i just have to bite. I of course remember ballboy and squid too. Also what ever happened to loyal? I sense his presence still however!!:). I remember tho despite them and other trolls being able to get into some seriously good debates without worrying about where I was from and what I was saying would be taken at face value. There were more genuine posters than wums. I'm not so sure now.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/02/2013 15:29:57
Even this thread is descending slightly. Breff and Jim, be careful!
It can be annoying at times alright, and we're all guilty to a certain extent but it was ever thus. I think the last few weeks perhaps have been bad though.
There are a few usual suspects and usual targets, Mayo, Kildare and the Dubs in particular of late. The anti-Ulster thing, as well as the opposite doesn't seem as bad of late, or maybe I'm wrong in that? Haven't noticed it as much though.
I think it's ultimately up to the posters ourselves to stick to the topic of any given thread. Admin could help out by not letting through topics that are designed purely as a dig at a particular county. Although this could be difficult as there is a fine line between genuine threads and bogus ones at times, usually comes down to how the posters post I suppose. Ones a thread begins to descend though maybe Admin could block any posts that are an attempt to take the thread off topic, even delete previous posts that brought it off topic. I think this could help?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13847 - 21/02/2013 15:34:17
Beelzedub County: Dublin Posts: 321
1337278 Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7941 1337271 Jimbo try not to turn this thread of all threads into a petty squabble. I believe you couldnt resist having the first dig Breff. "No harm" then why comment.
How about because he was right about your post? And he is. This is exactly what happens. Someone comes onto a new thread with a bee in their bonnet about another thread and away it goes again. Comments about where people are from take up the guts of most threads, it is a joke. Take a look at the dublin squad of 50 and backroom staff of 19 thread for example, there are more comments about mayo than dublin! The odd comparison is fair, but the guts of it bears no relevance in the world. It is ok if there is a basis for comparison, but this garbage about 'well you're not one to talk' is nonsense.
People are trying to debate the issues in the gaa. All this tit-for-tat is just sad. If a thread is about mayo then I will debate about mayo, no problem. If there is a genuine similarity with another county or team I will say well consider x, why is that viewed differently etc etc. But I wont try to invent a comparison with the county of the guy who just posted because I dont like what is being said. What is the point in that?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/02/2013 15:39:19
Jackeen County: Dublin Posts: 2181
1337304 Jaysus Breff that was awkward? So they have you admin rights but posted your username?
No i think they just asked for people to make a post as normal but to specify you were highlighting something, bad language etc and your post wouldn't be published and it would be edited. Perhaps some posters still do this, I dunno?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:40:00
Beelzedub County: Dublin Posts: 322
We'll take up your selective condemnation at another time… sure.
Jesus you never stop
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/02/2013 15:41:06
Breff you rat!!!!! :)
Jackeen, to be fair to Loyal, he was a wum at times but he was a decent poster and it was always tongue in cheek asopposed to Squid. First man ever barred from HS. A vicous yoke at times. And there was another fella who claimed to be from Offaly but was outed as a Donegal man and i think he got so bad he was next to get the line Cant remember his name tho???
Loyal while a bit of a wind up man, was essentially a decent fella and is missed. I would defend him all day long. Even Ballboy wasnt a patch on those 2 for sheer badness.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/02/2013 15:44:57
The irony of Master posting on this thread is lost on none of us I am sure :)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/02/2013 15:45:57
Blah Blah Blah
Some people get so worked up about a harmless gag.
Some seem so oblivious to their own inputs...
That may also be a big factor as to the reason why so many threads get heated.
But hey..
I dont retract it. It was harmless joke and some should really have the cop on not to blow it out of proportion
If some are so absolutely tight bottomed that's their bloody problem.
Now I see the Breff / themaster tag team has arrived. So in an effort not to ruin this thread... I'll happily say fair enough.
All the best
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 15:51:02
And I might add that the sickening thing about loosing the non gaa forum,on this a supposed gaa web site, is that there is a soccer forum that gets to stay active.I have nothing against there being a soccer forum but if the other topics that many of us liked to discuss on here are not worthy of the admins oversight then soccer should have got the boot too.This was a kind of fraternal gaa online community where people with a commonality could engage in discussions on many topics and then somebody decided that had to stop.I'm sure there are many sites out there to discuss soccer and fawn over French and Argentinian soccer stars playing for English and Spanish clubs etc etc.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/02/2013 15:52:00
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 4094
1337317 The irony of Master posting on this thread is lost on none of us I am sure :)
Yep. But sure...
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 508 - 21/02/2013 15:52:37
Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12130 - 21/02/2013 15:56:56