Was just wondering if many clubs in Dublin facilitate training for players from the country based in Dublin?
hbk (Monaghan) - Posts: 35 - 09/01/2013 10:14:08
Contact your nearest club and ask. Most clubs won't mind you training with them.
Make sure you know what level will suit you though. They won't take kindly to passengers!!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 09/01/2013 10:30:50
MesAmis,
could you advise on any good clubs near North Strand area? Clontarf would probably be the closest? Show you Dublin bucks how to play ball. :-P
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9730 - 09/01/2013 10:45:55
Clontarf alright, try Raheny as well or Scoil Ui Conaill - who are just off sea front entrance at seafront end of Castle Avenue, they play Inter @ Football and Junior @ Hurling. Raheny has a few Senior/Inter teams and they are based in/near St Anne's park. Much the same with Clontarf and same St Anne's.
Good luck, not sure they'll allow anyone to train formally though, insurance etc
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 09/01/2013 11:21:21
Clontarf and Scoil Uí Chonaill quite close for training purposes. Pains me to say it too but Vinnies are only up the road too! (Uuughh!)
In terms of travelling they'd be the handiest for training in mid week I'd say.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 09/01/2013 11:25:14
Country lads expecting to just 'rock up and train with' Dublin clubs have some neck and I have commented on this before! I am not making that point to be controversial as I will spell out some points for you to think about if your own team had to deal with a 'hanger on'!
Team Manager/Trainer: "Lads this is Paddy. He will be training with us from now until the end of the season. He will not be joining the club so wont actually be playing for us and so wont have the same dedication, determination and pride in the jersey that you have in focussing on the games ahead of us as he will be heading back to his own club at the weekends but will simply be here with ye for the drills, team talks, training and tactics! So welcome him and make him feel at home amongst the team even though he will not be doing anything for ye in return!".
So in the above 'managers introduction' my points are made: 1. You have a team of lads all members of the club obviously and are comfortable playing and training together every year!......enter an outsider to the scene simply there for his own ends! 2. Dressing room 'truths being told' has the outsider sitting in listening to things which dont concern him! 3. The outsider states he is a midfielder (for example) and so to accomodate him will he be put in midfield at the expense of a real team member?!......the outsider aint the teams responsibility!.....how about playing him in goals as he aint on our 'team' afterall is he?! 4. So the outsider comes up and trains with the team/club......the benefit is all 'one way'!......what does the accomodating team/club get out of hosting/training this outsider who will bail out when he moves elsewhere.....(not even a membership fee)?!
My question for the OP is: What makes you think you can rock up to a club in Dublin and like an imposter enter a dressing room full of lads focussed on a new 2013 league and championship with goals and aspirations whatever grade that may be at and think that it is acceptable for you to be fully involved in their 'training regime' and take take take the training that is on offer whilst the accomodating team/club get what from you in return?.........NOTHING!........you head home with the benefit of the training recieved and when the accomodating club has served its purpose then its G'luck and Thanks lads! How can you not see yourself as simply being an imposter!
Every country lad on here think of what they would think about having a 'spare wheel' in their dressing room during the week taking the training on offer yet never kicking a ball for the team in anger!......not really an ideal situation having somebody there who isnt on the same wavelength and unity of purpose as everyone else is it?!......Who next into the dressing room and onto the training field to 'tag along', the local darts team?!!
As opposed to 'serious clubs' there are clubs who actively look for anyone to come to them and they are mainly the clubs established to accomodate country lads in Dublin, so just use Google to find them lad!
Just in case anyone thinks I have a gripe with country lads in Dublin clubs....totally no way....everyone is welcome here in Dublin to join! My gripe is soley focussed on this 'rock up and train with' attitude of an imposter while the club/team gets nothing in return and the imposter seemingly thinking there is no problem being there with a team even though he is a 'spare wheel' to them and of no benefit to them!....thats my gripe 'only'!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/01/2013 13:15:47
The GAA is a community , most clubs will be happy to let someone living away from home train with them without caring what they can get out of them in return as above.
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 09/01/2013 13:34:42
Snuf, get over yourself. It's only training he's looking for, many clubs would be happy to accommodate that
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 09/01/2013 13:38:19
Try Tranáil Gan Taisteal ran by Pat Stephens. It's specifically aimed at lads working in Dublin who play club football with their home club. Have done it a few years. Trainings were on Tuesdays and also Thursdays I think. I never went to the Thursday ones but there could be 30-40 lads at the Tuesday trainings.
They're very good. Quite intense with drills both with and without the ball. The location has changed a lot, I've done it in DCU, Clan na Gael in Ringsend and the Civil Service grounds in Islandbridge. Don't know where it is this year. Think it's a tenner a session and you usually have to pay for a block of 4/6 in advance.
And just to make it clear, I am in no way involved or related to the running of this but have gone numerous times and found them very good and would suit the OP perfectly I'd say (bar location maybe).
iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 09/01/2013 13:39:08
HBK there is a club in Ranelagh called Realt Dearg they are a hurling club set up 3 years ago to accomodate country lads in South Dublin with no Club to call their own Look them up Could be perfect for you
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/01/2013 13:45:45
Snufalufagus: I'm assumming you were born, raised and educated in Dublin, therefore you probably lived somewhere were you could easily commute between college, home, and gaa training.
Alot of people from every county in the country have to move to places like Galway, Maynooth, Dublin and Belfast for university and still go home to play for their clubs at the weekend. They cant go home to train so their expected to keep themselves in shape just like their team mates at home. These lads are just looking for a team to train with, i.e. run, do drills, and maybe take part in a practice match. If the manager is that daft to play a man at midfield in a training session that doesnt even play for the team, your problem should be with the manager and not the player. Judging by your tone it was you definately lost your place at midfield.
My own club has had many outsiders train with them and were only happy to accomodate. Likewise I went to college in Sligo when I was playing back in the day and I trained with loads of clubs who were only happy to have me.
junk (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 09/01/2013 13:59:12
Junk,
Snuffy is from Lucan, where its full of culchies, dont worry about him, hes worried about his place on sarfields team, as its full of culchies. Maigh Eo Abu Snuffy!!!!!
saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 09/01/2013 14:11:04
Lucan full of Culchies haha is this a joke? Mate you obviously have never been to Lucan if you think it's full of Culchies haha
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/01/2013 14:20:40
Snuff
Everytime I play against Lucan there seems to be more and more country lads lining out for yous. Yous must be the most culchie laden clubs in Dublin at this stage man!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13792 - 09/01/2013 14:34:52
Snuf, you posted some load of unrelevant crap there. either help the OP with what they asked or dont bother post at all
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/01/2013 14:50:16
Culchiest clubs in Dublin are Vincents and Crokes FACT :)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/01/2013 14:56:39
The truth is that yuo can only call yourself a true Dub if you are from the city itself. The likes Lucan, Clondalkin etc are full of mutton heads who like to call themselves Dubs. Truth be known they are culchies who like to call themselves Dubs.
OP I'm sure most clubs would be welcoming of any 'outsider' coming in for training. I know we had a Dub training with us the odd night last year and didn't think anything about it.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 09/01/2013 15:00:50
sedico County: Kildare Posts: 877
1315869 The truth is that yuo can only call yourself a true Dub if you are from the city itself. The likes Lucan, Clondalkin etc are full of mutton heads who like to call themselves Dubs. Truth be known they are culchies who like to call themselves Dubs.
OP I'm sure most clubs would be welcoming of any 'outsider' coming in for training. I know we had a Dub training with us the odd night last year and didn't think anything about it. ________________________ Why would anyone want to do such a thing????
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/01/2013 15:05:56
Hahaha brilliant that made me laugh out loud. Love it pal.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/01/2013 15:23:18
Sorry I left out 'Sedico'
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/01/2013 15:24:18