Sigerson Cup

"So he had one good game against him underage in a game in which Murphy was in his sickbed the week before the game.
I remember I kept an all star forward scoreless in an U-12 game once."

Nice one, LOL.
To be fair both players are class, but that point is something else.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 15/02/2013 11:11:10    1334359

Hey, lets not use this an an excuse to bring up the ROC argument again just because Murphy scored a point.

I wouldn't say hes the best full back in the country, but I'd definately have him in the top 4 or 5, anyone whos seen him play a number of times would know that, plus hes only about 23/24. Unlucky not to have won an all star in 2010 or 2011.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 15/02/2013 12:13:15    1334382

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycqs5-0GX5o

fast forward to 1.48 of this clip!! remember this is into a GALE FORCE wind....

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 15/02/2013 12:55:28    1334415

Donegal are wasting him around the middle of the field.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 15/02/2013 13:16:45    1334431

15/02/2013 13:16:45
CaisleanCnucha

1334431 Donegal are wasting him around the middle of the field.

15 points in 2 games Imagine what he could score in the forward line

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2013 14:18:19    1334481

i stand to be corrected but has he 1-19 in the three game in the sigerson? give him a total of 1-34 in 5 games in 2 weeks??

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 15/02/2013 14:24:39    1334486

ROC may be very dependable when playing for the Dubs, but against Louth in the O'Byrne Cup ( sent off for persistent fouling ) and yesterday v DCU, he was poor. An u12 would be taken aside and given some tuition about tackling if he pushed his man over the line with both hands like ROC did to Murphy for the penalty. Granted, it was outside the box and should have been a free only. The ref was very biased in favour of DCU and he didn't need to be. They were going to win anyway but a good game would have made the trip worthwhile. If it was a boxing match it would have been stopped once Kingston was sent off.

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 150 - 15/02/2013 14:25:18    1334487

15/02/2013 13:16:45
CaisleanCnucha

1334431 Donegal are wasting him around the middle of the field.

15 points in 2 games Imagine what he could score in the forward line

Do you know how many are from play? The thing is he could probably play anywhere from number 8-15 and do a good job but I just feel hes the best target man in the country and when hes on the edge of the square no marker can get close to him.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 15/02/2013 14:31:02    1334493

Great to see murphy expressing himself like that. What a great competition the sigerson cup is to allow players to try things like that. Murphy would never do that in a county game as jimmy mcguinness would drop him for it. Great score

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 15/02/2013 14:39:30    1334504

poiu

i stand to be corrected but has he 1-19 in the three game in the sigerson? give him a total of 1-34 in 5 games in 2 weeks??

1-4 v UCD
0-9 v Queens
0-5 v UL

0-9 v Kildare
0-6 v Down

Not great.

thevillage (Australia) - Posts: 51 - 15/02/2013 14:48:19    1334508

Right now for me Michael Murphy is just like a Joe Canning of football.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 15/02/2013 14:49:52    1334512

15/02/2013 14:49:52
CaisleanCnucha

1334512 Right now for me Michael Murphy is just like a Joe Canning of football.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2013 15:08:16    1334528

15/02/2013 14:49:52
CaisleanCnucha

1334512 Right now for me Michael Murphy is just like a Joe Canning of football.

Neither of them have lifted Liam McCarthy ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2013 15:09:52    1334529

ah here watch this!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRECX5SAAsQ

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 15/02/2013 15:54:45    1334580

Lads I love watching Murphy as much as the next man and think he's the best player out there right now but you have to give praise to The Roc for holding him yesterday to just one score from play ( my god what a score it was) , any man that holds the best player in Ireland to that tally would have to be happy with themselves.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/02/2013 17:18:02    1334631

Lads I love watching Murphy as much as the next man and think he's the best player out there right now but you have to give praise to The Roc for holding him yesterday to just one score from play ( my god what a score it was) , any man that holds the best player in Ireland to that tally would have to be happy with themselves.

I agree with you Clon, ROC is a class act but I just couldn't resist a wide open gate like that to have a rattle at you. In all fairness if the positions were reversed you would have been the first man on & quite right too!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/02/2013 19:08:30    1334678

Roc conceded the penalty and paul Flynns goal came from Murphy taking a 50/50 ball clean. I wouldn,t have said it was his best day at the office

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2013 19:47:01    1334692

So after all the blowing, he only got a single score from play and that while well taken was lucky as the blockand hop broke for him and it seems he is not after all the highest from play scorer in the League.

Great player but lads come back in 10 years and we'll compare him with Liston, Tompkins , Sheedy etc

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 15/02/2013 21:06:22    1334721

KELF

So after all the blowing, he only got a single score from play and that while well taken was lucky as the blockand hop broke for him and it seems he is not after all the highest from play scorer in the League.

Great player but lads come back in 10 years and we'll compare him with Liston, Tompkins , Sheedy etc

?? Jack Sheedy. Solid player perhaps not hall of fame, better than Tompkins though, in my own opinion

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2013 21:55:06    1334757

Ruanua:

Whats ur facination with the Dubs ??

The player u mention was a midfielder while the player I would make comparisons with is the former Kerry forward, Mike or if you prefer Paudie Sheedy.

Nice attempt to change the subject !!!!!!!!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 16/02/2013 15:09:41    1334824